We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our first visit & won't be our last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Ettalong Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Ettalong Beach to your Saves list
Mantra Ettalong Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ettalong Beach
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not our first visit & won't be our last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed in room 416 (two separate bedrooms with their own bathrooms) which we shared with another couple in our group. There were two air conditioners.
The Mantra is in a great location, close to restaurants, cinema (The Paradiso), shops, Ettalong Markets (open Saturday & Sundays, close to the beach & right next door to the RSL (the resort & the club share the parking basement), which we have never had any trouble finding parking in (not our first stay) & the parking is free.
The room had a kitchenette with tea making facilities. The bathrooms had soap, shampoo, towels (don't recall a hair dryer, but I always take my own). There is also a washing machine & dryer if you need it.
From the balcony we had a lovely view & there is a table & chairs.
We stayed here in another room in August & the other rooms seem to be very similar in decor and tv,DVD, kitchen supplies etc.
We didn't use the gym on this visit, but did last time & found that they had a good range of equipment & the staff are very friendly.. Also have used the Salon for a massage & facial which was wonderful. There are lockers & showers available in the bathrooms (the salon & gym are in the same area). we haven't used the pool or spa outside yet, but it does look very inviting.The safe in the main bedroom didn't seem to work which I forgot to report.
If you don't feel like going out to a restaurant to eat bring takeaway back & eat on the balcony or in the room at the dining table (we can recommend the Vietnamese Restaurant close by). Crockery, cutlery & glassware are provided in the room.

Room Tip: We have only stayed on levels 4, 5 & 6 which all had views. Rooms on the western side wouldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Cathannt,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such positive comments about your most recent stay and Mantra Ettalong Beach.

It is always a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed staying with us on multiple occasions and we are certainly looking for to welcoming you back again on your next visit to the central coast.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    197
    66
    35
    37
See reviews for
102
212
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wamberal, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Studio rooms are very spacious with large verandahs and nice bathrooms.
Kitchenette facilities are very small but adequate if you dont want to cook a full on meal. There are many cheap eateries around anyway so Id suggest making the most of whats on offer in the local area.
We got a great deal that included breakfast, wine and movie tickets so we were very pleased.
The hotel was VERY busy when we stayed and we spent alot of time waiting for lifts (even though) there are 3 lifts operating it seemed like they were always full.
The fact that the hotel is built around the pool does mean that its quite noisy from families in the pool and the noise from other balconies can alos be a bit much but in saying that we were not kept awake of bothered too much by this.
We stayed for a wedding and as such left the kids at home but next time would probably take the kids as it is a relatively cheap family friendly get away.

Room Tip: try to go for a terrace as they are at the fromt and perhaps less noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear MELMAUNDY,

Thank you for the great review, from your review it appears that you stayed in a private room separate to the mantra however the facilities of the room are still the same as our Mantra rooms. Please be aware that although we have 3 fully functioning lifts they can become quite busy during peak times as all 236 rooms in the building are occupied on weekends and this can cause some delays for the lifts. It is wonderful to read that you were able to experience some of the great local restaurants and the Ettalong area.

We hope that next time you choose to travel to the central coast you will stay in a Mantra managed apartment and experience what we have to offer.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We booked Mantra Ettalong Beach for 1 night expecting a wonderful Saturday night away, not having to travel too far out of Sydney.
Our room was nice enough and the balcony looked over the pool and ocean, which normally would be pleasant - but a lot of noise from the pool area even though we were on a high level.
Our room was non smoking but everyone that smokes did so on their balcony which made it impossible to sit and relax on balcony morning, afternoon or evening.
It is listed as a Hotel and Spa - yet there are absolutely NO hotels facilities. The only thing available at the pool area is a drink machine which only had soft drinks - NO BOTTLED WATER
and a variety of chips, lollies etc.
There was no café ,room service or any type of facitlity within the hotel to obtain a cup of coffee!!!
Now if we knew we were coming to a place which was apartments with facilities then we would have catered for ourselves BUT when Mantra list as a Hotel & Spa you expect the basics.
The room was very average, 1 bedside light didn't work and air conditioning was not working properly either.
It is fine for staff at front desk to say there is a club next door to have breakfast/lunch/dinner but that is not what everyone wants.
My point though of the whole issue is that they list themselves as a Hotel and Spa!!
We will never stay at another Mantra Hotel or whatever again.
I emailed Mantra and received a very unsatisfactory reply, I sent another email but it was not answered.
We don't normally review anything or complain! But I felt this warranted as the arrogance of staff and customer service has put us off ever staying at their hotels?? ever.

Room Tip: There really is no tip for a good room, as you either face the noisy pool area or at the back look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Wendy M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at mantra Ettalong Beach. It is disappointing to read that you were not satisfied with our hotel. Please be aware that we are a strata titled building and although smoking in our rooms is strictly prohibited it is allowed on the balconies and although we do not encourage this there are private units within the building that do allow this. You make mention to the fact that our hotel did not offer facilities however it is important to understand that we do not advertise any on site food and beverage facilities however we do offer our large outdoor pool and spa and the onsite day spa and fully equip gymnasium for the use of all of our guests. I sincerely apologise for the maintenance issues that you experienced during your stay and would like you to be aware that each room is checked prior to our guests arrival for any issues however things can go wrong from time to time and if our staff are notified they are more than happy to rectify the issues for you as fast as possible. Please be sure that your comments have been passed on to higher management for their review.

