We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alle ecological” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lilla Bjers Gardskrogen

Lilla Bjers Gardskrogen
Vasterhejde | Lilla Bjers 410, Visby, Gotland 621 99, Sweden
0498-65 24 40
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 100 Restaurants in Visby
Cuisines: Organic, European, Scandinavian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Alle ecological”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This is an extremy cute and real Swedish. The location is beautiful and the food is tasty aswell. Service is okay but the dishes are small but if the food is so great you forget about it! So if you are in Visby, take a break and it here in this small homemade and ecological restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A small ecological paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great little café/restaurant where all the products are ecological and locally produced. This gives high quality of taste to the food.
There is also a shop where we can buy the products from the farm and the green houses (for example melon and watermelon - in Sweden!)
... and everything is available at a very fair price for the quality, directly from the producer to the consumer.
This is definitely our favourite overall restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely, ecological food with an amazing twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

It was "Grillafton" here and the cook made this into the beat meal this summer. Wonderful meat, great vegetables and a perfect selection of ecological spirits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotland, Sweden
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Simply the BEST on Gotland. A restaurant worth coming to from anywhere in the world.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I'm so happy to share this exciting experience I had with my husband a few days ago. It is very seldom that there is absolutely NOTHING you can complain about when you visit a restaurant. But here's a wonderful restaurant we discovered that was perfect for us in everything sense.
This restaurant is for people who appreciate really good food in a warm and kind atmosphere.This is not a snobbish hosh posh restaurant. They have an enormously talented award winning young cook "Luqaz Ottosson" who creates an orgasmic tasting experience for you with the organic raw material that the owners Mr. and Mrs. Hoas produce themselves directly there where the restaurant stands.

Only 15 minutes drive from the center of Visby in the idyllic village of Västerhejde, "Lilla Bjers Gårdskrogen Restaurant" takes you to a moment of paradise. Not only is the raw material for the food organic but also the drinks. All wine and other delicious drinks are organic and heavenly tasty. I work with food and drinks myself and I must say I am not an easy customer but I was very happy to experience the good food and drinks at this restaurant.

It seems like they just opened the restaurant last summer so it is still not too famous! But I heard that a group of gourmet guests came all the way from the US and Japan already! So perhaps soon it will become difficult to book a table. They were also nominated for the best restaurants in Sweden this year in the "White Guide" ALREADY!

All the staff we encountered were warm, kind and very professional. Also the wonderful thing about this restaurant is that you don't need to dress up and be stiff. You can go there in your relaxed clothes like jeans and it's perfectly fine.

The price is also affordable for people who do not have a big budget. We paid for 2 people: approx. 1300kr for a full 3 course menu with wine, beer and other drinks included.

Since the food is made with the organic raw material produced at their farm I can imagine that their menu changes seasonally. We are vegetarians so we had an extremely delicious spinach soup as a starter, then grilled seasonal vegetables with 2 different freshly made sauces and carrot mousse and a freshly baked strawberry cake which was caramelized so that the surface was crunchy with some home made vanilla sauce that they call here cola. They of course have a menu for non-vegetarians as well.

My husband and I just happened to try this restaurant out because we live quite near it and we were curious. I can only say that it is a top restaurant hidden away in the country side of Gotland and it is really worth visiting if you visit Sweden.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lilla Bjers Gardskrogen also viewed

 
Visby, Gotland
 

Been to Lilla Bjers Gardskrogen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilla Bjers Gardskrogen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.