We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay .. Fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Ettalong Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Ettalong Beach to your Saves list
Mantra Ettalong Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ettalong Beach
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay .. Fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spent a lazy 5 nights in April the week before school holidays so it was relatively quiet and relaxing. Still warm enough for a swim so that made it all the better.
Staff were terrific. Always friendly and helpful.
We booked the Hinterland view room and yes, you can see the car park but i guess there really isn't much they could have done about that. Look beyond it and the Hinterland view was pretty good. Our room was clean and tidy. The small kitchenette is functional and was perfect for the two of us.
Lovely area with friendly locals.
Overall, we were very happy and i'd rate it highly ... will definitely go back for another stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear fifthwiggle,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent stay with us at Mantra Ettalong Beach.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found or staff to be friendly and helpful as we certainly pride ourselves on our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    227
    80
    40
    42
See reviews for
121
249
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney, aus
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location. Ettalong being a very relaxed town. Accommodation was OK a little dated. Liked the mountain view room. By the looks of the pool view rooms they are all facing each other... Hardly private.

What annoyed me was the fact there was a fee for room service, this was never mentioned at booking or any T&Cs provided. Staying there for 3 nights I thought this appalling.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear lopes2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mantra Ettalong Beach.

It is pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay in Ettalong and liked the view over the mountains from your room. We would like to advise you that we are self contained apartments and therefore we do not include daily servicing in our room rates which is stated both on our website and on our Mantra confirmation letters.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

You cannot beat the penthouse apartment at the mantra, the best views, the best features, plush furniture , massive plasma tv and we watched the footy on foxtell. 3 large bedrooms , each with its own bathroom, an outdoor spa thats undercover, very modern with all the bells and whistles, a truly pleasant experience, the apartment was so big it slept 6 adults and our young children, with plenty of room to move, it worked out cheaper to share the penthouse between 3 families than to get 3 separate rooms, we absolutely loved it , we could've spent our whole weekend in the room, but the weather was too nice to be indoors. This was our first visit to Ettalong beach and We have now made this our holiday destination, thanks to the mantra,the staff were wonderful , and very professional, great place for families, the kids loved the pool, and its just such a relaxing place to be, although the place is so big, it also seems so personal, and the best part was, when you check out, you can still have access to the pool for rest of the day, we've already planed our next stay at the Mantra, it Rocks,

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Moe S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mantra Ettalong Beach. It is wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our penthouse certainly is perfect for family groups and we are very pleased to hear you absolutely loved it. We always appreciate receiving compliments on our staff and their professionalism, I will be sure to pass this on to the rest of the Mantra Ettalong Team.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We came to stay for 2 nights and was a nightmare. The room was dirty and very old and smelt dusty. There is no room service. We paid for a pool/ocean view however only saw some of the lake. It is not worth the money and would have rather stayed somewhere better. I'm very angry and disappointed and would not come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Zenagm,

It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Mantra Ettalong Beach. We will certainly pass on your comments to senior management.

Kind Regards
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have stayed at Mantra Ettalong 4 times now and we have on our request be given the same Studio Room. We come to visit family and used to stay at a motel in Gosford but after change of hands decided that there must be somewhere better and Mantra is it. A bus ride to Woy Woy catch a train and you are in Sydney as we used to stay in Sydney as well we do not have to any more giving us more time to enjoy family and around the Central Coast. Close to Terrigal, the Entrance, Avoca what more could you want. A reasonable drive to Westfield Hornsby a short drive to Erina Fair. MANTRA ETTALONG FOR ME

Room Tip: All rooms have views but try for a Hinterland that gets a bit of the water view then you see over Et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Lorraine P,

