We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Ettalong Beach

Save Saved
You added Mantra Ettalong Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Ettalong Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ettalong Beach
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“VERY average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband bought me a long weekend deal for Christmas to stay in February. We had a deluxe studio apartment on the second floor.
The room was very nice with a separate lounge area to the bed which is always our preffered option.
We did not use the kitchenette for any cooking and the bathroom was spacious & clean, although for a three night stay we only received one tiny bar of soap - extra was not problem when we asked. We were looking forward to using the balcony for reading & sunning but the pool area was so noisy we did not use it at all! I found this disappointing as the rooms looked straight into other rooms across the pool.
The pool area was out of bounds between 9pm and 7am. This was not strictly enforced so there were still people yelling and laughing after 9pm - this did not bother us so much as it was not late but at 7.01am very morning I was woken to the sounds of kids screaming and yelling! NOT very romantic or PEACEFUL. The block out curtains did not close fully so we also got sunlight streaming in VERY early.

I completely understand that families were staying too and the pool was very popular but 7am is ridiculous in a holiday environment!!!!
We were also involved in a fire alarm incident - thankfully a false alarm as the staff had no idea how to organise or advise patrons - still allowing use of the lifts and the loud speakers were muffled and unintelligible! OHS is obviously not a focus or a regular training item for this company!
Very disappointing and not somewhere I would re-visit.

Room Tip: If you want peace, make sure you are nowhere on the pool sideof the building or on floors 1 through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear KABSydney222,

We welcome your comments regarding your recent stay. Whilst you have made some positive comments regarding the room it is disappointing to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. As we cater to a wide variety of guests ranging from business travellers to young families we provide access to the pool between 7am & 9pm allowing our diverse mixture of guests to use the resort facilities to its full potential.

Please be assured that OH&S is a very strong focal point of Mantra and all staff at Mantra Ettalong complete frequent fire and evacuation training sessions above the legal requirements. As you have pointed out this incident was a false alarm and therefore the staff were able to determine the cause of the alarm in a timely manner and were not required to evacuate the building and use of the lifts did not need to be interrupted. We note your comments regarding the speaker systems being muffled and will certainly pass this onto management to rectify the issue.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    172
    57
    30
    33
See reviews for
92
190
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was taught early on that you don't notice good graphic design. If it does its job properly, it just is! My stay was similar, nothing disappointed me, it was just relaxing! great location, quiet area, nice beach and friendly staff all made it a great experience.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach! or pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Bookerbay2010

It is Wonderful to receive such a positive review! We are constantly striving to offer our guests a comfortable relaxing stay accompanied with great customer service and it is very pleasing to read that we have achieved this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra Ettalong Beach in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangrove Mountain NSW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the two nights we spent at the Mantra, Ettalong Beach. We had a beautiful view over the water, a large balcony, a comfortable king sized bed, a well-equipped kitchen, and the whole unit was neat and clean. The staff were courteous and friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. They don't have a dining room there, but there is an RSL Club in the complex, and its entrance is just a few metres away from the entrance to the Mantra. The meals there are of good quality, of generous proportions, and inexpensive. Although there is plenty to do in the area, including a lovely half-hour boat trip to Palm Beach, we can wholeheartedly recommend the Mantra to anyone who just wants a few quiet days away from the hustle bustle of the city.

Room Tip: Get a unit with the water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Brian T,

Thank you so much for your great review of Mantra Ettalong Beach.

It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is great that you found the units to be well appointed and our staff to be courteous and friendly as here at Mantra we pride ourselves on our excellent customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We booked at ettalong for $156 for the
Night.
We booked a 'hinterland view room'
We checked in all ok- parking easy.
Room was one of those annoying rooms where you go in a door, and then There are two more doors... This was a nightmare as we had kids in the conjoinjng room and they were very noises early in morning.
View was very very average- we were over a pool? Or aircon for club!? Quite noisy.
On a plus/ the spa was super clean, though small.
Rooms lacked the finer details but were generally ok.
Toaster, kettle, small stove, microwave, washer and dryer.
Bug warnings everywhere about the fire alarm- and upon going to check out- someone had let it off- which meant there was a long wait for lifts and someone must have copped the 852.50 (or something) fee.
We ate at club next door- food pretty good- menu prices around 20 a main, drinks start @3.50.
Nice relaxed club.
Ettalong didn't really excite us much-
Not as spectacular as expected and pretty dead...
A big let down was the TINY CRT tv. It was terrible!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Treska-n-Dave,

We appreciate your comments after your recent stay with us at Mantra Ettalong Beach. We will certainly take these onboard as we are continually striving to improve on our service and standards. Your comment regarding the television being a letdown will be passed on to the owner of the unit to encourage them to refurbish the unit.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Mantra Ettalong Beach is clean, modern and relaxing. We stayed overnight to attend a wedding nearby and really enjoyed it. The receptionist on check in wasn't very friendly or welcoming but everyone else we encountered was. Our room was excellent. The hotel is exceptionally clean. A few extra bath towels would have been handy.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear bbsydney96,

Thank you for your review of Mantra Ettalong Beach
It is great to hear that you really enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you found our facilities and your room to be exceptionally clean. We will investigate the team member that checked you in so we can continue to pride ourselves on our customer service. We look forward to welcoming back to Ettalong in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Good location, poor service, poor value. But the rooms are in need of a facelift.. Walls of room are dull and dreary and carpet is worn...Ettalong itself seems to be a ghost town...Better to stay at Umina Beach or Terrigal..

Guys close it or fix it !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Nick K,

It’s disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Mantra Ettalong Beach. As we are strata titled property we will pass on your comments about the unit needing a facelift to the owners for their consideration.

Kind Regards
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing trip for us and in our view an overpriced hotel. However in saying that there is no other option anywhere nearby. The rooms which are adjoining have minimal noise privacy and if you are both on the balcony at the same time you will here everything! If your neighbour smokes and you don't bad luck you will think you soon do!

The beach is not really a beach and we can only blame ourselves for not properly researching the area before booking assuming 300 per night might get you a really nice hotel in the gosford area. The hotel was full and the rooms look into the pool and all the other balconies and rooms. The rooms are ok but for 300 a night drive a little further stay at terrigle or go back to Sydney or Newcastle.

Note we wanted to check out an hour later and were not pleased but had no choice but to pay $20 per room ( we had another room for other family).

Now the other room was a 2 bedroom facing the hinterland aka the car park and was very very disappointing.

Had we checked tripadvisor first we would not have stayed here!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM2257, Guest Relations Manager at Mantra Ettalong Beach, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear NTtravels,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Mantra Ettalong Beach.

It is very disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us particularly the noise and smokers on the adjoining balconies. Your feedback is very important to us as it allows us to improve on our operations.

Kind Regards,
Mantra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra Ettalong Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Ettalong Beach

Address: 53-54 The Esplanade, Ettalong Beach, New South Wales 2257, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Beach Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Ettalong Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Ettalong Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Ettalong Beach 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Ettalong Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Ettalong Beach Hotel Ettalong Beach
Outrigger Ettalong
Mantra Ettalong Beach Woy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra Ettalong Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.