We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort to your Saves list
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Cnr Ocean View Road & Schnapper Road | 189 Ocean View Road, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ettalong Beach
Gosford, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and my self stayed at hotel for 8 days, we found the staff from mangment to general staff to be friendly and very helpfull. It was like being back in Italy the atmosphere and surroundings. Rooms are great and beds are very comfy i have never slept so well in years.

Room Tip: Stay on weekend they have a great markets and they have lots to do and see it is also a lot of fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry A, Manager at Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort, thank you for taking the time to give us such a positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    21
    7
    22
See reviews for
25
49
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camden NSW
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

With a group of 46 seniors we couldn't have chosen a better spot. Although not new, the resort is unique in it's location and design, and I believe, unbeatable in value for money. Comfortable beds, delicious food, fantastic staff. Nothing is too much trouble.
Located above Ettalong Markets, it's also close to the shopping centre, beach and Club We had a great time, and will definitely make a return visit. Check it out for yourself.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry A, Manager at Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the time you have taken to write us a review, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Thanks,
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane,Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

After reading a few of the reviews on this place I was a little concerned but with the Mantra wanting $220 for a standard old room with a 32cm CRT TV the price was right for the weekend away so we booked it.

Now internal exposed brick hasn't been in fashion for several decades but when you find out it was built in 1979 you start to understand some of the reviews. Having said that I was actually looking to fault the room and could find none with ours. While old in styling the room was spotless and a credit to the cleaners. The few painted walls were all clean and fresh and the shower had enough pressure to blow you head off. I should point out that we had the most basic room in the complex the standard double bed room.

It is a very unusual layout in that all the rooms are on the 2nd level of a maze of rooms that form several courtyards within the complex. I swear I never used the same exit twice. Each room has a balcony but some are only 8ft long and 3ft wide while others are large open areas shared by several rooms.
On the lower level there are several restaurants and cafes. These restaurants ranged from Mediterranean to Spanish Tapas to wood fired pizzas and Indian. For breakfast there was a cafe serving anything from croissants to bacon and eggs. Mixed among the restaurants are some shops and on weekends they have markets in the courtyards. Last but not least the resort has the only cinema in town should you tire of the beach and location wise it is a 10 minute walk to the nearest supermarket and bottle shop.

All in all it was quirky and clean and both myself and my wife enjoyed our stay. We would certainly stay again and have already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry A, Manager at Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Thank you for positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks,
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We booked a 2-bedroom apartment at Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort for the Xmas period virtually at the last minute at a cost of only $170 per night, with only a minimum 3 night stay. I was excited as I thought it was a massive bargain, given the location, the peak period and the late notice. Then I read the reviews here and became quite apprehensive.
But I needn’t have feared.
While more a motel than a resort, I liked how they attempted to adopt a Mediterranean feel, complete with tiny little courtyards with tables and chairs right outside the rooms, and the areas below where the restaurants are, being called piazzas.
EBTR is situated only a 5 minute walk to the beach, literally above a plethora of great restaurants. The place has no elevators (not that I could see anyway) but, given how massive and maze-like the layout is, you appreciate the multitude of stairs that appear here and there.
Our 2-bedroom apartment was situated at the furthest side from reception. We had arrived at 1.30pm but they were still in the process of cleaning up our rooms, only finishing at 3pm.
The rooms are basic and clean, with a small living room and dining area, with enough cutlery for 6 people. I liked how we had 2 balconies to ourselves as we had 2 entrances – one at the back and the other at the front. Because we were right at the end, in the corner, we didn’t encounter too much noise from the other hotel patrons. I was preparing myself for the noise of the markets being set up on Sunday morning, as many here have complained – as I’m a very light sleeper. But I woke up at 8.30am the next morning and was surprised to find that the stalls had already been set up. Again, maybe it was due to our location.
Check-in and check out were quick and painless, and Larry was efficient, albeit not overly friendly. My only slight gripe was that we were told that our rooms would be cleaned every 2nd day during our stay but come 2pm, they still hadn’t been cleaned. When I called up to ask, I was told the cleaners were really busy that day, which I was convinced was a lie as I saw the cleaners had finished up at 1pm. But after the call, the cleaners came in within 10 minutes.
Within the complex are about 15 restaurants, half of which were packed come 7pm. We tried the pizza place (the best restaurant there, in my opinion), the Spanish, Indian, and Walkabout Cafe. We were happy with the food at every single one of them. There is also a cinema complex, and a pool (although the spa wasn’t working).
Overall, I would recommend EBTR to anyone looking for a reasonably-priced, basic accommodation in a convenient location at Ettalong Beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north essendon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We were a little worried about our stay after we had read the reviews prior to us leaving for our stay on the 2nd January.

