We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay in Perth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast
4.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   59 Kitchener St, Trigg, Stirling, Western Australia 6029, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Tripadvisor Special
Ranked #1 of 2 Trigg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winchester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A perfect place to stay in Perth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

Impeccably clean B&B just minutes from the beach. We walked the beach every morning, then returned to a filling breakfast with plenty of variety and options. Sue Stein runs a top notch, friendly, low key, B&B that is within easy reach to central Perth, Freo (via the beautiful coastal drive), Swan valley winerys, Caversham (for 'roo petting!), and Rottnest island ferry. A great alternative to large, impersonal, pricey hotels.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
49
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

This was the first time in quite a while we have stayed at a B&B since a bad experience in England. I was delighted to find the Trigg Retreat all that it advertised. Our room and bath were quite comfortable. The bathroom was much larger than I expected. Sue, our hostess, was gracious and accommodating with information about the area that was very helpful.

Breakfast was delicious and presented beautifully on a breakfast cart full of fresh fruit, juices, a choice of cereals and milk. Coffee came in a French press coffee pot and was perfectly brewed. Sue also offered a variety of hot dishes for an extra $10 AUD. We didn't indulge as the continental breakfast was more than enough for us. We chose to eat on the patio each morning and enjoy the fresh morning air.

The Trigg Retreat was convenient to Perth and far enough away from the city to avoid the hustle and bustle. Close enough to the beach to walk, although it was a bit of a climb back up a hill, we were able to enjoy lovely evenings listening to the surf and watching the sunset. The Trigg Retreat is close to Hillary's Harbor, a great place to shop during the day with lots of choices for dining or catching a quick meal as well. The aquarium is also located there. (http://tinyurl.com/ychs7xm has more information on what we did in the Perth area.)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

This being our first trip to Australia and Perth we opted to spend the first couple of nights in Perth city which we regretted once we moved on to the coastal area and stayed in this wonderful B&B.
Located in a quiet residential area the house is ideally located for the beach as its in easy walking distance. Trigg is also an ideal place from which to visit other areas in the region (Swan Valley is lovely)
We absolutely loved Trigg Retreat. Run by the charming and friendly Sue who provides everying you can think of and then some.
The en suite room we had was furnished to a high standard with a very comfortable bed.
Everything here is spotless and well cared for. The atttention to detail extraordinary.
Sue's breakfasts are to die for and will set you up for the day. My other half likes his cooked breakfasts which were perfecttly and freshly cooked whilst I just enjoyed the wonderful choice if fresh fruit, cereal and toast/ croissant with freshly perked coffee. Wonderful
Cant recommend highly enough and also recommend not staying in Perth City as it is very much a business area and things close early and at the w/end most things are closed altogether

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

My mother, sisters and I stayed in Trigg Retreat the night before my youngest sister's wedding. We specifically chose it because we wanted more room than a hotel could give us and also wanted a place that was of a better quality than the rather average "resorts" along the coast in Perth's northern suburbs.

We were not disappointed. We booked all three rooms in the retreat and consequently had the place to ourselves. This consisted of 3 large bedrooms each with ensuite bathroom, a sweet little lounge room, and a downstairs dining room with french windows that opened out onto an outdoor eating area. The bedrooms were all large, air-conditioned with good-sized bathrooms. The carpet, fixtures, fitting, linen, bathrooms etc all seemed near-new and in excellent condition. The colour schemes of the rooms (paint, linen, carpet, chairs etc) were lovely soothing combinations of cream, pale blue, pale green etc - Laura Ashley-type decor. The beds were large and extremely comfortable, and there were 2 big windows in each room which ensured lots of light and fresh air during the day. Each bedroom also had walk-in wardrobes, fridges, TV & DVD, tea & coffee making facilities. Also, there is complimentary wireless internet all throughout the retreat which was a big plus for me as that doesn't seem to be standard in Australia yet.

The owner Sue could not have been more friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble for her. The continental breakfast was one of the best I have had in a b&b or hotel (and I have travelled a LOT). We had a lovely wedding morning breakfast in the dining room - Sue brought us out a 3-layer trolley piled with cereals, fresh fruit salad, stewed fruits, different juices, yoghurt, milk, condiments etc. She also brought us toast, fruit toast, pastries and croissants. Hot meals were also available but we certainly did not need them.

Sue did not mind at all about the hair stylist or make up artist being there and indeed brought up a big tray of iced water & glasses for them. She really did her best to make us feel at home and to make it as special a stay as possible, and we greatly appreciated her thoughfulness.

As someone who has travelled extensively in Europe and Northern America, I definitely recommend staying at Trigg Retreat as long as you don't mind being a walk or short drive away from the beach. The retreat is in excellent condition, very comfortable and Sue will make you feel right at home. It is in a residential area so there are no bars or restaurants on the same street, but if you have a car either Scarborough or Hillarys Marina are a short drive away. The accommodation choices along Perth's north coast tend to be somewhat limited, so if you don't want to stay in Observation City or in one of the motel/unit style resorts along the coast, this is a stylish and intimate alternative.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

This was my second visit to Perth and spent some time researching places to stay. This wasn't my first choice - that was a place nearer the centre of Perth who cancelled on me with less than a weeks notice, so I was lucky to find Trigg Retreat had spaces.

