We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room with a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of York on Lilydale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added York on Lilydale to your Saves list
York on Lilydale
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr York & Swansea Rds, Mount Evelyn, Victoria 3796, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Evelyn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Large room with a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the York after riding the lilydale to warburton rail trail. The spa was exactly what I needed after a gruelling 82km bike ride. The bed was comfortable and the room was quite large. The only downfall is that the hotel itself is out of town in Mount Evelyn. But I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
6
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Good value accommodation which is clean, with a good bed, quiet heater and quiet overall. Check in was efficient and there is plenty of parking on site. The reception area is a little distant from the actual rooms.

Room Tip: This is a 2 story motel with no lift. If you are not keen on carrying your bags up stairs then reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, SA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed only for 1 night as I was passing through, but I was very happy with the room - comfortable beds, quiet and affordable (booked through wotif.com). Close to shops and eateries including the delicious Bubba Pizza.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here two nights as it was close to a wedding we attended at nearby Bram Leigh.

Arriving late (early morning 1am) from Perth - we were a bit hungry, the bistro wasnt open - however a nice young lady from the gaming room heated up a couple of sausage rolls for us which hit the spot.

The staff were all friendly and welcoming. There is a cheeky possum who visits, if you are lucky you will see him in the tree just outside the entrance to the gaming room.

Hotel room was clean and comfortable - we had an excellent night sleep.

We ate in the Bistro for both dinner and buffet breakfast the next morning. Dinner was nice - very large serving sizes but good food. Breakfast was one of the better buffet breakfasts I have had in a hotel for some time. It was a Sunday - Im not sure if it is a regular feature so perhaps check.

Lovely little location - didnt have time to explore but it looked very nice hear at the foot of the Dandenongs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed for one night on a Friday for a family wedding close by. I would recommend the ground floor lake view room which l had as there is no lift. Room was spacious and clean. Bed was very comfortable and air conditioning was great as it was a very hot day. Check in was easy and helpful. Lovely view of the lake with the bird life so pleasant to sit and watch. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

"Resort" facilities are nothing like advertised, and service smacks of 'Fawlty Towers' . Like many other reviewers we stayed at the York On Lilydale as a wedding was being held next door (I suspect we would never have ventured here otherwise). During our stay reception advised they'd double booked our room (this took approx 1 hour to sort out) the pool was out of order, tennis court swamped in muddy puddles, dated rooms backed out over mosquito infested swap (aka lake) and the heavily advertised cocktail bar seemed more like a dodgy roadside tavern, completely empty apart from a couple of sad poker machine players.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a spa room with a balcony and were pleasantly surprised by the efficient and friendly check in, cleanliness of the room and the lovely view from our balcony. Bottle shop and restaurant on site were a bonus. Great value for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to York on Lilydale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York on Lilydale

Address: Cnr York & Swansea Rds, Mount Evelyn, Victoria 3796, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Evelyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Evelyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — York on Lilydale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located on 4.5 hectares of natural bushland, including a picturesque lake and free form pool the beautiful sounds of the local Bellbirds will entrance guests as they enjoy a beautiful view from the balcony or garden room, to the lake and surrounding bushland. Our manicured gardens and outdoor pool along with our 40 3.5 star AAA suites furnished with sitting/dining area, queen size bed plus a pull out and a twin corner spa are sure to provide guests with the luxury of a Yarra Valley stay to remember. The York is central to some of Victoria's major tourist attractions including the Yarra Valley wine growing district, the beautiful Dandenong Ranges, Healesville Sanctuary and the Rhododendron Gardens. Situated 45 minutes east of Melbourne at the foothills of the Dandenong Ranges and Gateway to the Yarra Valley it has an enviable reputation as a versatile corporate and social venue; functions guests can rely on the convenience of long or short stays in our accommodation rooms. Guests can enjoy our room service offered for lunch and dinner, with breakfast available daily, along with the accessibility of the hotel's facilities, dining in our bistro or relaxing in our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your York on Lilydale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Lilydale
Lilydale Quality Inn
York Lilydale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York on Lilydale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.