We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth dining there just for the chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Platinum Cafe and Restaurant

Platinum Cafe and Restaurant
1 East Ridge Drive | Chirnside Park, Chirnside Park, Victoria 3116, Australia
+61 3 9727 1255
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $36
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are located alongside the Maroondah Highway in Chirnside Park, diagonaly opposite Reading Cinemas, and between Red Rooster and Bunnings hardware.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Worth dining there just for the chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Two business colleagues and I had lunch at Platinum. While two of us were on time our colleague was delayed about 30 minutes but we felt comfortable and weren't pestered while we waited for him to join us. When he finally arrived the service was prompt and efficient leaving us to our discussion. I had the calamari dish which came with a delightful cress salad on the side and some of the best chips I've had in a long time - crisp and crunchy with a light, fluffy centre that made me wonder whether or not someone in the kitchen was using Heston Blumenthal's technique for making the perfect chip. Whatever the process, the outcome was really good. The wine list covers a good range of styles and regions with many available by the glass although, being so close to the Yarra Valley, I would have liked to have seen more of the wines sourced from there. All up, a good lunch in pleasant surroundings and a very professional team of staff from the kitchen through to the reception. I would go there again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“most excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Our regular Sunday breakfast group tours around the district trying out different places. We liked this one so much we came twice in a row. The service was quick and friendly without being intrusive. The portions were generous and the prices very good. The coffee was excellent. The Mushroom Bruschetta and the Eggs Benedict had perfectly tangy poached eggs and the mushrooms and relish were delicious. The Bircher muesli changed my opinion of Bircher muesli. The vegetable frittata also rated highly.

We will certainly return and would recommend Platinum Cafe for breakfast without hestitation

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“It;s Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I am probably being a bit harsh here, but just because it is in an outer suburb does it mean they get an easier ride than an inner city establishment. They decor is ok apart from the booths I am 6'4" so probably should have steered away from them but we were directed there by the waitress and my 10 year old daughter wanted to sit there. Given drinks list when we arrived and it then took 25 mins to have our drinks order taken. another 15 mins for meal order to be taken, fine if we had not had our daughter there. 30 mins later meals arrived food was quite good and a change of waitress with a personality was a bonus. It is nice to have a reasonable restaurant in the area. If they tried a little bit harder it could be excellent. We have been there before but this was the first time with the new owners. Will be back again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant in Chirnside Park!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We have been meaning to visit this restaurant for months so finally dropped in this week. It is great to see a smart looking restaurant so far out from the city, and is a far cry from formica tables & chairs and the usual 1970's decor you find in a lot of outer suburb 'restaurants'.
The restaurant is under new management and was busy on a Monday. There is a cosy atmosphere in this place and plenty of outside dining should you wish to do so, the service was generally good, if a little slow for drinks at times, but the staff were a friendly bunch. There's a good choice of food on the menu and when it came, it looked good and tasted great! which helped to justify the prices which aren't too expensive but its not cheap either. We will return one weekend to try the breakfast / lunch menu. All in all it is a great restaurant hiding by the side of the Maroondah, worth visiting...

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice food, would try it again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We had breakfast and I have to say it was really nice. We ordered the big breakfast. The sourdough was fresh, the sausages were butcher quality, the bacon nicely smoked and the poached eggs runny just the way they should be. Coffee was good, could have been a little warmer, but it tasted great. Only let down was the orange juice, reconstituted acidity rather than a nice fresh OJ. The atmosphere was nice, well presented interior. We found the staff helpful, maybe a little too helpful, she was very keen on having "a chat' and at times it was hard to make her leave :) I would go again, there are not many places that do a good breakfast around Croydon / Chirnside Park.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platinum Cafe and Restaurant also viewed

Chirnside Park, Yarra Valley
Chirnside Park, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Platinum Cafe and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platinum Cafe and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.