We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Upmarket As Name Suggests” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Shores Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Adelaide Shores Resort to your Saves list
Adelaide Shores Resort
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Military Rd, West Beach, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5024, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
victoria
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Not As Upmarket As Name Suggests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in July but were not overly impressed. Check in staff were very efficient and helpful, no faults there. The cabin was huge - two bedroomed, one with two singles, one with a queen. The beds were very hard, but otherwise the rooms were well appointed. The bathroom was massive, suitable for wheelchairs so the shower was set up for the disabled. (My husband can't do stairs so we had the disabled cabin which has a slope instead of stairs. Others have 3 or 4 steps). The lounge suite was quite comfortable. The carpet wasn't great, a bit stained and moth eaten down the join. It was equipped for 4 people, so it was a small table, which is absolutely fine but the room is massive and looked unfurnished. The kitchen is very well equipped, everything clean. There is a large deck with barbecue and a massive table. The noise from planes isn't really too intrusive though planes do start at 6am, but surely if you book somewhere close to an airport, it really isn't fair to complain about plane noise! The cabins are on stumps, as frankly are most cabins everywhere, and there will be a certain amount of vibration when people walk about - these are after all holiday cabins, not solid brick homes. The location is close to the beach and the boardwalk to Glenelg, but don't expect a sea view as the resort is behind the sand dunes. Where these cabins fall down is in the lack of privacy which is so bad as to be unacceptable. They are close together (no closer than most other parks) and have massive windows but there are no nets or vertical blinds, they are all roller blinds. That means that due to the large number of windows, if the blinds are up then you may as well be living in a shop window. The same applies to the huge patio doors - they are great, but the really bad thing is that in the evenings with the doors open and the light on there is absolutely no privacy whatsoever. It's really not acceptable. Beware the in-cabin information suggesting that the restaurant at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park is open from 7.30 for breakfast - it's not, and it's a 1km walk. That's ok, but not when there is a long queue outside and it's raining with nowhere to shelter. The golf club over the road is not open for evening meals, or early breakfast. The best bet for evening meals is the sailing club which is easy walking distance along the beach or the boardwalk, but beware the quality and service. Most people will end up needing transport of some kind to get to a decent restaurant. We won't stay here again, just happier with the smaller cabins in Adelaide Shores Big 4, with its restaurant on site for basic food.

