We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aspect Tamar Valley Resort

Save Saved
You added Aspect Tamar Valley Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7 Waldhorn Dr, Grindelwald, Tasmania 7277, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Grindelwald
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

If you want to partake of any of the wonderful things they have on offer, you'd better be prepared to reach into your pockets. They don't mention in the brochures that you have to pay for the tennis, golf, etc. The lady at the front desk was cheerful upon arrival, but any subsequent queries after that were met with an unpleasant attitude. The ticket shop closed early but was reopened for us after a lot of huffing and puffing from the front desk (which we didnt appreciate being privvy to). The pull out sofa bed had a mattress an inch thick that made for a very uncomfortable night's sleep. Its a shame that the wifi doesnt reach the rooms as we had no television or Austar reception (electrical storm the night before had wiped it out throughout the whole village... we were assured that they were fixing it and it would be up and running shortly, but alas...). Thank goodness for the lovely spa - just don't count on using hot water for a while afterwards as the cylinder is only big enough to fill it once. We won't be going back again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    88
    57
    32
    27
See reviews for
84
97
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for one night during September. Our room was clean, modern and compact, but let's face it, it was just the two of us.

I agree with some statements: yes the pool area is old, and there was a gap in the door for the sauna. But the gym was adequate.

We ate dinner at the restaurant and it cost $50 in total for a schnitzel and wine/beer each. As Sydneysiders, that is not bad at all.

We did not have breakfast, thinking that the bakery would be open. I have never known of a bakery opening at 9am, and serving us cold hot chocolate at 930am because we had to wait for the coffee machine to warm up.

We got friendly, good advice from one of the shopkeepers.

Definitely not too friendly or helpful at reception though. But not rude either.
Would stay again at the same rate ($75).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shearwater, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in a golfside villa for two nights recently. We had booked by phone and left credit card details as a security or bond over the booking. We discovered the next day and a fortnight before arriving that our credit card had been debited the FULL cost of our stay. In other words we have your money whether you turn up or not or are not satisfied. We had a 6 year old grandson with us. The "villa" had a queen and double. The double was just inside the entry door and just above the bed is an old fashioned "in the wall" air conditioning unit. The two nights were cold and the airconditioner had to be used. The noise from it can only be described as an ungodly racket. It could not be left on for any length of time because of the noise. There was no table or chairs and the grandson had to eat either sitting on a bed or a small sofa. The villa is only suitable for 2 adults but it is sold as sleeping four. My wife found the hairdryer supplied had exposed electrical wiring. I returned it to reception and either the same one or another with exposed wiring was brought back to the villa later while we were out. On the Saturday night we had to suffer extremely loud heavy bass beat music until midnight. It was coming from the nearby function room. It could be heard clearly in the unit above the racket from the A/C and a TV set. Our grandson could not get to sleep. A complaint by phone to a person who claimed he was only a maintenance worker filling in as "night manager" was met with the response "I will make a note about it". Thankfully it ceased at midnight but after 1.00am we were all awoken by people obviously under the weather yelling and laughing at the top of their voices. They had obviously come from the party in the resort function room nearby. We spent a sizeable amount on accommodation, meals, and other items at the resort and to say we were dissatisified is an under statement. On checking out I went to reception to complain. The response was most unsympathetic and no apology was offered. I was told "your grandson was probably having trouble sleeping because of a different bed","we could not survive without functions and parties", "we have a hotel licence". In other words she was telling me that they could make as much noise as they liked BUT house guests were expected to conform to written House Rules that stated clearly that excessive NOISE from guests could result in summary eviction! We have travelled extensively and were appalled at the treatment and attitude. A lengthy formal letter of complaint to the GM a Mr Parkinson has been met with complete disdain and contempt. No response either in writing, by phone, or email. It is apparent that paying guests, in our experience, come a miserable last to the profits made from functions, parties, and weddings. The arbitrary use of our credit card breaches the new Aust Consumer & Competition Act. Needless to say we will never stay again nor will we recommend. The original owner and builder of the resort and the beautiful swiss village a Mr Roelf Vos, an absolutely kind christian man would be most disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien P, Manager at Aspect Tamar Valley Resort, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Ken,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently and for taking the time to provide your feedback, we appreciate your comments.

I am sorry that your stay wasn't up to standard.

From time to time to resort does host functions, and we place noise level restrictions on these. I am sorry the noise disturbed you.