Thank you again for your review.

Kid Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in a studio suite in on the 7th floor facing the hinterland. The room was big and spacious for a studio suite. The spa bath was huge and very relaxing. We arrived early and were given pool access and then checked in at 1.30pm. Only problem we encountered is small but the bowls were way too small for breakfast. Struggled to fit 2 weetbix, banana and milk. Overall, we will be back. Thankyou!

Room Tip: Preregister if you arrive before your check in time. We got to go to our room at 1.30pm instead of 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear BellaStats,

Thank you for the great review it is always a pleasure to know that you had a relaxing stay and you were able to make use of the pool facilities prior to your check in. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the bowls in the room to the housekeeping department for their review.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the central coast.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We went for a relaxing getaway. The room itself was very clean and the king size bed was comfortable.
The pool area... crowded and noisy so a far cry from relaxing. The noise would drift into the room if you chose to leave the door open. Our stereo in the room didn't work and we asked twice for someone to take a look. That didn't happen.
And given we booked an apartment and not through stayz, we expected the room to be serviced, it wasn't so we chased extra tea bags and milk.
And our ensuite spa bath was only big enough for one, and the shower head meant you had to run around to get wet! I feel a picky but at the price we paid we were disappointed by these things.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Quirky11,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you found the room to be very clean and comfortable.

It is however disappointing that there were other factors that were not up to standard during your stay. I apologise for the maintenance issues that were not rectified during your stay and I have followed this up with the team member responsible to ensure this does not happen again. Please be aware that we are a non serviced property and therefore housekeeping do not enter the room during your stay however any extra amenities are available for you upon request.

I do hope that this had not tarnished your option of the Mantra Ettalong Beach and we do hope to welcome you back as a return guest in the future.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in a suite on the first floor - not much of views from the large balcony but the facilities were excellent. Next door there is the Ettalong RSL club also with excellent facilities so you get the best of both worlds

Room Tip: you would get better views from the high rise block
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Malonely,

Thank you very much for the great review. Perhaps next time you stay with us booking a deluxe suite would be a batter option as they have lovely pool views rather than just the township.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just home from a two night stay at the Mantra Ettalong. We stayed in a self contained one bedroom unit on the fifth floor with ocean views. The room was spotless and quite comfortable.

We had a massive balcony which had very good views over the water and the pool. It was a shame though that the balcony which was the same size as the living room had one small table and two plastic chairs which made it look quite bare. The balcony could be better utilised with a larger dining table and perhaps a sun lounge.

The TV in the living room was quite useless to us. It was an older style tube TV and the whole picture did not fit on the screen. There was no HD channels as apparently they are not available in the area which is ok, but the foxtel could have made up for the lack of channels but it did not.

The bathroom and bedroom was clean and well appointed. There was also full laundry facilities. The kitchen although stating it to be 'self contained' it only had a bar fridge. This only had a small freezer section for ice cubes. There was no oven and only two small hotplates. So may be difficult to prepare meals.

Staff were very friendly in reception. If you would like room serviced, you have to pay an extra fee so we did not bother. No room service or facilities within the restaurant, have to go down stairs to the RSL.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear misstravellots,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Mantra Ettalong Beach.

It is great to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and you found the room to be spotless and comfortable. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the balcony furniture to the owner of the unit for their consideration. Please be aware that the property is currently in the process of refurbishing and the old TV’s will be disposed of and replaced with modern flat screens that can access Digital channels in the very near future.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Ettalong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Ettalong Beach

Address: 53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ettalong Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ettalong Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Ettalong Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful beachside town of Ettalong, Mantra Ettalong Beach offers spectacular ocean views just 90 minutes north of Sydney on the Central Coast. Combining superbly appointed unserviced beachfront accommodation with an exciting array of leisure and entertainment facilities the resort is the perfect destination for family getaways, romantic retreats or business stays. There's a range of studio, one and two bedroom unserviced spa suites, offering magnificent pool, ocean and hinterland views. All suites are fully furnished with kitchenettes, laundry facilities, air conditioning, balconies, cable TV, CD player and stereo system, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and spa baths. Guests can enjoy the outdoor pool and spa, a variety of dining establishments within walking distance, an entertainment venue which is located adjacent to the hotel. The on-site day spa is located on level 1, Mantra Ettalong Beach we offer clients total relaxation and a real fitness environment to get that full work out experience. If you're here to relax and unwind, energise and work hard, on your own or with a group, you can get some pre and post wedding pampering. No matter how you arrive you will always leave with a deep inner calm. Just a short drive away is the Hunter Valley, one of Australia's most fertile wine-producing regions. Terrigal, Erina and Gosford CBD are just a 25 minute drive away offering an array of cafes, shopping and attractions. Brisbane Water National Park, the Australia Reptile Park, Glenworth Valley horse riding and Outdoor Adventure Centre are conveniently located within a short drive and are popular local attractions. With its pristine water views, and relaxing environment, Mantra Ettalong Beach offers the perfect seaside escape for family getaways, romantic interludes or the business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Ettalong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Ettalong Beach Hotel Ettalong Beach
Outrigger Ettalong
Mantra Ettalong Beach Woy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Ettalong Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.