It all turned out beautiful, the room I was in was spotless, tastefully decorated and with a large ensuite. I liked that there was a small fridge in the room which meant I could keep some cold drinks aside. There was also a full size ironing board and iron - something you would have to ask for specifically elsewhere.

I took pictures of my room and I think at some point or other, the other rooms were open as well, so I snapped shots of those as well - it was nice to see the place open and not just a corridor of doors as you tend to see at standard B&B's. But this isn't a standard B&B, it's quite lovely. The breakfasts also were delicious and filling. I chose cooked breakfasts all days but one - would recommend the full brekkie and the croissants - yum!

The location was just up the freeway from Perth - maybe 10-20 mins by car - although it could get busy in the standard rush-hours, but this suited me just fine. Another 5 minutes down the road was Scarborough beach with plenty of parking. Going north - about 10-15mins - there was the Hillarys marina where you could get the ferry to Rottnest Island - and leave the car for free.

I loved that there was free internet, DVD's and books, although I didn't need too much of that. Not far from the B&B there was a shopping centre, cinema, Fitness First at Inaloo, which saved me some trips into Perth.

And just on the sea front there is a restaurant with a takeaway pizza place on the right - the pizza place has the BEST pizza I've ever had - can't believe it's so far away!

Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay, and will go back myself.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

From the time we arrived until the time we left, we felt comfortable and very welcome. Sue was our host at Trigg Retreat. She was friendly and very helpful in providing information about things to do during our stay. We found this advice very helpful.

The rooms are all spotlessly clean, the bed is high quality and the bathroom fixtures excellent. Even the hairdryer is a 'proper' one, not one of the usual hotel provided ones that lack power.

As well as a tv there was a dvd player in each room and a library of dvds to select from. In an alcove downstairs there is a computer for guest use at no extra charge. This was extremely helpful as we were able to check-in online for our flight home and our boarding passes were printed by Sue for us.

For three out of the four mornings we opted for the 'cooked breakfast' and we both thoroughly enjoyed our choices. The were certainly worth the extra ten dollars. If you choose to stay with the continental selection there is plenty to choose from. A range of cereals and fruit, yoghurt, toast and croissants with jams, honey and marmalade. There was also a selection of juices which to my delight, included pineapple juice.

I recommend Trigg Retreat Bed and Breakfast to anyone who is travelling to Perth either for pleasure or on business. It is close to the beaches and Hillarys Boat Harbour, a short trip to the city and easy access to the freeway to the airport. We certainly enjoyed our stay there and will stay again on our next trip.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, friendliness and amenities!!!
  • Disliked — We liked everything.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Address: 59 Kitchener St, Trigg, Stirling, Western Australia 6029, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Trigg
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Trigg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trigg Retreat Bed and Breakfast provides boutique hosted accommodation for the business traveller or holiday maker. We pride ourselves on winning the Gold Award for Hosted Accommodation in the WA Tourism Awards for 2012 and 2011 and Silver Award in 2013, being 4 1/2 star rated and achieving the 'Accreditation Tick' which confirm our claim of providing excellent and welcoming facilities. Quality furnishings, and a tasteful ambiance along with free wi-fi facilities and use of a guest computer for free internet access, and free off-street parking makes it the perfect base for a stay in coastal Perth. Each of the 3 queen size bedrooms provides en-suite, air-conditioning, TV/DVD, fridge, tea/coffee, magazines, bedside chocolate. A delicious, gourmet continental breakfast with optional hot menu, is served in the downstairs guest dining or in the garden courtyard. Start the morning in anticipation of what you will choose from the delicious gourmet breakfast! A selection of 5 cereals, 3 juices, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad or fruit platter, toast, toasted fruit bread, croissants, tea, or a range of coffee styles may start your breakfast. Alternatively, choose from the tempting choices on the hot menu as they are all mouth wateringly delicious. 'Just a stroll to the beach'. The magnificent West Australian coastline stretches as far as the eye can see. Views of the white sands and the crystal clear blue ocean will take your breath away. This coastal strip caters for everyone - walking and bike riding paths, surfing, safe swimming beaches and bays and enticing places to eat. A range of beach-side cafes/restaurants are within walking distance from the B&B, or alternatively just a short drive. Only minutes from an excellent public golf course and fascinating Hillarys Marina, and popular Perth beaches such as Scarborough, City Beach and Sorrento. Trigg Retreat is the perfect base for your relaxing holiday. From the marina catch a ferry to idyllic Rottnest Island, enjoy a whale watching tour, view the underwater aquarium at AQWA, or take the bus/train into Perth to WA's capital city or visit historic Fremantle. A short drive takes you to Kings Park to overlook the beautiful city and river, to stroll the park or walk across the tree top path. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trigg Retreat Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.