Room Tip: This was a 2 bedroom bungalow, do not choose a villa unless you can walk up 15 or more stairs to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
30
3
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the spa bungalow, it was very spacious and had everything you needed for cooking plus a coffee machine was a great bonus. Has a bbq and table and chairs on the front deck beautiful to sit out and eat breakfast. Spa was a great size and bathroom itself was very big and roomy. The room had a PS3 which was great only you had to pay extra $6.50 per night per game. Was a little annoyed at the fact we hired a game that didn't work and was still charged for it even after explaining it didnt work. The resort has a board walk that goes straight onto the beach. Very close to glenelg and there is a putt putt golf next door to the resort. I very much enjoyed the room and the service was fantasic until i was charged for a game that didn't work and she did not seem to care. The spa bungalow itself i can not fault loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I took my two children for four nights in the July school holidays. Although we possibly had the worst weather possible, we made the most of our time there with spending quality time together. The bungalow we were in had a play station & we got extra handsets from reception so the three of us could all play together. They have a large supply of rental games. I had packed a lot of board games, so this also provided many hours of fun & belly laughs! Inbetween the hail & rain the children still managed to get out to ride their bikes & play on the jumping pillow. I was grateful for the well appointed laundry as we did need the dryer a few times with the soggy clothes.
There is aeroplane noise but being on holidays this didn't bother us, the boys loved looking at them.
The staff are extremely friendly & helpful.
I find it a little on the expensive side but this is our second stay & my children still tell me how much they love staying there.
Overall, a great 4 days of bonding time with mum & boys, we all went home feeling relaxed & happy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I took my 91 year old mother here for a birthday weekend. We stayed in a three bedroom villa which faced Military Road (towards the airport). There was a huge grassed area in front of the unit and the area was very private.
Others have complained about the airport noise, but we didn't find it a problem. The noise was muffled in our unit first thing and later in the day the planes switched to landing and taking off from west to east.
Location is excellent within a few minutes drive to the beach and shops at Glenelg or the outlets at Harbour Town. A great coastal walk is just outside the fence as is a lovely beach.
We were very pleased with our unit. We had 3 bedrooms (two x two singles and a king), two toilets, bathroom with walk-in shower, kitchen with gas cooktop and electric oven, microwave and a dishwasher. The lounge/diner/kitchen was huge.
We had a few maintenance issues which were handled promptly once we reported them.
Other reviewers have complained about availability of shops, but the office has a mini shop which is very well stocked with basics including beer and wine.
A few cons:
We didn't have a room compendium. We reported this to reception, but they didn't offer us a replacement. The maintenance man who came to replace a blown bulb in a light gave us one from the unit next door, but it didn't have instructions for any of the appliances (although it kept referring to the instructions). We managed to work out most of the appliances, but the DVD and pay TV defeated us! Note to reception - keep spare compendiums in the office and make sure they are up-to-date!
Free wifi is great, but you only get 30 minutes a day and once the clock starts ticking that it is! I think free 30 minutes is good, but I would like to use my 30 minutes over a 24 hour period so I can quickly check email, etc then come back again a few hours later.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
263 reviews 263 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at the Resort for work for a couple of nights. first impressions were good. spacious and comfortable lounge area, close to the beach, pleasant grounds and ok facilities in the villa. The one thing that i really didn't like was the hard bed. I woke up feeling like I'd slept on boards. Another point that would prevent me from staying again is the proximity to shops... fine if you have a car but not so good if you rely on public transport. That said, there is a bus stop next to the entrance and they come by every half hour. At this time of year you can pick up much better deals in Adelaide. Oh and just remember not to set your alarm because the planes taking off at 6am will surely wake you up!

Room Tip: If the wind blows from the south beware of the smell from the nearby sewage treatment plant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed in a villa in the middle of the property, we arrived late afternoon and the room smelled strongly of cigarette smoke (although smoking is strictly not allowed). The general cleanliness of the villa was not great (lots of dust on window sills and the carpet in the lounge area was very dirty looking and covered with stains). The kitchen was poorly stocked with cooking equipment and I noticed there were quite a few utensils in the draws that were rusty. Overall it looked to be a bit run down and overpriced for the quality of accommodation. We complained about the smoke smell the following morning and someone from housekeeping offered to spray the room with air freshener (not sure how much this would help really), then they said they would put an air purifier in the room while we were out, however later that afternoon when we came back to the room for the night, I could still smell the smoke as it was in the furniture/blinds.
Long story short after going back to the office a third time to complain, I was given a refund for the remaining days of our booking and we promptly checked out.
The service of the staff was great, and they were all very helpful in trying to get the smell out, and they were apologetic for the situation, as the smell should not have been there in the first place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malanda
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Really comfortable and clean, spacious cabins. Beautiful location and convenient to all Adelaide has to offer. A little more customer service like offering extra towels for those who are there for swimming competitions would rate them as Highly as some resorts in Queensland who would.
Beds are super hard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelaide Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Shores Resort

Address: Military Rd, West Beach, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5024, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Charles Sturt > West Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in West Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adelaide Shores Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide Shores Resort is ideal for an indulgent short break, for business travelers seeking space and privacy, or for families or groups wanting a base for an active holiday. Set in spacious grounds on the beach front, the Resort provides 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained accommodation, with the option to treat yourself with an upgrade to a spa bungalow. The location is close to the attractions and activities in neighboring Glenelg, and adjacent to an extensive public golf park, and a boat launch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Adelaide Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Shores Resort West Beach, Australia - South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Shores Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.