We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but not perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Strandporten

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Strandporten to your Saves list
Hotel Strandporten
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Strandgatan 13, Visby, Gotland 621 56, Sweden   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Visby B&B and Inns
Stockholm
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely but not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Hotel1 is a hotel dedicated to design, ie all rooms have their own style. Me and my partner have stayed in 2 of the rooms and enjoyed the feeling of luxury they gave. The rooms are very clean, the beds are comfortable (if a little too soft to my taste) and the bathrooms without flaws (if you don't expect a tub, there only showers). The ipod/mp3-speaker is also a nice touch.
The staff is friendly, but a bit absent-minded sometimes in a sort of cute way. The breakfast is very basic (yoghurt, coffee, tea, boiled eggs, bread, fresh fruit etc) and served in a VERY small room, but everything is fresh and I couldn't really say we missed anything in particular.
The hotel itself couldn't be more central in Visby, perfect as a base for walks around town. Parking can be a bit of a bother, but that goes for all of Visby inside the city walls. Somewhere around Almedalen is the best choice in this respect.
The only thing to complain about is that you often have to phone for someone to come to the front desk. And if you don't have a mobile phone, that could be a bit of a bother. Someone at the desk at all times during opening hours would be appreciated.
And as for the complaint in another review about the minibar...no swedish hotels (except for Grand hotel in Stockholm maybe) are allowed to keep alcohol in the minibar due to swedish legislation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
13
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

The worst customer service ever! It's not a hotel as has no hotel services! It's a bed and breakfast. Breakfast is very poor no hot options and not even fresh pastries even tho there are bakers around! Very disappointed as it was a 30th birthday trip! We were told we didn't need to book restaurants as it was out of season but when we arrived and tried to eat all the nice places were fully booked. Also no bath in the superior room???? I love a bath! It also advertises sea views which are none exsistant! We have a view of O'learys bar! No mini bar with alcohol we would of loved a bottle of wine or champagne but when asked if this was possible we had a very unhelpful lady at the desk! :-( The receptionist was very unhelpful and unhappy looking. I would never recommend this "bed and breakfast" to anyone and have been very disappointed with our stay in visby due to unorganized unhelpful staff at the hotel 1!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Hotel 1 is a newly renovated property in one of the many old buildings of the medieval city of Visby. This is a B&B style hotel but in a 5* setting. We enjoyed the luxury of room 31, not spacious, but wonderfully equipped, with a dream-style bathroom, great bed and a huge terrace, the latter we could not take advantage of due to 1m snow depth outside, but we will be using it when we return a warm summer day. An excellent breakfast was served in a cosy breakfast room, where guests during daytime also could provide themselves with coffee, tea, small snacks and fruit. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

Perfect spot in Visby. Located across the street from the Historical Museum in the center of old Visby. Lovely views of a small fountain and square. Small hotel with bright and comfortable rooms. Easy walk from ferry boats and near to the Botanical Garden. I recommend with no reservations. Great family staff, too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Strandporten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strandporten

Address: Strandgatan 13, Visby, Gotland 621 56, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Gotland > Visby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Visby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Strandporten 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Hotell Strandporten, a hotel with beautiful surroundings in the middle of the World Heritage Town Visby on the island of Gotland. The view over the park area Almedalen is wonderful and you can also see the sea from some of the rooms. In Visby you find many entertainments, restaurants and culture at a walking distance.We hope that you will enjoy the warmth and the cosiness and make you feel at home while staying here – even though you are far away from your home. We believe that our guests choose to stay here because the hotel is small with a personal touch. After noon tea is served every day 3-6 pm. We offer some coffee, tea and some sweets in the main building. Free of charge of course.All of our 20 individually designed rooms have bathrooms with tiles on the walls and Gotlandic marble flooring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, T4B, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Strandporten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Strandporten Visby, Sweden - Gotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Strandporten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.