We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seabonay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Seabonay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Seabonay Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1159 Hillsboro Mile (A-1-A), Hillsboro Beach, FL 33062   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillsboro Beach
baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Location is everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Location is perfect -- right on the beach, not in the crowds, and that meant everything during our trip. The room was comfortable, and just perfect for us. The staff was so helpful, couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast is a plus, although we didn't eat it sometimes, it was nice to know it was there if we wanted it. Loved having the full kitchen too. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabonay, Manager at Seabonay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your lovely and positive feedback. All of us at Seabonay Beach Resort would love to welcome you back some time very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    37
    17
    18
    24
See reviews for
51
53
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Good location with ocean access. No bar or entertainment. Pool is decent. Overpriced in
my opinion with a rate of 200.00. on a Friday night. Appliances are outdated.They did offer a breakfast for 2. each additional person was 7.00 even 2 yr olds. Wi-Fi was very slow and kept throwing me off. Place was alittle noisy at times. Elevator is very slow.

Room Tip: Asl for overlooking the ocean or end of hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabonay, Manager at Seabonay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review for us, we always love hearing from our guests.

The rate for each room includes the room and standard fees. Breakfast is $7 per person including children, as a thank you every room receives 2 complimentary breakfasts. All additional guest do pay $7.

Once again, Seabonay Beach Resort would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

We are always looking to improve and have every intention of using your feedback to help us make every guest experience a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I met our daughter here because she had business in the Deerfield area and flew in from NY. She booked our 1 BR suite and additional rooms for 2 colleagues flying in for the meetings. She has booked many rooms for her business travels and this was the first time she had to apologize to her co-workers. She booked here because it said "pet friendly" on their website and we brought our cat. Our suite was not cleaned once during our 4 night stay because the housekeeper said the cat hissed at her and she was scared. He is 10 years old and has never hissed once in those 10 years. We had to go to the office to get fresh towels. And...we were charged $50 for the cat. Not pet friendly! It was the dirtiest hotel we have ever stayed in. Our feet and socks were black from the tile floor. I don't know the last time it was cleaned. We had to request cups, a garbage can, a microwave and bedding for the pullout couch. The furniture is so old and worn and the couch was soiled. The mattress in the sofabed was awful. They claim to have been renovated...don't believe it. I could go on and on but I will sum it up by "DO NOT GO THERE!

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabonay, Manager at Seabonay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We at Seabonay Beach Resort would like to apologize for your dissatisfaction with your recent stay with us. We take pride in always providing the best service to all of our guests consistantly.

Seabonay Beach Resort is a pet friendly hotel. We do have a $50 USD per stay pet cleaning fee, that includes cleaning and sanitizing the rooms before, during and after your stay with us.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service. We hope that you would give us another opportunity in the future to try and impress you.

Best,
Management, Seabonay Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hillsboro Beach hotels

Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in this hotel February 2013. Hotel was very dirty and creepy. The rooms were extremely outdated. Kitchen had old appliances with no paper towels, coffee, nothing. Could not get a water out of the only vending machine they had. Room had an extremely bad odor that gave us very bad headaches and actually made us sick. We were paid up to stay a week and left after the third night because of the terrible, terrible smell. The smell was so bad it gave us migraines and actually started making us physically sick! We complained about the smell and got nowhere with the staff. We decided it was time to leave. Upon checkout we complained that we had to leave due to the smell. The hotel would only refund the money for the nights we did not stay and even argued about paying that back and kept making excuses...... We explained that we had to leave because the hotel was making us sick and would have to spend more money to find somewhere else to stay and asked if they would at least refund 50% of the money for the nights we did stay. They refused to refund us. Upon complaining to many different managers or whatever they were, we find out from one that the room they rented us was not even supposed to be rented out due to the severe odor coming from the vents. The funiture was really old and I was terrified to stay because I felt the room was not up to my standards on cleanliness. The shower curtain had mold on it and I wore shoes in the shower because I was terrified to touch anything. We had to fight the luggage trolley and elevators to make the trolly fit in the elevator. Also, you get two room keys (not key cards), so you have to figure out which key goes to the hall door and which key goes to the room door and it took forever to get in the room each time. The price for this place was insane for such a drab. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!! We were referred to this hotel from a local friend, so I am certain he will not refer anyone else to the hotel and I am sure he will tell everyone he knows about our expereince. I will be writing the health department and BBB about this unhealthy hotel.

