We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality is comparable to price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon

Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Bulla Rd., Essendon North, Moonee Valley, Victoria 3041, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essendon North
Kyabram
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality is comparable to price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed with my husband and two children for one night in January. The accomodation is very dated and no effort has been made to modernise these motel rooms. The rooms were very clean but the furniture, decor and bedding has been used many times over. The staff were friendly, and assisted with free wifi access. If staying, your expectations need to match the price you pay - reasonable accomodation for a reasonably cheap price, in a rather convenient location. Good for arriving late and leaving early. Traffic noise was not an issue during our stay, and there was access to off street parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
5
9
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I changed ny normal Motel for this trip to Melbourne, will certainly be back there in the future. From start to finish this was a disaster. My first mistake was checking inn whiole the staff were haveing lunch in the attached(and closed) restaurant. Very perfunctary and could not care less attitude, there is the key, I'm going back to lunch. Later in the afternoon I needed a WHite Pages to check and address(non in the room!). The English of the lady at reception was so poor that she had no idea what I wanted. I eventually pointed to the phone and a book on the counter, she offered me one of their buisiness cards!!!. Room were average, very old, the fridge was steel, and freezer all iced up, caqrpet frayed, several lights not working(could not face the language barrier to have anything done). I was depoarting very early, and there was no provision, or information about checkout/key return. I had to ring a "locum service" who said leave key in room and go!!! Know where I will be staying next time

Room Tip: Avoid it like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Only stayed one night. Motel is terribly outdated. Cobwebs were hanging out of 2 corners and there was a massive crack along the wall which was approx 2 inchs wide. Ceiling above my bed was filthy. Bathroom needs a major update but the shower had good pressure. Lots of traffic noise which didn't quieten down til 3am, only had a couple of hours sleep.

On a positive note there was 3 of us traveling and they put us in a huge room with 5 beds so there was plenty of room to move around. Was also within walking distance to a large homemaker center. Certainly wouldn't stay here again though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this motel on 23 May 2012. I left my purse in the room when busy heading to the airport in the morning, All the money and IDs are in the purse. Before we reached the airport, I received phone call from the motel regarding the desperating purse. Well, not even 5 cents missing, all preserved very well. The motel receptionist also return my missing Iphone charger. I wrote this mainly to thank them, very honest and friendly people.
Withe the stay, the room was old and pretty basic but clean and comfortable. I believe people choosing a motel certainly not for luxurious, who will be stupid to spend time hanging around the motel anyway.
We will stay next time and hopefully to see more upgrading.

Room Tip: I got have to say the room of this motel is bigger than normail ones, especially the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

From the outside we did not know what lurked inside. Once we entered the room we were met with a bit of a moldy smell. Further inspection of the room found 3 things of concern.

1 - Picture of gun drawn with pen on the carpet.
2 - Stain on mattress undercover that was yellow in color.
3 - Side table drawer contained an open condom wrapper.

We also left an item in the room that we forgot. When we rang the day we checked out we were told the cleaners did not find anything. An out and out lie.

Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

My wife, brother and sister-in-law stayed at this hotel on March 18, 2012. The hotel is very difficult to access from the public roadway. Once we arrived, the staff was snotty and told us that all the ground floor rooms were reserved. That was not a deal breaker so we headed upstairs to our rooms. The rooms were dank, outmoded and quite uninviting. As it was warm, we turned on the A/C unit. It was an antiquated wall-mounted unit that made a horrific noise. When we complained, the front desk staff told us that they were in the process of remodeling their rooms. As we had no other options and had a catch a plane early the next morning out of Melbourne, we had to stay the night. When we woke up in the morning, the counters, floors and our luggage was covered in greasy, black specs--emitted from the A/C unit. It was HORRIBLE! I immediately went down to the front desk to complain. They offered me a $10 refund (we paid $128.00 for this room). I was so outraged that I walked out of the lobby. Since returning to the US, I made a formal complaint with the Choice Hotels. They told me any refund would be up to the individual hotel. PLEASE, do not stay at this hotel. At least I may be able to save you the grief, anger and frustration we experienced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrandera
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

Stayed in room 20, This is a good motel, it is very clean and the shower in my room was a ripper. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The motel is fairly dated and overdue for a full reno but that is only cosmetic too me at least. Bed !!! what is it about motels and hard beds these days, they seem to not care that not all of us like sleeping on a firm bed. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon

Address: 93 Bulla Rd., Essendon North, Moonee Valley, Victoria 3041, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moonee Valley > Essendon North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Essendon North
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Melbourne
Melbourne Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites Essendon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.