We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud noisy people, with no security” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Adelaide Shores Caravan Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Adelaide Shores Caravan Park to your Saves list
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Military Road, West Beach, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5024, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Loud noisy people, with no security”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We decided to come here for a relaxing 4 day break & had never stayed here & had heard great things. I was wrong.....not even school holidays or Christmas & this place was screaming with dozens & dozens of kids who were unruly, screaming, disrespectful & parents who let them run wild till midnight on the first night. Supposedly there is a 10pm curfew with security NOTHING!!! I spoke to front desk the next morning who assured me she would get the manager to call me & that security would be there. I was not the only person to complain either. Never heard from the manager & the 2nd night someone had a christmas party with music blaring till after 11....no security. I have my kids here who are 9 & 6 so I know what kids are like but what was meant to be relaxing didn't & I would not come back here in a hurry..poor, poor form!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    66
    31
    12
    19
See reviews for
71
42
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We returned to stay in one of the best Caravan Parks in Australia.
The Rivergum cabin was very spacious and well furnished.
A short walk to spectacular West Beach and Glenelg.
So many things for kids and families to do in the immaculate park.
Neptunes Cafe was handy and the meals large and tasty.
We will return to Adelaide Shores when next in South Australia.

Room Tip: Many choices of cabins but closer to the beach the better. Less sand dunes at Northern end of the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here twice now, both times the next morning we were flying out so the location close to the airport is great!
Both times we stayed here both times in the sea spray cabins.
The beds are terrible! They are so hard the pillows are so high! The next time we stayed we took our own pillows but they made no difference!
There were slot of hair in the bathroom so the cleanliness was very poor.
The jumping pillow & pools are great although I think they need to put another pool in closer to the sea spray cabins as its a fair walk to the 2 pools.
The restaurant is fantastic!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

After booking and paying a deposit for 2 x premium ensuite sites in February and several phone calls prior to arrival in September to ensure we had 2 sites together, on arrival we were told that one party had a premium ensuite site the other one row back and not a premium site, a computer error was blamed for this, the receptionist was most unapologetic and could not have cared less, we were not just staying overnight we were staying for 2 weeks. Apart from the very poor booking control the park is great, location is fantastic, the park restaurant has great meals and well priced. The Ensuite facilities are looking a little tired. Let's hope Adelaide Shores can solve there Computor "problems" in the future!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Loved every minute of our week long stay. From the laundry to the playground every thing was clean, neat and tidy. We will be coming back for sure and staying longer. The size of the park is huge and the many different types of accommodation would suite anybody.
Loved it

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

stayed here as a group as part of a large sporting organisation.
first time to adelaide.
great location.
clean.
great facilities.
kids would love it here.
id have no hesitaion returning with my family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My family and I have just returned from a weekend at Adelaide Shores. Check in was a breeze, and as we arrived by taxi we were taken to our 'Tourist Cabin' on the parks golf buggy. We stayed in one of the Dune Cabins and it was good, clean, three bunks, 1 double and a fold out double couch if required, All linen including towels was included in our $134p/n rate. Could maybe have done with more than 1 spare pillow, but not really a big issue.
It also had a full ensuite and kitchen which had all the basic items required. There was complimentary coffee/tea/sugar and a small long life milk in the fridge. We were there for a family wedding so several members of the family stayed in a variety of different sites. I understand one family member requested standard cabin (no ensuite/toilet) be near a toilet block as they were travelling with 5 small children who would need several trips to and from the toilet during the night. They got their request, unfortunately the toilet/shower block was closed for repairs :/ So there are still a couple of things that the park's management could improve on.
The situation of the park is second to none, right on the beach (although because of the gale force winds there was a lot of erosion on the beach and it had been closed).
As we didnt' stay long we can't give a comprehensive review of the cafe or shop, but there was plenty for the kids to do.
It is a fair distance from the nearest local supermarket, shopping strip, certainly not walkable with a load of groceries, but do-able if you have a vehicle to get around in.

It's also pretty much directly under the flight path of Adelaide Airport, so expect some noise from about 6am in the morning to late (got to admit tho, after the first few I didn't notice the noice so much).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adelaide Shores Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelaide Shores Caravan Park

Address: Military Road, West Beach, Charles Sturt, South Australia 5024, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Charles Sturt > West Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in West Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adelaide Shores Caravan Park 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park offers great value accommodation for families or retirees in a vibrant, community atmosphere. Choose from a wide range of camping and caravan sites and cabin accommodation, set amongst great facilities including BBQs, heated swimming pools, Splash Zone, a Games Room, and kids play equipment. This beach front property is rated by AAA Tourism and is a regular winner of the South Australian Tourism Award for Tourist & Caravan Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Adelaide Shores Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelaide Shores Caravan Park West Beach, Australia - South Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelaide Shores Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.