We really enjoyed our stay and found no problems at all with the service we received while there or the staff.

It was only 1 night which was fine, the kids were comfy in there bed and so were we, there were NO BED BUGS and the room was CLEAN!!

Only thing we didn't like was the fridge was off when we got in which made the milk smell in it, lucky we don't drink milk..

We were very happy with our night there and would possibly do it again!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed from 28 December through 2 January. Our daughter booked a double room for us and didn't look at any reviews prior to our stay. We thought the hotel and room were quaint and interesting. Now, we ALWAYS look for bedbugs prior to going into a hotel bed and this bed was clean. The A/C worked great. We didn't even try the T.V. The room seemed clean and the bathroom seemed clean. We requested two extra pillows and received them right away. We saw a movie at the cinema, and we were quite impressed with those facilities.

On the negative side, we didn't get a great sense of security through our main entrance door after someone knocked on the door at 12pm thinking it was their room. The doors are thin and flimsy and could quite easily be broken into. I wouldn't want to stay here as a single woman. In the morning, you could hear the restaurant gearing up for the day and some patrons with children were quite loud as they ate their breakfast. We had two big peaves about our stay. There are signs all over stating that that the hotel is a smoke-free resort, but many people did not adhere. We saw people smoking, ashtrays around in public and the balcony areas, and we could smell smoke as it wafted under the door from the shared balcony. We stuffed the bedspread in front of this door to help alleviate this problem. The second issue was in the five nights we stayed there, our room was never cleaned. They had left a note saying they would clean the room every second day, but they never did. Therefore, the instant coffee wasn't replenished, but we didn't bother with asking them about it since the stock lastest almost to the last day of our stay.

Overall, the place was fine for us as an over-50 couple. We were gone from morning through evening, so we didn't have many problems. But considering the other reviews that we didn't read until our return home, we probably wouldn't stay here again.

BTW why does any hotel use double beds? Queen size ought to be the legal minimum!!

Room Tip: Don't get a double-bed if you want a decent night sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile


We stayed here last month and only stayed here because the mantra was booked out. We were wery of the reviews when we booked but we had no other choice. The other reviews are a good indication of this dump. The owner is blatantly rude and arrogant. The resort made mistakes with our rooms and he seemed to blame it on us. He was not apologetic or sincere at all.
Dont stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ettalong Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort

Address: Cnr Ocean View Road & Schnapper Road | 189 Ocean View Road, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ettalong Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ettalong Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a resort styled to reflect the ambience of a Mediterranean village, with beautifully appointed accommodation, a choice of fine dining experiences, the casual atmosphere of cafes & alfresco eateries, and the joie de vivre of a village markets. Take in a movie at the Cinema Paradiso, relax in the Roman Baths & Spa or just wander across the road to enjoy the pristine waters and white sands of beautiful Ettalong Beach. The Resort complex comprises of 16 restaurants & cafes including: Beef & Barrumundi Steakhouse Bar & Grill - Ettalong Hong Kong/Chinese - Menhir's Spanish Tapas Bar - Namans Kitchen - Olive Modern - Ghandi Indian Restaurant- La Fiamma Woodfired Pizzeria - The Walkabout Cafe - La Cucina Cortesi Italian - Ettalong Pizza & Pasta - Fusions Oyster & Tapas Bar. Weekends and Public holidays we have largest undercover markets on the Central Coast with over 100 undercover stalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ettalong Beach Tourist Hotel Ettalong Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.