We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow on the Ocean

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hillsboro Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow on the Ocean
Save
You added Rainbow on the Ocean to your Saves list
1231 Hillsboro Mile, Hillsboro Beach, FL 33062   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Off-Season Summer Rates
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Let's get a few things out of the way: don't come to ROTO expecting room service, cardboard cutout room decorations, or whatever else you've come to expect after staying at a bunch of corporate hotels. This place is Old Florida. And as such, is awesome and a great deal. I stayed in a hotel room for three nights and it was perfect. Centrally located, clean and comfy and RIGHT ON THE BEACH. The pool was fine (it's on the smaller side), the grounds well-kept and the bed comfortable and firm. If you prefer corporate over character, don't come. But I'll be coming back!

Room Tip: All rooms have a parking lot and courtyard entrance, so just have to choose first floor or second!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    1
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Absolutely the most relaxing ten days we've enjoyed in years. The art deco motif, updated room, and friendly, proactive staff provided and experience that we'll relive next year ... we booked two weeks for December 2013. Our room had been recently remodled and was in keeping with the ambiance of Florida beach that was 50 feet from our door. The kitchen, while small, provided all of the appliances we're accustomed except for a dishwasher. Two years ago we stayed at the Deerfield Beach Embassy Suites which is a few hundred yards down the road from the Rainbow. This year we payed less and received so much more at the Rainbow.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodled/renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This little hotel may not be a 5 star but it has been our shining star along with the manager, Adonis for several years. Our snow ski and activities club has made this our "Weekend Getaway" destination for fun in the sun, swimming in the pool & ocean, beach party, cooking & eating extravaganzas and all around great weekend. We were just beginning to plan our annual summer weekend at the Rainbow and was informed of the passing of their wonderful manager- Adonis. All of us that went there every year are very saddened by the news and want to express our condolences to his wife Chris and the rest of the staff. He enjoyed our group, always had little surprise Gator pool toy gifts when we arrived, he was friendly and personable to us and very accommodating to our club. He will be missed! But, still give this gem a try and hope you'll be as pleased as we are!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This hotel is an ideal place for a family vacation, or for several families traveling together. We have stayed here every year for nearly 15 years. The location is wonderful, right on the beach, with a heated pool in the center of the courtyard. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, the staff is very helpful, and we always feel safe. If you want crowded glitz - stay somewhere else, but if you want relaxed, private and comfortable, this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

When we rented the two bedroom apartment, my first impression was this place has a mildew and old smell. The manager did give us febreze but the carpet, cabinets were so old. The beach was nice. The pool had a lot of sand in it. The paint outside was old and and depressing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This hotel is in a great location on the ocean and near some trendy restaurants, The heated pool was nice and the staff is very friendly but the rooms need some serious updating, my family had two different rooms they were in clean condition but that was it. The bathtubs would take a long time to drain and some of the doors would not open and close properly, the carpets were old, the beds were so hard and umcomfortable and the windows in the bedrooms did not have proper blinds to cover so alot of light would come in making it very hard to sleep in. The outside doors and windows were in poor shape. We were told it just changed management and they plan to renovate slowly.
So unless this gets totally removated do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the three remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wixom, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We have stayed here before that's why we went back. We know what to expect from the Hotel and the staff. Great location, pool is in great shape, right on the ocean which provides more beach than possible to walk in one session. Close to great restarurants, shopping . Rooms are clean and well appointed. Would suggest to both the young and not so young!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rainbow on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow on the Ocean

Address: 1231 Hillsboro Mile, Hillsboro Beach, FL 33062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Hillsboro Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Hillsboro Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring private beach access, this Florida paradise is surrounded by a beautiful tropical environment and offers a variety of accommodations, complete with many of the comforts of home. Rainbow on the Ocean is surrounded by an endless variety of recreational activities and popular sites. Deep-sea fishing, snorkeling, and luxury shopping are moments away. Guests can also experience gourmet restaurants, casinos and golf courses. Guests at the Rainbow on the Ocean will also appreciate in-room fully-equipped kitchens or microwaves and refrigerators. The hotel also offers a relaxing courtyard, complete with a heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow On The Ocean Hotel Pompano Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.