We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weekend escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Ettalong Beach

Save Saved
You added Mantra Ettalong Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Ettalong Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ettalong Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good weekend escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in a studio suite in on the 7th floor facing the hinterland. The room was big and spacious for a studio suite. The spa bath was huge and very relaxing. We arrived early and were given pool access and then checked in at 1.30pm. Only problem we encountered is small but the bowls were way too small for breakfast. Struggled to fit 2 weetbix, banana and milk. Overall, we will be back. Thankyou!

Room Tip: Preregister if you arrive before your check in time. We got to go to our room at 1.30pm instead of 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear BellaStats,

Thank you for the great review it is always a pleasure to know that you had a relaxing stay and you were able to make use of the pool facilities prior to your check in. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the bowls in the room to the housekeeping department for their review.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the central coast.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    175
    57
    30
    33
See reviews for
92
191
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We went for a relaxing getaway. The room itself was very clean and the king size bed was comfortable.
The pool area... crowded and noisy so a far cry from relaxing. The noise would drift into the room if you chose to leave the door open. Our stereo in the room didn't work and we asked twice for someone to take a look. That didn't happen.
And given we booked an apartment and not through stayz, we expected the room to be serviced, it wasn't so we chased extra tea bags and milk.
And our ensuite spa bath was only big enough for one, and the shower head meant you had to run around to get wet! I feel a picky but at the price we paid we were disappointed by these things.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Quirky11,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you found the room to be very clean and comfortable.

It is however disappointing that there were other factors that were not up to standard during your stay. I apologise for the maintenance issues that were not rectified during your stay and I have followed this up with the team member responsible to ensure this does not happen again. Please be aware that we are a non serviced property and therefore housekeeping do not enter the room during your stay however any extra amenities are available for you upon request.

I do hope that this had not tarnished your option of the Mantra Ettalong Beach and we do hope to welcome you back as a return guest in the future.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in a suite on the first floor - not much of views from the large balcony but the facilities were excellent. Next door there is the Ettalong RSL club also with excellent facilities so you get the best of both worlds

Room Tip: you would get better views from the high rise block
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Malonely,

Thank you very much for the great review. Perhaps next time you stay with us booking a deluxe suite would be a batter option as they have lovely pool views rather than just the township.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just home from a two night stay at the Mantra Ettalong. We stayed in a self contained one bedroom unit on the fifth floor with ocean views. The room was spotless and quite comfortable.

We had a massive balcony which had very good views over the water and the pool. It was a shame though that the balcony which was the same size as the living room had one small table and two plastic chairs which made it look quite bare. The balcony could be better utilised with a larger dining table and perhaps a sun lounge.

The TV in the living room was quite useless to us. It was an older style tube TV and the whole picture did not fit on the screen. There was no HD channels as apparently they are not available in the area which is ok, but the foxtel could have made up for the lack of channels but it did not.

The bathroom and bedroom was clean and well appointed. There was also full laundry facilities. The kitchen although stating it to be 'self contained' it only had a bar fridge. This only had a small freezer section for ice cubes. There was no oven and only two small hotplates. So may be difficult to prepare meals.

Staff were very friendly in reception. If you would like room serviced, you have to pay an extra fee so we did not bother. No room service or facilities within the restaurant, have to go down stairs to the RSL.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear misstravellots,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Mantra Ettalong Beach.

It is great to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and you found the room to be spotless and comfortable. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the balcony furniture to the owner of the unit for their consideration. Please be aware that the property is currently in the process of refurbishing and the old TV’s will be disposed of and replaced with modern flat screens that can access Digital channels in the very near future.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the room - 1 bedroom town/hinterland view - very spacious, lovely spa and lounge area.

However, our stay was vastly affected by the smokers who were staying next door. Not only could we smell smoke from outside our hotel door, but we were unable to even open our balcony doors without their smoke completely taking over the lounge area of our room within moments. Needless to say we could not sit outside and enjoy the views without inhaling second hand smoke. Unfortunately smokers are permitted to smoke on their balconies so there wasn't much we could do about this, however I would suggest to the hotel manger that smokers be placed on a different floor so as not to prevent non smokers from using their balconies.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear TravelBug8834,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is wonderful top read that you found the room to be spacious and the spa to be lovely. It is however disappointing to read that smokers on the adjoin balcony impacted your stay. Unfortunately as we are a strata titled property the bylaws of the building permit smoking on balconies however I will be sure to pass on your comments to higher management for their review.

We do hope to welcome you back as a return guest in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Got a special on a one bed apartment. It was very clean and spacious. The decor was nice. A comfortable place to stay with gear facilities. Staff at front desk were very friendly and helpful. I would reccomend you stay here if you stay here if you need to visit this area. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear sassymissc,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a great review of your recent stay at Mantra Ettalong Beach. It is great to know that you found our hotel to be clean, spacious and a comfortable place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We came for two days for a quiet getaway and the noise was unbearable. We stayed near the pool and had kids screaming and yelling all day. There was a group of people staying and they were loud near us. Nice views but if you want peace and quiet stay elsewhere, you can't even nap throughout he day because of the noise.
There was a really old little tv in the room, not even one in the bedroom. Thought this was slack considering the rating.
There were kids running up and down the hallway and you could hear the people walking above you on the floor.
Had had much better value for money elsewhere

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Cathy H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that you found your room to be noisy and that you were disappointed with the TV in the room. Please be aware that our hinterland view rooms are not affected by the noise from the pool area so these may be more suited to you if you decide to stay with us again. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the TV in the room to the owner in the hope that they will replace this as soon as possible.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra Ettalong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Ettalong Beach

Address: 53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ettalong Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ettalong Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Ettalong Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Mantra Ettalong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Ettalong Beach Hotel Ettalong Beach
Outrigger Ettalong
Mantra Ettalong Beach Woy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Ettalong Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.