We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape the family for peace and quiet recharging” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   59 Kitchener St, Trigg, Stirling, Western Australia 6029, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special
Ranked #1 of 2 Trigg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Escape the family for peace and quiet recharging”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I loved this place. I needed a place to stay in Perth and there was no room at my sister's place, and I wanted somewhere quiet and peaceful, especially at night. Most of the places around the city and the big hotels are too noisy and impersonal for me. Trigg Retreat was perfect.

The room itself was much nicer than home and provided amenities better than I expected. The bed was firm and even, all linen was spotless, and they were more than generous with the towels and facewashers - I could leave the ones I brought from home in my bag. There was a huge walk in closet, with a fridge and coffee making facilites as well as a shared lounge room with more coffee making facilities and a small supply of munchies.

Sue managed to sort out every problem including my much later than planned arrival (roadworks on the main road is my excuse). And anything I wanted, all I needed to do was ask. I also liked her recommendations for local cafes and places to visit.

I had my favourite breakfast every morning - I'm a sucker for croissants and honey and fresh coffee. Don't get that at home either. Not to mention the beautiful indoor-outdoor eating area.

Best of all it was a quiet escape from the family wedding stresses. And I could come back any time I wanted for a nanna nap and freshen up - though I did make sure I let Sue know when I thought I would want to do that so she could time the room cleaning to suit.

And waking up on Sydney time, I had a lovely walk in the early morning along the esplanades above Trigg Beach and if I'd been a bit keener, we were an easy walk to Mettams pool, a popular and sheltered swimming spot. And not far from the surf beaches. Our host Sue can provide facilities for washing and storing your surf board too.

I had lunch at nearby Soda Cafe, which was delicious. Not sure they understand the value of local produce to a visitor, with ingredients like Gold Coast (QLD) Prawns on the menu.

All the places I needed to go were easy to access by car from Trigg Retreat, including the car hire (Bayswater), Floreat Beach, Subiaco and Cottesloe. Trigg Retreat also had room for off street parking.

At Trigg Retreat the bedrooms are upstairs, and the shower in the room I was in, has quite a big step in, so you need to be able to step up comfortably to stay here.

I'd love to stay here next time I visit Perth, even if there is room at my sister's.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
49
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

The room was lovley furnished and of comfortable size. All was clean and neat. The furniture looked brand new. The flat screen was very modern. The room had lots of power plugs for loading mobiles, cameras etc. We were provided with nice tea facilities and good-night sweets as well as fresh flowers. The shower was spotless and very modern. The blankets was very warm and cosy. Our stay was in winter so the night were a bit freezing but it worked fine. The inversible AC and the heating lights were very good.

Sue gave us phantastic tips for restaurants. All in walking distance. The surrounding is very quiet although close to CBD Perth.

We will come back, I am sure. Thank you very much Sue!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Trigg Retreat was a very comfortable B&B with a very welcoming owner Sue. The rooms were very tastefully decorated in a modern style with every last thing thought of including electric blankets, fresh flowers, chocolates in the evening and a big flat screen TV. Use of a lounge and kitchen is on the same floor as the bedrooms. A comprehensive continental breakfast is served in the dining room with cooked an optional $10 extra. It is about a ten minute walk to the beach and a short drive to Scarborough and Hillarys Boat Harbour where there are lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Sue Stein is a most gracious and accommodating hostess whose B&B is modern with a warm homey touch. The additional fee for the hot breakfast was well worth the fee for the wonderful scrambled eggs and salmon, with garnish of avocado and parsley. The bed was very comfortable along with the under the sheets electric sheet warmer which made getting under the covers soooo toasty!

The accomodations are well decorated and pleasing, especially all the wonderful photographs around the room and lining the walls. Sue was most helpful in giving us directions and making calls for taxi service.

Travelers should really have a rented car to get around, as taxis are very expensive to any location ($50 AUD from the airport to this B&B). Although there is a bus to the train to get into Perth it is quite a haul to get there or costly. We chose to stay around the ocean front and watch the water and sunset. This is a wonderful place to stay at, and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

My partner and I stayed 3 days/2 nights at this fabulous place. I must say first that Sue was a great host during our stay there - She was accommodating on our requests and made us feel really welcome. The BB was like a home away from home and boy, was it cozy. The place was spotless - there's even a sitting area with pantry on the 2nd floor.

