We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a short family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Ettalong Beach

Save Saved
You added Mantra Ettalong Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Ettalong Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ettalong Beach
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good for a short family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Found the hotel to be clean with plenty of free undercover parking spaces. We booked in at 2pm and while reception was busy, we only waited a minute or two. Booked a room with Land views, but also had fantastic sea views from our balcony. Clean spacious room, great on suit spa bath, it was generally very quite, though we did hear a few bumps from the room upstairs. My only issue with the room facilities would be lack of dishwasher, which isn't a major issue. Friendly staff, but the lifts are small which is tricky at busy times, we checked out early to avoid the 10am check out rush. The pool is basic, but the attached spa was full of children which was somewhat annoying since we never got to use it. Wouldn't recommend a pool side room unless you have a large family and intend to spend a lot of time in the pool.

Went to the attached restaurant (Ettalong Beach Hotel, I think) which is not part of the hotel, dreadful place, terrible service, staff paying little attention and notice to customers. Below average overpriced food. Avoid like this restaurant like the plague.

Room Tip: Avoid poolside rooms unless in a large family group who are planning to use the pool a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Zoe108,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Mantra Ettalong Beach. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay. Please be aware that as we are a family hotel we don’t place an age limit on the spa however our team do their best to regulate the use of the spa and encourage our guests to allow other people to use the spa as well.

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your experience at the Ettalong Beach Club however our staff are always willing to recommend one of the many local restaurants for our guests.

We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    173
    57
    30
    33
See reviews for
92
191
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I've previously reviewed a Mantra property in Melbourne and gave a good review. Disappointingly, this review of the Mantra in Ettalong, NSW, is not favourable. We rented a 2 bedroom terrace apartment for a 5 night summer getaway with our 2 teenage daughters. It wasn't inexpensive, but everything is top dollar in January, and we thought the girls would love the pool, the closeness to walks along the foreshore and the cafes across the road, which they did. The 2 bedroom terrace apt also boasts guaranteed water views which was a must for me - lying back on one of the sun lounges, relaxing on the terrace / balcony, having meals there at the outdoor setting and generally feeling very summery and a bit indulgent. So we thought it was worth paying the higher rate for this apartment and booked.

When we arrived and stepped out onto the balcony, we looked at the view and went wow! The view was indeed gorgeous, and our balcony was enormous! Not all of them are that big, though even the smaller ones for this category of apartment are still more than adequate. BUT then we all noticed the balcony furniture which was seriously way below our expectations based on the photos of the 2 bedroom terrace apartment on the Mantra (Ettalong) website gallery. Frankly, the outdoor furniture was appalling and embarrassing to Mantra, and to us. We could see the nicer furniture (as pictured on the website, and still is at the time of writing) on most other terrace apartment balconies - table with 6 or 8 chairs, and 2 sun lounges in an upmarket design. We, on the other hand, had a small round table perhaps just big enough for 2, with 4 chairs (the apartment sleeps 6), and no sun lounges. And the condition was shocking.

I thought perhaps I should just accept our lot, but thought no, this isn't what we booked or paid for. I called reception and eventually spoke with the manager on duty. He was very nice and professional, but basically the upshot is that apparently every apartment in the building is privately owned, and that Mantra only acts as a management service for a large number of them. Further, that whilst all apt owners are encouraged to comply with the standards of furniture including outdoor furniture for each apt category, it was apparently "out of the hands of Mantra" and they could only encourage the owners, not make them comply. I understand the difficulties of this sort of arrangement, however, it is not acceptable to put the responsibility onto the various landlords. It is clearly the responsibility of Mantra to ensure that they do not misrepresent their product (whether they own it or just act as managers) and that they comply with fair trading and do not participate in deceiving customers. Mantra could also simply refuse to manage non-complying apartments.

The manager was apologetic, but said they were fully booked and couldn't move us. I insisted that we were not getting what we paid for, and requested some level of refund to which he did not respond. Later he called and offered to change our apartment the next day including assistance with the move if required. We deliberated about whether to do this, but we had already unpacked and wanted to get on with our holiday. In any case, our move would just free up the dud apartment for another unsuspecting family to be disappointed. So we decided to stay where we were, and thus didn't enjoy those meals on the balcony, and we didn't enjoy lounging on the sun lounges looking at that view. The offer to move us also did not absolve Mantra of their false marketing.

