We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sherborne/Salisbury mini break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Munden House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Munden House to your Saves list
Munden House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Mundens Lane | Sherborne, Alweston, Sherborne DT9 5HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Alweston B&B and Inns
Alsager, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sherborne/Salisbury mini break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were shown to our room 'Lulworth' which just happened to be the bridal suite. It was very comfortable well appointed room and bathroom (no block soap) good job we weren't just married as the walls were thin we could hear the occupants of the room next door, movement,toilet flushing and talking. Breakfast was very good as were the couple who were looking after us,my only gripe was the playing of the radio around 8.00a.m even on the Sunday, situate immediately below our room. All very clean but we were surprised by the amount of spiders.

Room Tip: Don't choose Lulworth
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    16
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
117
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were made very welcome at Munden House, the service was attentive but not intrusive and the house has a mellow homely feel, beautifully furnished but comfortable, with a welcoming feel.
The "dairy cottage" that we stayed in was clean comfortable and well equipped in the kitchen, with everything we needed thoughtfully provided and extra little touches like fresh flowers on the table as we entered was very welcoming. Comfortable bed and good shower.
The breakfast was excellent, lots of choices and everything cooked to the guests liking.
The area has a slow pace of life and the countryside stunning, especially the views from the dining room. I would recommend this as a relaxing comfortable place to spend a short break.
No negatives.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was our first time to Sherborne. The hospitality at Munden House was excellent, they made us very welcome. The room was beautiful, very clean with a stunning view. The breakfast was of high standard (a good tip was given on the perfect poached egg!!) Perfect stay, home from home, 10 out of 10 !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My sister and I have just spent 3 nights here. The room was very attractive and well furnished, the beds were really comfortable with lovely crisp linen and the breakfasts were excellent - especially the eggs, fresh from the hens that roam the garden! The house is in a lovely setting, super views and close to Sherborne which is one of the prettiest towns I have been to. A visit to the Abbey is a must, also the grounds of Sherborne castle are well worth a visit. We were made to feel very welcome by our hosts and found that wherever we went people were friendly and eager to please. Fantastic short break!

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Chesil' which has a door directly out to the lovely garden. En suite bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed the welcoming and comfortable stay over the four days in the garden cottage which has the added benefit of an elevated bedroom set in a barn like design with skylights and is beautifully presented. The accommodation including all kitchen equipment was found to be very clean. The setting is in very relaxing and complimented by the wonderful breakfast every morning served in the dining room overlooking the downs. Service was discreet and attentive. Do try the homemade preserves. If you have time take a stroll across the road and down the lane where you will find an appreciative horse who will enjoy a carrot or other small token of food. Would highly recommend as stay at Munden House.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is the first time I write a review for Tripadvisor but I feel all travellers to this beautiful part of England deserve to know about Munden House. You haven't experienced the best of Sherborne if you haven't stayed here. The host makes the tourist from halfway round the world feel at home in no time. The offer of a jug of fresh milk each evening is heartwarming and much more genuine than lip-serving slogans of "first-class service". The internal and external environments are tiptop. By this I mean the rooms and cottages are clean and tastefully furnished, while the garden is gigantic and well-kept with the peace and quiet suitably punctuated by the lively chickens. The host takes care of every need of the traveller who is unfamiliar with the country, at the same time providing comfortable lodging and delicious food. The combination of environment and service here is peerless. I shall return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed at Munden House for one night whilst visiting Dorset.
Owners were on holiday so I was disappointed not to see them and there dog, don't get me wrong we were looked after very well but as a couple we were hoping to play with the doggy.
We stayed in the Chesil room which opens out onto the gardens which were very big and lovely.
Bathroom was very nice and modern with good shower.
All the little extras like fresh milk that you help yourself to, toiletries, tissues, bottles of water all go a long way to make your stay nicer.
The smell of bacon in the morning was so nice we ordered full English breakfast for my hubby and I had eggs and bacon my only dislike was I only got one rasher of bacon, it was so nice I wanted more. I didn't go hungry tho as I had Cereal toast and fruit.
The breakfast room is very elegant which you could also stay in and have dinner at night, although not when we were there. We would recommend going into Sherborne at night to eat as we did to the White Hart pub, really friendly service and good food.
The only thing we didn't like was my husband couldn't get any service on his phone which was a pain, but I had no problem.
Had a lovely time in Dorset and will return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Munden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munden House

Address: Mundens Lane | Sherborne, Alweston, Sherborne DT9 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Alweston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alweston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Munden House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Munden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.