We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, beautiful surroundings, fantastic location for conference” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yarra Valley Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Yarra Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Yarra Valley Lodge
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Heritage Avenue | Heritage Golf & Country Club, Chirnside Park, Victoria 3116, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing service, beautiful surroundings, fantastic location for conference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed here recently for a six nights for a residential training program. I found the service to be above average, nothing was too much trouble and everyone always had a smile on their face. Considering we were a very large group (roughly 40 people) it was amazing that nothing went wrong, absolutely everything was taken care of, we didn't have to think about anything other than what we were there to do. The food was amazing - I am sure I put on at least 2kg in the week I was there. Just wish I had time to enjoy the surroundings, and the facilities (other than the restaurant) particularly the spa. Highlight of the trip was waking to find Kangaroos bouncing around outside my door.

Room Tip: If you like a view try asking for a room on the 3rd floor facing the gold course as the view was ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    117
    28
    16
    8
See reviews for
50
169
4
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My stay here had all the boxes ticked. Excellent service, courteous staff, amazing view and gloriously tasting food. The Breakfast Buffet exceeded my expectations and the coffee are the best I have ever tasted. I came away feeling very relaxed and energised, its a shame I had to go back home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

If you are a gofter then this a dramatic place to stay. Two 18 hole courses that make the heart be uplifted. Not a golfer then the locality is beaufiful for walking and just unwinding. The area has plenty to offer if you wish to drive 15 minutes, but hire a cab the wines are awesome.

Room Tip: Arrive early say a a day or two before and soak up the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benalla
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed the night after a we had attended a wedding nearby. We checked in with the front office person who was efficient and friendly, which is always nice to see. The rooms were clean and spacious. The bed was very comfortable, and we woke to a beautiful view of the valley. A lovely quiet place to stay, if we are ever in need of a place to stay down that way again I would not hesitate in staying there .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I was at the high-tea last Saturday 28/04/2012 for the high-tea that was part of the Yarra Valley Wine Festival.

I was very disappointed with the "buffet" that was served.

1. Even though advertised as a buffet on the hotel website and on the yarra valley festival website, this was NOT a buffet.
2. We requested a second serving of sandwiches at about 2pm .. and were informed that they had run out. It is disappointing that they run of sandwiches 1 hours into what was meant to be a 3 hour buffet.
3. The chocolate fountain was meagre with only 3 fruits on offer (two of which aren't usually fruits that are dipped in chocolate.
4. The desserts were average. The cheesecake that was served was lumpy and tasteless.
5. There were four of us on the table, yet we got desserts in sets of three and two. We got three chocolate mousse cups, 3 macaroons and two tiramisu. However, the couple at the next table got 4 of everything.
6. We were told that on Sunday's there is a proper dessert buffet (as opposed to meager dessert on a tired stand) served... if that is so, then for half the amount that we got, we should have also paid half the price as the patrons on Sunday paid.

All in all, I was very disappointed with the high-tea, it was not what was advertised and not good value for money or service from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Let there be no mistake this is a polished and professional resort,we checked in at about 9pm with our 3 year old and were gone again by 8.30 the next morning,the rooms are efficient ,clean and stylish and the public areas magnificent.
As evidenced by many of the reviews on this site ,the hotel must have a very strong conference business,and perhaps this is why the hotel didn't "pop" for us allthough everything worked well .
Apart from this we liked our stay very much ,with the only minor critisism is that we didnt get extra towells for our daughter.
The Valet parking was good value and handy.
I have to wonder why "the Australian "newspaper wasnt offered to the rooms when one was in reception the next morning

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

On a conference there is little time to enjoy the resort fully, but this was a perfect opportunity
to rebook a weekend to enjoy with the family. The facilities are unequivocally first class, rooms are spacious and clean, grounds are magnificent and the scones and cream in the afternoon are a must. Highly recommends his resort for a relaxing weekend breathing fresh crisp Air!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the golf courses, but to appresiate the views ask for level 2 or 3 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yarra Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yarra Valley Lodge

Address: 2 Heritage Avenue | Heritage Golf & Country Club, Chirnside Park, Victoria 3116, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Chirnside Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chirnside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yarra Valley Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned at the gateway to the Yarra Valley, Yarra Valley Lodge is a world class resort offering guests total luxury, surrounded by two championship golf courses. Take advantage of the hotels location on the doorstep to over 100 wineries. Exuding the warmth and timeless appeal of a private lodge, 102 spacious and superbly appointed guest rooms and conference rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Yarra Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Hotel Chirnside Park
Sebel Heritage Yarra Valley Melbourne
Yarra Valley Lodge Australia/Chirnside Park, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yarra Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.