We stayed in apartment 407. The manager said that he would pass on our feedback to the owner. I hope he does. I also left a written complaint for Mantra management as well. If any TA readers are thinking of staying there (and there are lots of good reasons to do so), I would highly recommend that if you want to stay in a 2 b/r terrace apartment, or any of the rooms / apts at the Mantra, that you specifically request and check with them that you get what they are advertising.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Wordage,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us at Mantra Ettalong, we always appreciate receiving constructive comments which help us to maintain and improve our standards as well as meet and exceed guest expectations. Please be assured I have followed up all of your comments with Management and owner of the unit.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is our 3rd time back at the Mantra and I have to say it's becoming one of my favourite getaways. The hotel is not that flash but the rooms are fine and well equipped. They have a gym if you are up to it but no other facilities except for the pool.

But to be honest, when you are in such a beautiful location who wants to stay in their room or eat at the hotel when there are so many other local places to go to.

We are a family of four and were more than comfortable with the self contained apartment. The bed was huge and there was a sofa bed for the kids to share. There was a small kitchen area with all the mod-coms to make breakfast or a light lunch. We were lucky to book ground floor with poolside a large outdoor area. Being New Years and staying with another 3 families this made for a great entertaining area.

The pool is very child friendly. It's not too deep and has a large wading area. The majority of people staying at the hotel had young families. So if you are thinking of a family holiday this is the place to come to. It's not a resort style hotel with pool service.
I suppose the best thing I like about staying at the Mantra is that it is quiet and very relaxing. The views are great and there is plenty of beach line to go for a nice walk.
Traffic is at a minimum and there is no road noise at the hotel. There is a great Italian wood fire pizzeria "La Fiamma" 10 minutes walk up the road and a good Thai restaurant next door. There is an RSL downstairs and if you want to have more variety you can always go to Umina ( 5 minute drive ).

The beach at Ettalong is more like a bay & is protected from large waves. There is a new park area with BBQs , swings & play sets and ever outdoor fitness machines if you feel that you need to burn some calories. About a 15 minute walk along the beach is Ocean Beach which has waves & then there is Umina beach around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear viaggiatori_di_OZ,

It is wonderful to read that you think of Mantra Ettalong to be your favourite short getaway spot. Our team always love hearing such positive feedback and I will be sure the pass your comments onto the rest of the team.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your fourth visit to the Mantra Ettalong beach and hope that you will only enjoy your next stay as much as the last.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Clean, nicely arranged, spacious rooms. Yes, lifts are a little annoying and room service would be a plus but besides that, staff are friendly, pool is relaxing and area is quiet and peaceful. We had a nice little getaway stay at the mantra.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear amanda k,

Thank you for leaving a great review from your recent stay with us at Mantra Ettalong Beach.
I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you as a return guest soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great place to stay with the family, especially young children. Right across the road from Ettalong Beach, which as an "inside" beach does not have surf and at low tide has a large flat area suitable for playing with younger children. The hotel itself has a large pool and hot spa. The pool has both sun lounges and tables and chairs. It could do with more shade options for those using the tables and chairs - there is no shade available here.
The rooms are not overly large, and the kitchen is in reality a kitchenette - it has a bar fridge (no freezer, i.e. you cannot keep ice cream in it), two hot plates and a microwave. The intent appears to be for reheating take-away meals or for breakfasts, cooking in any serious way is not possible. The living / dining area is small, especially in the two bedroom apartments with 4 people. It is, however, adequate, especially if one is also able to use the balcony, which in some apartments are almost larger than the apartment itself!
Rooms are supplied with one sachet of dishwashing detergent and one garbage bin liner on arrival. We went and bought dish detergent so we could wash up and had to use shopping bags to line the bins so we could empty rubbish between services. When rooms are serviced they empty the bin and provide a new liner, but if you need/or want to empty it between services there is no liner available. This is unlike other Mantra hotels in which I have stayed where they have supplied plenty of dish detergent (as well as dishwashing powder where they have dishwashers in the rooms) and the bins always have spare liners in the bottom.
As someone else commented, lifts are slow, especially if one is out of action.
Despite this the Mantra is a good place to stay, provides a good level of accommodation with good facilities and is ideally located for eating out and going to the beach.