It is always wonderful to hear such positive comments especially from our return guests. We certainly try to meet our guest’s requests for preferred rooms where possible. We are very proud to be your holiday home and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked one night as a last minute stay. It was a Sunday night and we were upgraded to a larger room on the 6 th floor . Very comfortable bed, great bathroom and an excellent family stay....wish we had more time to use the spa and pool.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear India70,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mantra Ettalong Beach. We do hope you will return again soon to make use of our pool and the day spa.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My fiancé and I booked to stay at Mantra Ettalong beach for 4 nights in November 2012. We left after one nights stay, not wanting to waste out valuable holiday leave in such a dismal hotel. Our experience was extremely disappointing and I feel needs to be shared to prospective holiday goers.
The room which was reasonably pricey was small and we had a "hinterland view" (more appropriately car park view) room. We were unhappy with the layout of the room as the bedroom was in a segregated room from the lounge and television space where the air conditioning unit was, therefore we found it a very uncomfortable sleep as it was so hot and could not get any air in our bedroom. Our television was also very small and the lounge uncomfortable. The bed was the worst bed we had ever slept on and we both woke up very sore.
At 8am, after a very broken nights sleep in the rock hard bed, we awoke to the sound of a fire alarm ringing through the building and a firetruck pulling up out the front. We felt very unsafe, but could accept that sometimes these things happen. Until we got back from exploring the local area later that day (around 1pm) only to see more fire trucks out the front and when trying to return to our room there were large smoke doors blocking us off in the hallway saying "smoke doors do not enter", once again feeling anxious about our safety in this hotel. We went to the reception desk to ask if it was safe to enter our room, where we were scoffed at by the lady at reception saying "of course you can, it's just an automatic response". Other hotel goers we met in the elevator said the alarm had been going off the last few days aswell! By this stage my fiancé and I were so over the uncomfortable rooms, unfriendly, rude staff we decided to spend the rest of our annual leave at home.
I emailed the manager of Mantra Ettalong beach about our experience who did the usual automated "We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay" speil leaving me feeling like my concerns were not taken seriously . He offered 25% off future stays, and to be honest I would not return to this hotel if I was paid.

Pros: nice view from the pool.
Cons: rooms, staff, rooms not serviced daily even though it is advertised as a hotel (and you are certainly paying those prices), area very quiet and not our scene, unsecure car park, everything else.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear ashleighandkeiran,

It is disappointing to read your comments from your stay with us last November. We will certainly pass on your comments regarding the bed being hard and the older style television to the owner of the unit to encourage them to refurbish and replace these items. We note your comments regarding the fire alarm being activated during your stay and assure you that we have fully compliant fire safety procedures and highly trained staff to ensure our guests are safe at all times.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Ettalong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Ettalong Beach

Address: 53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ettalong Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ettalong Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Ettalong Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful beachside town of Ettalong, Mantra Ettalong Beach offers spectacular ocean views just 90 minutes north of Sydney on the Central Coast. Combining superbly appointed unserviced beachfront accommodation with an exciting array of leisure and entertainment facilities the resort is the perfect destination for family getaways, romantic retreats or business stays. There's a range of studio, one and two bedroom unserviced spa suites, offering magnificent pool, ocean and hinterland views. All suites are fully furnished with kitchenettes, laundry facilities, air conditioning, balconies, cable TV, CD player and stereo system, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and spa baths. Guests can enjoy the outdoor pool and spa, a variety of dining establishments within walking distance, an entertainment venue which is located adjacent to the hotel. The on-site day spa is located on level 1, Mantra Ettalong Beach we offer clients total relaxation and a real fitness environment to get that full work out experience. If you're here to relax and unwind, energise and work hard, on your own or with a group, you can get some pre and post wedding pampering. No matter how you arrive you will always leave with a deep inner calm. Just a short drive away is the Hunter Valley, one of Australia's most fertile wine-producing regions. Terrigal, Erina and Gosford CBD are just a 25 minute drive away offering an array of cafes, shopping and attractions. Brisbane Water National Park, the Australia Reptile Park, Glenworth Valley horse riding and Outdoor Adventure Centre are conveniently located within a short drive and are popular local attractions. With its pristine water views, and relaxing environment, Mantra Ettalong Beach offers the perfect seaside escape for family getaways, romantic interludes or the business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Ettalong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Ettalong Beach Hotel Ettalong Beach
Outrigger Ettalong
Mantra Ettalong Beach Woy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Ettalong Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.