Room Tip: I would not choose any room at this hotel unless you want to end up sick!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabonay, Manager at Seabonay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Seabonay Beach Resort would like to apologize for the problems you encountered while staying at our hotel. We do appreciate any and all feedback from our guests as this will ensure that our resort can make the necessary changes. After reading your review I’d like to clarify just a few things, as you know we are very sorry for the room you were assigned, however we only charged for the days that were booked and did refund, in full, the days that were not occupied. In terms of the room being closed prior to your check-in is incorrect. This room was only closed after you had informed us of your concerns and until further inspection, which resulted in the room being fine and ready to reoccupy.
In regards to the size of the trollies, I assure you these were bought specifically for the hotel and have been sized appropriately. As for the keys, most boutique resorts use “keys” to give it a personal feel and have had positive feedback. I believe these two matters are subjective to each guest preference.
We do take each and every complaint very seriously and are in the process of making the changes. Again we apologize and hope that in the future you can give us another chance to accommodate all your needs.
We wish you the best,
Management at Seabonay Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The owner graciously agreed to allow my daughter to hold her wedding ceremony on the beach at The Seabonay at the end of December 2012. It turned out to the perfect place for a family gathering.

We have a large family and booked a number of rooms. We were all able to get the kind of rooms we needed. Some had kitchenettes and others did not. The covered Lanai and the breakfast room turned out to be great places to get together for meals and just hanging out. The owner threw a wine tasting party one of the nights which was really nice.

The staff was amazing; really responsive and friendly. The beach is beautiful and the location is close to lots of great things to do.

The resort is older, but is well maintained and clean. The price is great value for oceanfront! Highly recommend for a family reunion!

Room Tip: Just FYI, the rooms with the kitchenettes feel more updated. The oceanfront rooms are wonderful. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabonay, Manager at Seabonay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It always makes our day getting lovely feedback, thank you for taking the time to do so. From all of us at Seabonay Beach Resort thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting your next event.