Room Tip: Higher floors - you're further away from the noise of the pool - and the rooms at the end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear LynetteJB,

Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us at mantra Ettalong Beach. We always appreciate receiving feedback and I will be sure to pass your onto the team.

Please be aware that we do not advertise as having full kitchens and we clearly state that they are only kitchenettes in our rooms. Some Mantra properties do have full kitchens however we are all individual properties and we only have the kitchenette facilities. As we operate 24 hours a day there is always someone available to provide extra amenities for the rooms including bin liners and dishwashing liquid if needed.

Unfortunately at this time of year when we are at full occupancy there is a high demand on the lifts throughout the day because our guests are constantly coming and going which can cause them to be slow at times.

Again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, QLD
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I can't say that I have any specific complaint about the place, its just an average "resort"...what makes it a resort, I'm not sure, I suppose it does have a pool, a spa and a gym but that is about it.

There is no restaurant or room service option - there are kitchenettes in all rooms with hot plates and microwaves so not great to cook a whole meal - maybe reheat one made previously?

We had a one bedroom unit and aside from the curry smell when you used the stovetop fan, it was very clean and a good layout.

Our unit was facing the pool and I was surprised that is wasn't too loud despite the plethora of kids in the pool (as it was xmas break). Don't get me wrong you could still hear them but the patio doors did well to muffle most of it. We enjoyed the balcony as it really increases the living space of the unit.

The location was good as it was close to shops and the esplanade but the beach in this area is very steep and not great for young children.

We loved our break in Ettalong and hope to get back there some time - but maybe find a holiday rental next time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear CDDingo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at mantra Ettalong Beach.

Please be aware that we do not advertise as having restaurant facilities as a part of our services. There is however the Ettalong Beach Club next door and a wide variety in the local area with most of these delivering to the resort reception.

As im sure you are aware there are plenty of different characteristics that combine to classify our property as a resort. I can assure you that we are well within the guidelines for this description.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

As the only accommodation in the Central Coast with rooms available during the x’mas break, we had no choice but to go with Mantra. Having read a fair number of negative reviews, we arrived with heavy hearts.

We were, however, pleasantly surprised. The staff was friendly and helpful and our room was clean with functional décor. The spacious balcony was nice for relaxing on a warm summer night.

The Resort is conveniently located with IGA and a pharmacy nearby. It is reasonable drive from more popular beaches like Avoca and Terrigal.

Now the negative: expecting to have ocean views (we booked the much pricier Ocean/Pool View Room), we were disappointed that we were presented with a view of a pool filled with noisy kids. Perhaps the resort could benefit from a more accurate description such as “Ocean and/or Pool View Room”. Notwithstanding that, the staff was helpful in trying to relocate us to a room with ocean views but to no avail.

For a 4.5 star resort (albeit self-rated), we were embarrassed that it did not stock basic toiletries such as toothpaste and sanitary bags for the forgetful traveller. Again, the hamstrung staff was polite and apologetic about this.

Overall, our stay was pleasant and we found the service acceptable. Whilst it doesn’t deserve all the negative reviews, it would definitely benefit from adopting prices and a star rating that would better reflect the resort.

Room Tip: There is no guarantee you would get a room with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Dom M,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at Mantra Ettalong Beach.

It is always pleasing the read that you were able to experience our hotel first hand rather than making assumptions based on the few negative reviews that individuals post online. We certainly pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and our team will be pleased to read that you found them to be friendly and helpful.
Please be aware that to have a guaranteed ocean view we do have terrace suites and exclusive suites that offer wonderful ocean views.

We do hope to see you again soon,

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra Ettalong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Ettalong Beach

Address: 53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ettalong Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ettalong Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Ettalong Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Ettalong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Ettalong Beach Hotel Ettalong Beach
Outrigger Ettalong
Mantra Ettalong Beach Woy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Ettalong Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.