We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but expensive.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Ettalong Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Ettalong Beach to your Saves list
Mantra Ettalong Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ettalong Beach
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location is simply stunning with beautiful views over the inlet looking all the way back to Palm Beach. Rooms are well appointed, modern, clean & include a small kitchen, washing machine & dryer. We had a 2 bedroom unit with a massive balcony with water & pool views. While the hotel is expensive it is worth paying for the premium rooms with views as other rooms look over the car park. Disappointingly our huge balcony contained 2 small tables & 4 plastic chairs. The rooms are not serviced daily (you can request it for an extra charge) but at $350 per night for our room, I would have expected that should have included daily servicing. The hotel is built over the Ettalong Services Club with undercover parking. We had difficulty finding the hotel front door which is a small entrance to the right of the club entrance - quite unremarkable for a resort of this size! The club has a bistro where snacks and meals are available all day, but we found a plethura of lovely little cafes & restaurants within easy walking distance. Less than half a block away is a small supermarket & bottle shop. As with most large hotels in Australia, in room internet connection is expensive but WiFi is available in some of the little cafes across the road. On a more positive note, the staff at reception were fantastic - very welcoming and helpful. This is such a beautiful area to rest and relax it is no surprise that so many elderly people choose to retire on the Central Coast.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Middydee,

Thank you for your recent review of Mantra Ettalong Beach.

It is wonderful to hear that you found our staff at reception to be fantastic, welcoming and helpful as we certainly pride ourselves on customer service. As we are a non serviced hotel our rates do not include daily servicing however the housekeeping team are happy to do this for you at a small charge. We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    198
    66
    35
    37
See reviews for
102
213
13
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Enormous resort on a tranquil inlet setting. Other surf beaches closeby if you have the time and the inclination to draw yourself away from the local setting. Ferry to palm beach is available to link up to Sydney and worth the trip. Great to relax by the pool in the hotel for the kids while soaking up the rays. Rooms were spacious and well appointed with kitchenette and balcony.

Room Tip: views to the hinterland from the west facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Ioana A,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We certainly do have a tranquil part of the world here in Ettalong Beach. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and that you found the rooms to be well appointed. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Ettalong Beach in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Front desk staff were very nice & professional. Room clean & tidy. Nice size balcony and view over lovely tropical looking pool area. Spa in room was a great feature as rarely hotels have corner spa's in their rooms now. The only downside was the bed was uncomfortable, very soft and sagged in the middle like laying on a fold out sofa. The RSL club underneath had a great looking menu, but the food didn't live up to it. We tried a few things and all the dishes were horrible.
The mantra ettalong looks out of place in this sleepy town,
there's nothing much to do, but it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear earthwindwater,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mantra Ettalong Beach.
It is excellent to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found out staff to be very nice and professional. Your comments regarding the bed being uncomfortable will be passed onto the owner of the unit to encourage them to replace the mattress.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spent 3 days here back in May 2012, bit of a late review! We held a business conference over 3 days and were fed, catered for and accommodated in a very comfortable manner. Great location, with nice views and great places for walks.

Rooms are spacious and modern.

Room Tip: A room with a view over the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1211, Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear CDATFamily_4

Thank you for your positive review of your stay. We do hope that you will return in the future to again experience what Mantra Ettalong has to offer.

With Thanks

Manta Ettalong Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

hotel well positioned close to shops and bay. rooms ok but not to the standard of others in the chain. you need a car if you want to visit the pretty beaches in the area. this is how we spent our
time.

Room Tip: if you have children poolside is a must. however it can be very noisy , if your exploring the area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1211, Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Sue W

We appreciate your time in reviewing the property after your recent stay. Whilst you were happy with your stay we note your concerns with the standard of the room.

Look forward to having you return during 2013 and again thanks for the review

Kind Regards

Mantra Ettalong Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bar, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Recently stayed 3 nights at Mantra Ettalong Beach and found the resort perfect for a quiet weekend away. Firstly reception was friendly and efficient and check in only took a couple of minutes. We got a good deal booking a "mates rates" special and wasn't expecting to get the best of rooms. Upon entering our room (711) we were pleasantly surprised, although we only had a hinterland view we found being on the 7 th floor was great. Staying on a Friday and Saturday night we were concerned the noise from the club underneath and rear car park might keep us awake. In fact we didn't hear any noise the whole time we were there.
The room itself was great, seperate lounge, modern appliances, good bed and spa in bathroom. With the exception of a couple of stains on the carpet the room was clean and tidy with a large balcony to enjoy breakfast.
The resort itself has a good size pool and spa and we had no problem getting a lounge chair when required. Every time we walked past reception staff always said good morning and how are you today, very welcoming.
Be aware Ettalong is a quiet location, the beach across the road is not a surf beach. Umina Beach is a 3 minute drive away. There is a small selection of restaurants around Ettalong, try the Thai restaurant behind the resort it was awesome and BYO. We went to the local markets and tried some of the local produce and the drive out to Patonga for lunch on the water was perfect. The club underneath is a good location for a meal, we had breakfast and dinner there on one day and found it quite good.
Do your research on what you want, we went for a drive over to Terrigal (25 mins) and it is also spectacular but the crowds around town and the resorts were overbearing. Erina Fair Shopping Centre isn't far away from Ettalong or Terrigal. So if you get poor weather you can always try some retail therapy.
Summing up I wouldn't hesitate going back to Mantra Ettalong for a quiet weekend away.

