We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good food and service. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Pavilion

The Grand Pavilion
Shop 4-5, 46 Picnic Parade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia
+61 2 4341 7234
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good food and service. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Reasonably priced and very fresh and tasty Indian food. The service staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“always great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

been to the Grand Pavillion a few times, always great food and great service. Tried most items on the menu and all have been tasty and plenty to go around. Recommend the lamb cutlets (or meat entree platter)for starters and then whatever your taste leads you.
Don't miss an oportunity to visit, best meal and family favourite.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Australia?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I ate here last night. It was divine. Lamb shanks = awesome. If you come to Ettalong, don't miss this experience of beautiful Indian food. It was very reasonably priced, and the service was great. My only criticism is the calamari ring on the seafood share plate entree. It just didn't belong with the rest, not sure why it was there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“okay food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

we popped in here on Easter Sunday night for a quick bite to eat
the food was alright however:
the waitress wouldn't let my partner have hot chips with his main course advising him that he should have rice instead, a bit annoying as yes we understand - not very cultural to have hot chips with curry but it was his birthday and he wanted what he wanted
when i asked for salt i was told they didn't know if they had any, and no one came back to me after that to advise whether or not they did or didn't - that particular waitress was quite curt
the food was average - lamb madras not as I would expect it to be and the naan breads had a gritty texture which im guessing came from the oven not being cleaned properly
we ALWAYS tip in restaurants but didn't on this occasion because of the above reasons
wouldn't go back
however the manager was courteous allowing me to try the house merlot before i ordered it - her wine pouring skills TERRIBLE - the wine was all bubbly. suggest she goes on a wine handling course! merlot however was the best thing about the meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettalong Beach, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent experience ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We been to this place first time and it was great to have this lil gem in Ettalong.food,service,atmosphere everything was great..nice ,caring & welcoming staff

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Pavilion also viewed

Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
Ettalong Beach, New South Wales
 

Been to The Grand Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.