We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bakfickan

Bakfickan
Stora Torget 1, Visby, Gotland, Sweden
0498-27-18-07
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 99 Restaurants in Visby
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Ordered the Mussels and not only was it delicious, but it could have fed an army! Cozy little place, so make sure you make reservations.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    55
    12
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice for Visby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I spent 2 weeks in Visby and ate out every day. Visby is not a good place for foodies. Food here is overpriced, boring or simply unforgivably bad but not in Bakfican. I was in Bakfican 3 or 4 times. I had shrimp sandwich which was very good, fish soup that was rather bland for my palette, macrel and fried herring with mashed potates. The main courses are rather small [and I am a very slim and fit foodie :-)] so I would recommend a starter with eache meal. In general I enjoyed my dinners and lunches at Bakfican but it was not one of the restaurants I will remember for years. It is a little overpriced. I know, it is Visby and all, but at the end of the day it is just herring and potates!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best food in Sweden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

An excellent fish restaurant, the waiters had good knowledge of the menu and the wines were good and suitable for the food. They have a spicy snaps, which they make themselves, recommended

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apples, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“charming place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had a great time at Bakfickan. Small restaurant with good food and friendly service.As starter we tried the smoked shrimps, delicouse, and the herrings, sillröra, also good. As main course I took the fishsoup, very nice, just a pity that they didn't serve the aioli a part instead of in the soup. My husband tried the strömming which was also very good and the kids tried the långa.So it is great place to go to if you like fish.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food. Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We all ordered the shrimp sandwiches which were fantastic and kids ordered meatballs and the staff were very friendly and happy to accommodate all needs. Yummy bread "baskets" and butter before the meal. Great location next to the main square!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakfickan also viewed

 

Been to Bakfickan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakfickan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.