Room Tip: Go for the highest floor possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager1211, Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear KevMels
It is pleasing to read that you not only enjoyed what the Mantra Ettalong had to offer but the surrounding areas of Ettalong. Your comments regarding the friendliness of staff will be passed on to the team who work hard to ensure that guest satisfaction is achieved. We are disappointed to read that the carpet was stained which appears to have been inadvertently over looked by our housekeeping staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back during the year and again thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

Mantra Ettalong Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband bought me a long weekend deal for Christmas to stay in February. We had a deluxe studio apartment on the second floor.
The room was very nice with a separate lounge area to the bed which is always our preffered option.
We did not use the kitchenette for any cooking and the bathroom was spacious & clean, although for a three night stay we only received one tiny bar of soap - extra was not problem when we asked. We were looking forward to using the balcony for reading & sunning but the pool area was so noisy we did not use it at all! I found this disappointing as the rooms looked straight into other rooms across the pool.
The pool area was out of bounds between 9pm and 7am. This was not strictly enforced so there were still people yelling and laughing after 9pm - this did not bother us so much as it was not late but at 7.01am very morning I was woken to the sounds of kids screaming and yelling! NOT very romantic or PEACEFUL. The block out curtains did not close fully so we also got sunlight streaming in VERY early.

I completely understand that families were staying too and the pool was very popular but 7am is ridiculous in a holiday environment!!!!
We were also involved in a fire alarm incident - thankfully a false alarm as the staff had no idea how to organise or advise patrons - still allowing use of the lifts and the loud speakers were muffled and unintelligible! OHS is obviously not a focus or a regular training item for this company!
Very disappointing and not somewhere I would re-visit.

Room Tip: If you want peace, make sure you are nowhere on the pool sideof the building or on floors 1 through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear KABSydney222,

We welcome your comments regarding your recent stay. Whilst you have made some positive comments regarding the room it is disappointing to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. As we cater to a wide variety of guests ranging from business travellers to young families we provide access to the pool between 7am & 9pm allowing our diverse mixture of guests to use the resort facilities to its full potential.

Please be assured that OH&S is a very strong focal point of Mantra and all staff at Mantra Ettalong complete frequent fire and evacuation training sessions above the legal requirements. As you have pointed out this incident was a false alarm and therefore the staff were able to determine the cause of the alarm in a timely manner and were not required to evacuate the building and use of the lifts did not need to be interrupted. We note your comments regarding the speaker systems being muffled and will certainly pass this onto management to rectify the issue.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra Ettalong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Ettalong Beach

Address: 53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ettalong Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ettalong Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Ettalong Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful beachside town of Ettalong, Mantra Ettalong Beach offers spectacular ocean views just 90 minutes north of Sydney on the Central Coast. Combining superbly appointed unserviced beachfront accommodation with an exciting array of leisure and entertainment facilities the resort is the perfect destination for family getaways, romantic retreats or business stays. There's a range of studio, one and two bedroom unserviced spa suites, offering magnificent pool, ocean and hinterland views. All suites are fully furnished with kitchenettes, laundry facilities, air conditioning, balconies, cable TV, CD player and stereo system, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities and spa baths. Guests can enjoy the outdoor pool and spa, a variety of dining establishments within walking distance, an entertainment venue which is located adjacent to the hotel. The on-site day spa is located on level 1, Mantra Ettalong Beach we offer clients total relaxation and a real fitness environment to get that full work out experience. If you're here to relax and unwind, energise and work hard, on your own or with a group, you can get some pre and post wedding pampering. No matter how you arrive you will always leave with a deep inner calm. Just a short drive away is the Hunter Valley, one of Australia's most fertile wine-producing regions. Terrigal, Erina and Gosford CBD are just a 25 minute drive away offering an array of cafes, shopping and attractions. Brisbane Water National Park, the Australia Reptile Park, Glenworth Valley horse riding and Outdoor Adventure Centre are conveniently located within a short drive and are popular local attractions. With its pristine water views, and relaxing environment, Mantra Ettalong Beach offers the perfect seaside escape for family getaways, romantic interludes or the business traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mantra Ettalong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Ettalong Beach Hotel Ettalong Beach
Outrigger Ettalong
Mantra Ettalong Beach Woy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Ettalong Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.