We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Shores Caravan Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Adelaide Shores Caravan Park to your Saves list
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Military Road, West Beach, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5024, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Clare, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Its great to be able to walk down to the beach, and to local shops. This place has a great atmosphere with so many people there, there was also events each day within the park such as a van selling strawberries and ice cream, they also have a shop.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    51
    26
    7
    16
See reviews for
57
35
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have been staying at the Adelaide Shores CP over many years and have witnessed many physical changes over that time. This year we see the new 'SplashZone' area which is truly an amazing plus for the youngsters who delight in cooling themselves under the huge amount of cascading water. However, my biggest concern throughout the years has been the amount of traffic throughout the Park during the Summer holiday period. A few years back, we saw a complete ban on any form of bikes, scooters, skate boards, then came a more softened approach with the registering of bikes etc together with the increased policing of this. Over the past few years all kinds of scooters, drift bikes, stik boards have taken to the roads to the point that this year we see small youngsters 'hooning' around on motorised scooters at incredible speeds all over the park. It has almost got out of control and is an accident waiting to happen. Youngsters less than 10 don't have the road sense required to race these highly propelled monsters around the Park. So what do we do? Sit back and wait for someone to be seriously injured? Where is the draconian security that once used to be here? Oh I forgot, they are too busy checking incoming people to see whether they have the right colored ban on their wrist etc. When my friends have to pay $5 to come and visit me and eat my BBQ then its time to say something! Come on, police the things that need policing, put safety of our children as a priority, and ban these 'gas guzzling noisy monsters' that terrorise the Park!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and provide us feedback. We share your concern for the safety of our guests and take it very seriously. We have been working on a solution to balance safety with the fun, relaxed atmosphere our guests enjoy. We don’t want to over-police our guests’ experience but also want everyone to be safe.

We are very grateful to receive your feedback and would love to discuss it further with you. Should you wish to do so, please phone our Customer Service Manager on 8355 7320.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here for last 20 years in a cabin always had great time,facilities perfect,clean great family environment. Close to glenelg and other shopping centres. Or just the place to kick back have a BBQ, a beer and a hit of cricket. Read a book or just do nothing

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience Jaw66. It is lovely to hear that you continue to enjoy your stay with us, are able to enjoy the facilities and, most importantly, find time to relax. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience - thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in our caravan on a powered site. We loved being able to walk only metres to the beach and also walk or cycle along a paved walkway to Glenelg or Henley Beach. Facilities for BBQs, swimming pools, jumping pillow, garden chess and other play equipment are well maintained. Bathroom and laundry facilities are clean and attractive.
The park has a wonderful safe family atmosphere.
Security around Christmas and New Year is very obvious...though this makes having a few visitors more complicated than it needs to be.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience Robyw535 – it is much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to use many of the Park’s facilities. The coastal path to Glenelg and Henley Beach is a beautiful walk/ride – glad you were able to enjoy it too. It sounds like you have some ideas for us to improve your experience over the Christmas and New Year period – we’d love to hear them. If you wouldn’t mind sharing them, please call the Marketing Coordinator on 8355 7320 or email caravan.park@adelaideshores.com.au.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We're staying at the Adelaide shores caravan park while I write this review. The bathrooms are great, offering more than enough showers toilets that you don't need to wait in line even during busy times. The pool is no where big enough for he amount of people in the park. But the water splash zone makes up for it's down fall giving the kids endless time of entertainment. The sites are very reasonable in size, some bigger than others. (We got a bigger site than our friends). However I find the reception is disorganised, having people moving sites during their stay become sites have been double booked. We booked in April with friends and we're not able to be put directly next to each other even though I had called a number of times to see if vacancies had come up, yet our neighbours and their four children) booked in August and got 5 sites next to each other.
Our friends enquires about having a visitor on our 8th day and they said we should have received an information pack upon arrival, which neither of us received when we checked in a week ago.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience – thank you! Glad to hear that the new Splash Zone, combined with the pool and beach, gave the kids plenty of water time. It is disappointing to hear that you feel Reception has been disorganised this year but appreciate the opportunity to share it with our management team. Your experience is certainly not a reflection of the standard of service we pride ourselves on providing our guests.

We would love to discuss your feedback with you further. Should you wish to do so, please phone our Customer Service Manager on 8355 7320.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallaroo, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Awesome place to stay. Very family friendly. Close to the beach, golf course. Enough to do in the park without actually going anywhere! We stayed in the Budget Cabin, which has its own toilet & shower just outside of the cabin. Very small and a bit run down, but being budget we didn't expect anything better. It was a bit too small for our stay with 2 kids and 4 adults, but would be fine for 2 adults and 2 kids. They have a kiddy pool as well as a larger pool, and also a jumping pillow so kids were well entertained. They were able to ride their bikes around the park without fear of being hit by a car. TIP: if you want to hire bikes for your stay, dont hire the caravan park ones, you can hire FREE ones from the West Beach Surf Life Saving Club, just a short walk up the esplanade. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and tips for other travellers. It’s fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will be back; the new Norfolk Cabins might suit your family, they just opened and are more spacious. Once again, we really appreciate you taking the time to share you experience. It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We chose a double block for our stay with 8 people (cheaper than 2 sites). Heaps of room for 2 large tents, shade tent, car, trailer and still some spare grass. The big down side was the traffic noise from the main road directly along side these sites. It was so loud at night it almost felt like we were camped on the road. Being a weekend the traffic noise continued well into the early hours of the night before starting up again around 6 in the morn this time along with the morning cyclist that all have to yell to communicate while riding past. A consideration for park management would be an improved fence or wall more capable of absorbing some of the noise but I can't see this happening so my advice is go for the 2 block option away from the main road (if you have 7 or more people). Everything else was great and the kids had a ball, hire carts were one of the highlights for the kids, highly recommend for interstate travelers who want to be close to city however peak season gets a bit chaotic.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide_Shores_SA, General Manager at Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and tips for other travellers looking to camp with us. Great tip about the inner sites for tenting; it would also mean the kids are closer to the play equipment. Once again, we really appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelaide Shores Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Shores Caravan Park

Address: Military Road, West Beach, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5024, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Charles Sturt > West Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in West Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide Shores Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park offers great value accommodation for families or retirees in a vibrant, community atmosphere. Choose from a wide range of camping and caravan sites and cabin accommodation, set amongst great facilities including BBQs, heated swimming pools, Splash Zone, a Games Room, and kids play equipment. This beach front property is rated by AAA Tourism and is a regular winner of the South Australian Tourism Award for Tourist & Caravan Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Adelaide Shores Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park West Beach, Australia - South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.