We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real tonic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Munden House

Save Saved
You added Munden House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Munden House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Mundens Lane | Sherborne, Alweston, Sherborne DT9 5HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Alweston B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A real tonic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Our first, but certainly not last, visit to Munden House was a last minute replacement for a holiday we had to cancel for family reasons. Colin & Annie have the perfect recipe for a restorative short break and could not have been kinder or more welcoming. The house is cosy, peaceful and has a very happy atmosphere. We had a lovely room with beautiful views and everything was tastefully decorated and well-appointed. Our timings meant we had only one dinner in but that was delicious and the breakfasts were excellent. our only sadness was that we could not stay longer, but we will return - often we hope!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    13
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
101
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Annie and Colin welcomed us into their beautiful accomodation with warmth, flexibility and absolute courtesy. On a reunion weekend our group of 14 girlfriends could not have felt more relaxed and well looked after, whilst also feeling a lovely sense of privacy and freedom in the house which we had taken exclusive use of. Our hosts repeatedly went much further than the call of duty to help make our weekend a very happy and easy time.
Our weekend included breakfasts which were delicious enough to have me up much more quickly and enthusiastically than my young children manage, and evening meals which were unusual and totally mouthwatering. I ate far too much and enjoyed every minute. The wine we drank was great quality and reasonably priced - from Annie and Colin's carefully chosen wine list.
The rooms are decorated beautifully with no fuss but lovely detail, very individual and very comfortable. The house was really warm and cosy, which was welcome on the damp October evenings we were there, but daytime sunshine allowed us to do some great walks with fantastic countryside views.
The gardens of the house are gorgeous, even the chickens were pretty enough to photograph!
I am now working out an excuse to do it all again as soon as possible.
Many many thanks to Annie and Colin.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and each has its own advantages - e.g. extra space, kitchenette, outside ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We found Munden House via Trip Advisor as they had such good reviews. It was a last minute booking but we couldn't have chosen better if we had tried! Annie & Colin are the most welcoming of hosts and the accommodation is great too. We took Annie & Colin's advice on places to visit & where to dine and once again, these were spot on! If you do stay here (and we certainly hope to return) a visit to the neighbouring bakery, Oxford's, is well worth it - the bread is delicious & the Oxford family are lovely!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend in Dairy Cottage, a real rural escape with plenty of charm. The two self contained cottages at Munden House are perfect for couples or friends who are happy to self cater in the evenings after a good days walking along the beautiful Dorset coast. Luxurious beds, powerful shower, well appointed kitchen and sitting room with a very welcoming host. We hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Dairy Cottage is perfect for those who want a bit more privacy or are happy to self cater in the eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Both annie and colin make sure your stay is warm and welcoming.The food was divine,the service was excellent.Once you have stayed with annie and colin,you will want to return,weve stayed 3 times this year.Cant wait for our next visit

Room Tip: you cant fault any of the rooms clean and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

A very warm welcome. Extremely comfortable room with everything one needs. A fascinating building with a wonderful English country garden. Superb meal "taylormade" meal for my wife's peculiar diet! It was a great start to our holiday break and we would thoroughly recommend it.

[---]

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Munden House was the first place we stayed on a two week tour of England. It couldn't have set the tone of the trip better and we wished that all the places we stayed were as lovely. Since we were going to be a bit jet-lagged after arrival in England, Colin suggested that we might want to stay for dinner the first night and just relax instead of driving somewhere else for dinner. We thought it was a good suggestion, and we were both so pleased that we ate at Munden House. Annie prepared such a delicious dinner. Everything was perfect. There were 3 other couples also "eating in" so word must be getting around (and deservedly so), that the food there is great, . We had maps and tour books, and both Colin and Annie were great help in suggesting places to see on the way to our next destination along the southern coast. They were always so willing to help and nothing seemed like it was any trouble for them. I enjoyed spending time in their back garden which overlooks a field of cows, and gently rolling hills. The garden was lovely in August with lots of beautiful plants in bloom, and the border collie Cassie was a delight to play with. We stayed in the large Lulworth room and the views out the windows were of the back and side gardens. The bed was a step up to get into, but it was extremely comfortable. I was so surprised to find out that Colin and Annie were relatively new (about 6 months) to Munden House. They are delightful, hospitable people and I wish them much luck and success in their new endeavor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Munden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munden House

Address: Mundens Lane | Sherborne, Alweston, Sherborne DT9 5HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Alweston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Alweston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Munden House 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Munden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.