We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in the west” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Esca Grill

Esca Grill
650 Mt Alexander Road, Moonee Ponds, Moonee Valley, Victoria 3039, Australia
(03) 9370 1101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 73 Restaurants in Moonee Ponds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fine dining in the west”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Iv been to Esca Grill Restaurant on many occasions, i always prefer to take my over seas and interstate visitors here as well as i know for certain they wont be disappointed.
Firstly its the service and how you get ushered to your table and treated like your a priority, then its the ambiance , and the comfortable seating, then comes the menu , simple classy and all you need..the food is sensational, fresh and superb every single time..from the entree to the mains then comes the amazing deserts and great coffee .
if you are a seafood lover go to Esca Grill Restaurant..the oysters taste hand picked from ocean, the barramundi always cooked to perfection , not once but every single time.. if you love a fine steak go to Esca Grill Restaurant.. you wont be disapointed ..and if you understand the concept of fine dining then you will know you need to pay a little extra for the finest..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    34
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Memorable Night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The food, the service and the atmosphere were awesome. Baby chicken tasted very good. Friendly and experienced service. I do recommend this restaurant even if you are really fan of sea food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Number1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were in search of a restaurant that stood out from the usual high priced & over rated ones. Esca Grill sure was a surprise. Everything from the friendly hello as you walk in the door to the goodbye as you walk out was amazing. The service outstanding. We enjoyed freshly shucked oysters and pork belly for entree and steaks, duck & a mix of sides as our mains, they sure were amazing. I fully recommend this restaurant to everyone, they know there stuff...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Worth going out of your way for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Easy booking, great greeting, exceptional, attentive, and friendly service. Food was wonderful, from the soup to the creme brûlée. Made for a fantastic evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Dont tell anybody... ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I'm annoyed that it has taken me so long to find this place. It's right on the tram line, the food is fantastic - much better than what you pay for - and service is old-school helpful. Its a fresh ambience and great night out.

We had 3 gentlemen (two of which were named Dominic, and two of them being twins - a little confusing for us, to say the least) reckmmend the 3 bottles we ordered. In essence, a great wine list, with people that know their wine!

The seafood was the freshest I've had in ages - I recommend the platter for two. I follwed with the steak which was also good, while my partner had the barramundi. Very impressed on both counts.

Food was at least a 9, if not higher.
Price was very reasonable. Im not going to say its as cheap as a dinner at the local pizzaria - but you walk out knowing you're ahead. 8/10
Ambience was cosy. I recommend trying to get a booth in the winter - its warm and cosy, but YOU HAVE TO BOOK. 9/10

If you're looking for a first date, don't bother looking elsewhere. Go in early, the staff are wonderful and will treat you like family if you come back with your future wife/husband. You'll have the pefect beginning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Esca Grill also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Esca Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esca Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.