Best,
Seabonay Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently stayed December 2012 at The Seabonay Beach Resort my family and I in an oceanfront one bedroom suite and we had an amazing time. Room was very clean and staff was amazing. I recommend this hotel and I am coming back. Breakfast was good very nice that they offer two complimantary breakfast we only had to pay for two extra for our kids but it is all you can eat not bad at all. The views are breathtaking. Beds were very comfortable and clean. Room was very spacious. The fee was very fair for what we were getting. Pool was warm and clean. I loved the outdoor patio with the music. They even had a complimentary wine night on Friday with some snacks. Management are very giving and you can tell they really care. I honestly dont understand why people complain in their reviews the hotel is advertised as a 3 star hotel and thats what they are. The only thing that bothered me was there was a guest that was being very obnoxious and loud and demanding a free night just because. I guess you cant please everyone especially the ones that want a five star hotel but are too cheap to pay. But Seabonay Beach staff were amazing always alert always helpful always smiling. Housekeepers really work hard. Juan the maintenance man was so sweet. Janet at the front desk was very helpful when we needed to find a fancy restaurant to eat at and to find places to take are kids to entertain. Plenty of beach chairs on the beach. We cant wait to come back we already booked for spring break in April 2013. Our family friends will be joining us. Seabonay Beach Resort left us with a great experience. Hillsboro Beach is a quite and beautiful city and that is what we were looking for. Mizner Park is about 8 minutes from the hotel very nice plaza with high end stores and restaurants. Deerfield Beach Pier is only a mile away. So much to do. But honestly for me it would be enough just lay on the beautiful beach and enjoy the beautiful view and quietness of the area. So whomever is looking for a simple get away with an amazing location but does not want to pay such high rate and is okay with a 3 star hotel then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: Oceanfront one bedroom suite was the unit we stayed at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A dirty old hotel with no facilities........ no fridge, no microwave, no coffee machine not even a cup, (paper or otherwise)! The only way of geting a hot drink was to upgrade to a suite where you get a kitchen with an old fridge an old microwave and a leaky coffee machine....... but still no coffee, tea, sugar or milk, (dried or otherwise). There was old mismatched china, odd glassware and old pots and pans. In the suite there were 2 large screen tv's but half the channels were not tuned in. The internal hallways were open to the outside and consequently draughty and dusty. I think you get the picture. There was a soda machine on the outside patio at the rear of the property, but that was all in the way of facilities. The breakfast was served in a dismal dark room with big 10-12 seat circular tables with clear polythene table cloths. The only hot item was a waffle which was diy. The croissant I had was inedible because it was so stale. The fruit was an apple or a banana. The juice was OK. The coffee was OK. There appeared to be no nearby shops or a gas station to buy any snacks or drinks to take back to the room. There was a Publix about 6 miles away. This hotel was not cheap and was the low point of our holiday......... the $50 a night Motel 6 we stayed in 5 nights earlier was so very much better....... it really was!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabonay, Manager at Seabonay Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We at Seabonay Beach Resort apologize for your dissatisfaction with your stay, we appreciate your feedback. We pride ourselves on the standard of our service and all rooms, I have done what I could to find out how we could have made your stay more enjoyable. Please know that we do understand your concerns and would like to bring to your attention that we indicate in all our advertisements, as well as when you arrive, that all standard rooms do not have any of the cooking amenities that the larger suites have. In regards to the breakfast, we offer a full continental breakfast with a long list of items that you can choose from.

Also, in response to not having any other place to get coffee or breakfast outside the hotel, please be aware that upon each check- in you receive a brochure, which has a list of restaurants and places to go that are in the area, one of which is Deerfield Beach and is only 1 mile away. We also let all guests know that there is a free shuttle that belongs to Hillsboro Beach that will come pick you up and take you to these locations.

We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service. I hope I addressed all your concerns and we would like the opportunity in the future to try and impress you.

Best,
Management, Seabonay Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seabonay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seabonay Beach Resort

Address: 1159 Hillsboro Mile (A-1-A), Hillsboro Beach, FL 33062
Location: United States > Florida > Hillsboro Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hillsboro Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seabonay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape your cares and enjoy the South Florida lifestyle at Seabonay Beach Resort in Hillsboro Beach. Newly decorated we offer 77 condo style accommodations which include standard rooms, junior suites and one bedroom suites. Our suites are condo style with a full working kitchen, living room and a balcony. Tucked within an affluent area, Hillsboro Beach boasts easy access to Fort Launderdale and its suburbs, with Boca Raton three miles north and Deerfield Beach a mile west. Perched on the Atlantic Ocean waterfront, Seabonay Beach Resort will feel like your very own private island, your home away from home and the only place you will enjoy staying at in South Florida. For those looking to drop a line, the nearby Pier at Deerfield Beach offers an excellent fishing hole. During your stay with us you can relax by the heated outdoor swimming pool, enjoy the outdoor casual living room with a large screen television or go for a stroll on the private beach with some of the most breathtaking views in Florida. All guest rooms/suites offer complimentary Wi-Fi, premium cotton linens, complimentary local calling with a direct dial phone, private bathroom with a shower-tub combination, complimentary toiletries, premium 24 TV channels, central air and heat, coin operated laundry room & laundry service, front desk safety deposit box, private parking, meeting room, daily housekeeping, friendly staff and complimentary continental breakfast for two per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seabonay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seabonay Beach Hotel Hillsboro Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seabonay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.