Breaky room welcomes you with soft music in the morning and the egg benedict we had are out of the world.
I will definitely stay there again if i am back in Perth for holidays

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rm
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

The service was excellent. Sue was very kind and helpful. The room was big and clean, tastefully decorated. The B&B is near the beach (about 10 minutes walk) and located in a peaceful and quiet village. It is the best to do some ralaxing days.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

My partner and I stayed 3 nights/4 days at this beautiful B&B. Our host Sue was such a lovely lady, so accommodating and made you feel at home from the minute we we're parked up. Upon entry we noted how spotless the house was and that homely feel not to forget the little alcove with a computer with free wireless internet access. The breaky room is downstairs, the sitting room and 3 rooms all with ensuite are upstairs. Our room was so comfortable, the bed just right equipt with an electric blanket for those cool Perth nights. It has a tv/DVD set up with a plentiful supply of good DVD's to watch at your leisure. All the good things you expect of an exceptional hotel, toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities, room serviced everyday, heating. But Sue definitely goes beyond expectation little chocolates in room everyday, a beautiful garden grown rose to give the room that 'rosy' smell, a key that turns everything off upon departing the room and something so basic as everything is plugged in and ready to go! No pulling that jug out and having to plug it in, it is all ready to be used!!

Breakfast is absolutely delicious!! A wide variety of cereals, toast/croissants/fruit toast, fruit salad, plunger coffee all supplied in the tariff a hot breaky available at a small additional cost but we found the continental very substantial. Booking the accommodation is very easy online via their website.

Trigg is a beautiful location 2 minute drive/5 minute walk to the gorgeous beach and takes no time at all to drive into Perth CBD as the freeways are driver friendly! We will be booking this accommodation on every future trip to Perth, being only approx. Aus $160 a night depending on high and low season, it is a fantastic alternative to those claustrophobic expensive hotels Perth seems to offer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Address: 59 Kitchener St, Trigg, Stirling, Western Australia 6029, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Trigg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Trigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trigg Retreat Bed and Breakfast provides boutique hosted accommodation for the business traveller or holiday maker. We pride ourselves on winning the Gold Award for Hosted Accommodation in the WA Tourism Awards for 2012 and 2011 and Silver Award in 2013, being 4 1/2 star rated and achieving the 'Accreditation Tick' which confirm our claim of providing excellent and welcoming facilities. Quality furnishings, and a tasteful ambiance along with free wi-fi facilities and use of a guest computer for free internet access, and free off-street parking makes it the perfect base for a stay in coastal Perth. Each of the 3 queen size bedrooms provides en-suite, air-conditioning, TV/DVD, fridge, tea/coffee, magazines, bedside chocolate. A delicious, gourmet continental breakfast with optional hot menu, is served in the downstairs guest dining or in the garden courtyard. Start the morning in anticipation of what you will choose from the delicious gourmet breakfast! A selection of 5 cereals, 3 juices, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad or fruit platter, toast, toasted fruit bread, croissants, tea, or a range of coffee styles may start your breakfast. Alternatively, choose from the tempting choices on the hot menu as they are all mouth wateringly delicious. 'Just a stroll to the beach'. The magnificent West Australian coastline stretches as far as the eye can see. Views of the white sands and the crystal clear blue ocean will take your breath away. This coastal strip caters for everyone - walking and bike riding paths, surfing, safe swimming beaches and bays and enticing places to eat. A range of beach-side cafes/restaurants are within walking distance from the B&B, or alternatively just a short drive. Only minutes from an excellent public golf course and fascinating Hillarys Marina, and popular Perth beaches such as Scarborough, City Beach and Sorrento. Trigg Retreat is the perfect base for your relaxing holiday. From the marina catch a ferry to idyllic Rottnest Island, enjoy a whale watching tour, view the underwater aquarium at AQWA, or take the bus/train into Perth to WA's capital city or visit historic Fremantle. A short drive takes you to Kings Park to overlook the beautiful city and river, to stroll the park or walk across the tree top path. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.