In relation to your payment, as advised to you at the time of reservation whilst on the phone with our receptionist, the room rate was to be fully prepaid at time of booking. Our discounted $79 per night villa deal throughout the shoulder season is such a great rate, we do associate this as a "prepay and save" type deal. This is a standard practice in the hotel industry.

All of your comments have been taken seriously, and we appreciate you supplying your feedback so we can ensure a more comfortable stay for guests.

I hope that next time you choose to travel to the Launceston area, that you give us another chance to show you great service, and facilities we offer.

Warm Regards
Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Grindelwald hotels

Georgetown, Malaysia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a great overnight stay in a 2 bedroom Village Apartment overlooking the miniature golf course & lake. Well kept resort with beautiful scenery. Only minus point is the lights along the corridor to our apartment were not working.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien P, Manager at Aspect Tamar Valley Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for choosing to stay us on your recent trip to Launceston.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Rest assured, I have passed your lighting comments on to our Maintenance Manager.

I look forward to welcoming you back when next you choose to travel.

Warm Regards
Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart Tasmania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Depending on what day you book to stay you can save anywhere between $50 to $100, in it's day it was beautiful but not much has been done on upkeep since, the chalets are big and genroous and great for families wanting somewhere cheap to stay the updated new studio room are modern but somewhat small. The pool, sauna area are old and tired. The gardens are tired. Breakfast was extra and they had the horrible artificial scrambled eggs. The activities are great onsite for the younger children but are not free they are extras you have to purchase, good for a base but not for a complete holiday experience.

Room Tip: Stick to the chalets if you have families they are old but better for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I haven't stayed at Grindelwald for over 15 years so was really looking forward to it but unfortunately it was the little things that added up to make it a disappointing stay.

We had a Sunset Villa cabin over looking the golf course but half the lights didn't work and we had to rely on a bedside lamp, which made it hard to see at night time. The kitchen cupboard was infested with ants, so we were loathe to use any of the crockery. Finally, the heating/cooling system was useless - despite trying to turn it down to 21 degrees, it had a mind of its own and blasted us with 31 degree heat instead. There were no instructions on how to combat this.

Dinner at the Alpenrose Restaurant was also bitterly disappointing - stale and lukewarm chicken parmi with a mountain of chips and a teeny bowl of salad drenched in dressing. Pretty poor value for $21. Yes I ate it all, but only because I was starving! Our first waiter could use some lessons in customer service - he was abrupt and acted as though he couldn't wait for us to leave. We had a 5.30pm booking, so it's not like the place was packed. The phone was ringing off the hook (numerous times) and I heard him yell to another waitress "Don't answer it!" - WTF? Our second waitress was much better - she was polite and didn't try to rush us out the door.

The place also seems to attract a bogan element - not Management's fault, I know. There were bogans swearing their heads off on the golf course while I was trying to get my little one down for a nap, bogans playing mini golf, bogans hanging around the shopping village in general...

I would stay here again but only if I could get a last minute deal - I certainly wouldn't pay full price for this place. While I am a fan of the Swiss village concept and am desperate for it to work, with the tourism industry struggling in Tasmania, this place really needs to up its game if it wants to stay in the market. It's starting to show its age and is run by management who is seemingly happy with the status quo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at the Aspect Tamar Valley Resort for one night only and that was definitely enough. The rooms were very out-dated, along with the furnishings. The bathroom was small, but tidy. The staff expect ALL cutlery, dishes and even the kettle to be cleaned and put away or they will charge a fee of $35 which is ridiculous considering you are paying them to stay at their resort. On the plus side, they have a lovely little bakery in the shopping village, with a very friendly shop attendant. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aspect Tamar Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspect Tamar Valley Resort

Address: 7 Waldhorn Dr, Grindelwald, Tasmania 7277, Australia (Formerly Chancellor Resort)
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Grindelwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aspect Tamar Valley Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort provides great accommodation, activities, shopping, lakeside dining, golfing and Freshview Day Spa. The resort boasts World Class facilities in arguably Tasmania's most exclusive and exotic suburb.The resort is set on over 150 magnificent acres amid numerous spectacular lakes with breathtaking views and fosters an engaging timeless ambience rarely found.Aspect Tamar Valley Resort is perfectly located about 15 minutes drive north of Launceston and is a true Jewel in the crown of this breathtaking region.Aspect Tamar Valley Resort is ideally positioned to use as a base whilst exploringall that Northern Tasmania has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Aspect Tamar Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspect Tamar Valley Hotel Grindelwald
Tamar Valley Hotel
Quality Inn Launceston
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort Grindelwald, Tasmania, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspect Tamar Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.