We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable But Somewhat Lacking in Customer Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of York on Lilydale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added York on Lilydale to your Saves list
York on Lilydale
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr York & Swansea Rds, Mount Evelyn, Victoria 3796, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Evelyn
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable But Somewhat Lacking in Customer Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently on a Friday night as part of a family group who were attending a wedding at a nearby venue. The rooms were very clean and had all the basic necesseties you would need for an overnight stay, nothing fancy but comfortable. There was a lovely view from the rear balcony of the lake behind, which was lovely to wake up to. We also took advantage of the minibus service they can provide, which for a fee ($75 each way for the whole bus), took us to the wedding and back, which was great and saved us having to try and get taxis in the Dandenongs which can be a nightmare!
The only downside to our stay was the lack of customer service we found when dealing with staff at the resort. When checking in at reception, we were very unethusiatically greeted and our friendliness wasn't really recipricated at all. We had lunch in the resort bistro and again found that the counter staff really couldn't be bothered and were fairly unfriendly. In saying this though both the bus drivers we had to and from the wedding were friendly, so not everyone on staff was a sourpuss.
Overall, a clean, comfortable and value for money spot to spend a night. If attending a wedding in the area again, I'd certainly stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms downstairs have direct access to the lake behind, whilst those above have balconies which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
6
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We booked 10 rooms for our wedding guests and interstate family who were to be taken via a hired bus (not booked by York on Lilydale) to our wedding elsewhere. The bus turned up but then left with no guests.

After a mad rush the guests drove to the wedding in their own vehicles but some were stranded after. York on Lilydale offered to assist and picked up these guests in their mini bus. York on Lilydale provided impeccable service to our guests with their assistance. I would highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The rooms were spacious and very clean, the swimming pool was great, but there it came to an end.
Customer Care was Nil!!
1, put upstairs with a 9 month old baby.Extremely difficult to manoeuvre pushchair,balcony unsafe,
2,Reception would not heat baby food and no microwave in room.
3,Found it odd to have to book a table at a resort when you are staying there,it perhaps should have told you in the information pack.
4,The Pokies area should have signs to say no entry under 18? as I was asked to leave the seating area with a baby........No other seating area in the whole place.. Never again!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for a wedding. a large amount of the wedding guests stayed in the one place. Rooms were huge. Were clean and well spaced out. The bistro has excellent meals for great price, however you need to book a table. Public transport isnt really close, may need a car if staying in the area, but do head up to the sky high restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

After reading a number of reviews before staying at this place we were a bit aprehensive. But the room was well presented and fairly clean. I did wipe the bathroom floor with the bathmat and it was a bit dirty. The room we had was a little dated maybe hadn't been renovated since the 90s but it was well equipped which outweighed the look

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We do a regular trip to Yarra Valley to visit family. In the 4 years we hav been doing this we were yet to find a reasonably priced clean hotel.

York on Lilydale was good, clean, warm and plenty of hot water after a trip to the snow that day with the kids.

I think the web site does try to portray it as some sort of resort place, but we found the rate $109 very reasonable, walked over to good quality bistro for good meals and drinks, and couple of good nights sleep.

Don't expect a resort, its a good quality sound hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Me and my two children, 24 and 21 stayed for overnight on our visit to Yarra Valley. The room was spacious, tidy and clean. We got the room with a view to the bush and the sound of the songbirds. We enjoyed our spa bath so much as it was very relaxing after a full day of wine tasting and walking around. Food was good at the bistro I can say it was the best around, which we spent less than our lunch at the restaurant in Yarra Valley (AU$120) and the pie place at Mt Dan (AU$69). Location wise, it was handy to Yarra and Mt Dan and beyond. We were very happy staying here and I think we couldn't get anythng better than this, which I paid AU$100 a night plus $15 for an extra adult.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to York on Lilydale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York on Lilydale

Address: Cnr York & Swansea Rds, Mount Evelyn, Victoria 3796, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Evelyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Evelyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — York on Lilydale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located on 4.5 hectares of natural bushland, including a picturesque lake and free form pool the beautiful sounds of the local Bellbirds will entrance guests as they enjoy a beautiful view from the balcony or garden room, to the lake and surrounding bushland. Our manicured gardens and outdoor pool along with our 40 3.5 star AAA suites furnished with sitting/dining area, queen size bed plus a pull out and a twin corner spa are sure to provide guests with the luxury of a Yarra Valley stay to remember. The York is central to some of Victoria's major tourist attractions including the Yarra Valley wine growing district, the beautiful Dandenong Ranges, Healesville Sanctuary and the Rhododendron Gardens. Situated 45 minutes east of Melbourne at the foothills of the Dandenong Ranges and Gateway to the Yarra Valley it has an enviable reputation as a versatile corporate and social venue; functions guests can rely on the convenience of long or short stays in our accommodation rooms. Guests can enjoy our room service offered for lunch and dinner, with breakfast available daily, along with the accessibility of the hotel's facilities, dining in our bistro or relaxing in our bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your York on Lilydale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Lilydale
Lilydale Quality Inn
York Lilydale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage York on Lilydale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.