We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, clean room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Ettalong Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Ettalong Beach to your Saves list
Mantra Ettalong Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ettalong Beach
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice view, clean room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just home from a two night stay at the Mantra Ettalong. We stayed in a self contained one bedroom unit on the fifth floor with ocean views. The room was spotless and quite comfortable.

We had a massive balcony which had very good views over the water and the pool. It was a shame though that the balcony which was the same size as the living room had one small table and two plastic chairs which made it look quite bare. The balcony could be better utilised with a larger dining table and perhaps a sun lounge.

The TV in the living room was quite useless to us. It was an older style tube TV and the whole picture did not fit on the screen. There was no HD channels as apparently they are not available in the area which is ok, but the foxtel could have made up for the lack of channels but it did not.

The bathroom and bedroom was clean and well appointed. There was also full laundry facilities. The kitchen although stating it to be 'self contained' it only had a bar fridge. This only had a small freezer section for ice cubes. There was no oven and only two small hotplates. So may be difficult to prepare meals.

Staff were very friendly in reception. If you would like room serviced, you have to pay an extra fee so we did not bother. No room service or facilities within the restaurant, have to go down stairs to the RSL.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear misstravellots,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Mantra Ettalong Beach.

It is great to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and you found the room to be spotless and comfortable. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the balcony furniture to the owner of the unit for their consideration. Please be aware that the property is currently in the process of refurbishing and the old TV’s will be disposed of and replaced with modern flat screens that can access Digital channels in the very near future.

We hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    243
    89
    42
    42
See reviews for
130
270
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Really enjoyed the room - 1 bedroom town/hinterland view - very spacious, lovely spa and lounge area.

However, our stay was vastly affected by the smokers who were staying next door. Not only could we smell smoke from outside our hotel door, but we were unable to even open our balcony doors without their smoke completely taking over the lounge area of our room within moments. Needless to say we could not sit outside and enjoy the views without inhaling second hand smoke. Unfortunately smokers are permitted to smoke on their balconies so there wasn't much we could do about this, however I would suggest to the hotel manger that smokers be placed on a different floor so as not to prevent non smokers from using their balconies.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear TravelBug8834,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is wonderful top read that you found the room to be spacious and the spa to be lovely. It is however disappointing to read that smokers on the adjoin balcony impacted your stay. Unfortunately as we are a strata titled property the bylaws of the building permit smoking on balconies however I will be sure to pass on your comments to higher management for their review.

We do hope to welcome you back as a return guest in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Got a special on a one bed apartment. It was very clean and spacious. The decor was nice. A comfortable place to stay with gear facilities. Staff at front desk were very friendly and helpful. I would reccomend you stay here if you stay here if you need to visit this area. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear sassymissc,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a great review of your recent stay at Mantra Ettalong Beach. It is great to know that you found our hotel to be clean, spacious and a comfortable place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We came for two days for a quiet getaway and the noise was unbearable. We stayed near the pool and had kids screaming and yelling all day. There was a group of people staying and they were loud near us. Nice views but if you want peace and quiet stay elsewhere, you can't even nap throughout he day because of the noise.
There was a really old little tv in the room, not even one in the bedroom. Thought this was slack considering the rating.
There were kids running up and down the hallway and you could hear the people walking above you on the floor.
Had had much better value for money elsewhere

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Cathy H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to read that you found your room to be noisy and that you were disappointed with the TV in the room. Please be aware that our hinterland view rooms are not affected by the noise from the pool area so these may be more suited to you if you decide to stay with us again. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the TV in the room to the owner in the hope that they will replace this as soon as possible.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Mantra was clean, tidy and well-maintained. The room we stayed in (four of us in a one-bedroom) was really nice with a balcony that caught the afternoon sun. Leave the car in the underground carpark and explore Ettalong for the weekend (we particularly loved hiring a boat from Andersons Marina and heading up into the waterways for a few hours). It's a great location and the pool and spa are perfect for all ages.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean get the better views but those on the south-east side get the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear sedky,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you were able to enjoy some of the local attractions that Ettalong has to offer and that you found your room to be clean, tidy and well maintained. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forbes, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I where on our our up the coast for our honeymoon and booked a night here.
The view we got from our room was amazing and could see heaps.
It was in great location to local shops and the club below for dinner. The staff at the reception were nice and friendly and answered all the questions that we had.
The room was nice and clean. Our room had a spa in it and was amazing to have and use.
The only negative about the room was that there were 2 single base beds joined together instead of 1 king base.
The pool area was awesome as it was really big and also alot of room to lay on the banana chairs that they provided to sun bake.
Overall the place was a great stay for 1 night and would recommend this to anyone going through the coast area.

Room Tip: Not near the garbage room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear blossom_1234,

Thank you for the great review. It is great to read that you found our hotel to be a great place for a night away and that you chose to spend a night of your honeymoon enjoying our facilities. I will be sure to pass your positive comments onto our reception team and our housekeeping department. We look forward to having you as a return guest soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Fantastic venue. Great management. Only 1.5 hours’ drive from Sydney. Value for money. Excellent view. Nice common area. Decent bed, tv and clean bathroom. The room we got was a deluxe spa suit, with an equipped kitchen, laundry, spa and a clean bathroom. WiFi internet with and 24 hours reception service. Late check outs was also available for an extra payment.

Room Tip: Call in to book a room with ocean and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Mostafa_Akber,

Thank you so much for the excellent review, we always appreciate receiving such wonderful praise on all aspects of the service that we provide here at Mantra Ettalong Beach. We hope to welcome you back as a return guest soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ettalong Beach
7.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza
#3 of 7 in Terrigal
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
7.8 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
1.7 mi away
Ocean Beach Resort and Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
Ettalong Beach Tourist Resort
#2 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
15.4 mi away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
7.8 mi away
Tiarri Terrigal Beach
Tiarri Terrigal Beach
#1 of 7 in Terrigal
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Ettalong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Ettalong Beach

Address: 53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ettalong Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ettalong Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Ettalong Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful beachside town of Ettalong, Mantra Ettalong Beach offers spectacular ocean views just 90 minutes north of Sydney on the Central Coast. Combining superbly appointed unserviced beachfront accommodation with an exciting array of leisure and entertainment facilities the resort is the perfect destination for family getaways, romantic retreats or business stays. There's a range of studio, one and two bedroom unserviced spa suites, offering magnificent pool, ocean and hinterland views. All suites are fully furnished with kitchenettes, laundry facilities, air conditioning, balconies, cable TV, CD player and stereo system, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and spa baths. Guests can enjoy the outdoor pool and spa, a variety of dining establishments within walking distance, an entertainment venue which is located adjacent to the hotel. The on-site day spa is located on level 1, Mantra Ettalong Beach we offer clients total relaxation and a real fitness environment to get that full work out experience. If you're here to relax and unwind, energise and work hard, on your own or with a group, you can get some pre and post wedding pampering. No matter how you arrive you will always leave with a deep inner calm. Just a short drive away is the Hunter Valley, one of Australia's most fertile wine-producing regions. Terrigal, Erina and Gosford CBD are just a 25 minute drive away offering an array of cafes, shopping and attractions. Brisbane Water National Park, the Australia Reptile Park, Glenworth Valley horse riding and Outdoor Adventure Centre are conveniently located within a short drive and are popular local attractions. With its pristine water views, and relaxing environment, Mantra Ettalong Beach offers the perfect seaside escape for family getaways, romantic interludes or the business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Ettalong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Ettalong Beach Hotel Ettalong Beach
Outrigger Ettalong
Mantra Ettalong Beach Woy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Ettalong Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.