We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Munden House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Munden House to your Saves list
Munden House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Mundens Lane | Sherborne, Alweston, Sherborne DT9 5HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Alweston B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A real treat to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Beautiful home and garden with free range chickens to entertain. Bedroom and bathroom were spacious and tastefully decorated. Comfy beds. Breakfast superb with home made produce and excellent service. Made to feel at home

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    16
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
117
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just one night in a twin room...would have been happy to stay much longer. Clean, spacious and well-equipped room with a nice view over the garden. Lovely setting. Very friendly welcome and a delicious breakfast. This B&B is highly recommended and I would certainly go back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Colin and Annie are wonderful hosts. Our room is spacious and luxurious. The bathroom is spotless and also spacious. The garden is beautiful. The breakfast is to die for! Would definitely recommend Munden House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We only stayed one night but wished it could have been more , Colin and Annie gave us a warm welcome. Our room was a large and beautifully decorated with a lovely comfortable bed , all was absolutely spotless . The breakfast was first class, couldn't fault it in anyway . We would definitely go back again and would highly recommend .

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in the summer house for two nights, we wished we had booked it for longer!
As we were very lucky to get the best weather for ages, the summer house was great as it gave us a fridge to keep all our drinks cool and the freedom to cook our own meals if we wanted.
The room was very clean, spacious & and very comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent and was served by the very friendly hosts Colin and Annie.
Overall 10 out 10!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewMaldenGirl
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages attached to the main house, the stay was very comfortable and the cottage meant we had the flexibility of self catering but still got the English breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We enjoyed three very pleasant nights at Munden House. Colin and Annie were very welcoming and friendly. They were happy to suggest outings and places to eat. Our dinner in the dining room was superb, with Annie cooking fresh produce from the garden. Our breakfasts were equally enjoyable. We were able to enjoy the beautiful garden during the long summer twilight. Our room contained everything we needed, with a comfortable bed and clean, fresh linen.
The location of the B&B was central and allowed us to explore the countryside and the Dorset coast. We hope many of our friends will enjoy a stay there as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Munden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munden House

Address: Mundens Lane | Sherborne, Alweston, Sherborne DT9 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Alweston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alweston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Munden House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Munden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.