We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a fantastic time ,amazing facilities and brilliant location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sopley Lake Yurt Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sopley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sopley Lake Yurt Camp
Save
You added Sopley Lake Yurt Camp to your Saves list
Derritt Lane, Sopley BH23 7AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
brigton
1 review
“we had a fantastic time ,amazing facilities and brilliant location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The yurt was comfortable,very clean and beautiful.Even though we had typical english summer weather (drizzle and rain)the on site kitchen was under cover there as even a gazebo to put over the out door dinning area.
the only thing i would advise is take a toilet seat or potty for young children as this was tricky with seperater compostable toiet ad three year old
we will def be back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011 via mobile

We spent a week in the Dragon Yurt on Sopley Lake. The location is wonderful - we drove down a grass lane to a clearing in a wooded area on the edge of a lake, (perfect).
The Yurt itself was fabulous, beautifully furnished, very comfortable and much larger than we anticipated. The cooking station was very well equipped and immaculate. The shower was great and the compost loo was fascinating and didn't smell at all!
We had a magical time, we watched buzzards flying, geese coming back to roost and one night a badger pottered through. We sat round the campfire in the evening and lay in bed looking at the stars through the Yurt skylight. Our 8 year old rode his bike round the lake, flew his kite, launched rockets, picked fruit and collected wood for the fire. The iPod and DVD player we had brought as back up remained unpacked!
The surrounding area, The New Forest itself and the beaches are superb, as are the great local pubs and food - If you can bear to drag yourself away from the Yurt that is!
Happy to recommend to anyone - can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have just spent the most amazing couple of nights in the warmth and luxury of a Yurt. in the intimate and secluded surrounding of Sopley Lake this is a perfect place to stay for a completely different outdoor living experience.

I would highly reccomend this place for families, friends and couples. It is a great place. My girlfriend, who has never camped before, was surprised and loved the quality of the accommodation, facilities and finishings. The showers were very warm, the Yurt was fully equipt with everything you could need including a well apportioned cooking station.

Everything had been thought of from the charcoal chimney for the BBQ to the bedside torches for late night visits to the bathroom.

For a season camper like me and a non camper like my girlfriend this was a brilliant holiday that combined fresh air and outdoor living with comfort. After enjoying relaxing evenings in front of the campfire we would definitely consider coming again next year

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stunning location, private and secret piece of heaven.
Facilities fabulous...... they have gone above and beyond.

The Yurts are very beautiful and personal..... I had high expectations, these were met and went beyond...

Room Tip: we booked the main and baby yurt together...... both gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sopley Lake Yurt Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sopley Lake Yurt Camp

Address: Derritt Lane, Sopley BH23 7AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Sopley
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sopley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sopley Lake Yurt Camp has been the leading UK glamping destination since opening in 2011. Five yurts on four sites, all beautifully decorated with furnishings from North Africa across Asia to the Far East. The yurts are incredibly cosy and warm up in no time once the wood burner is lit on the coldest of nights. Each yurt has private facilities from a hot shower, composting loo, BBQ area, camp fire and fully equipped cooking station. The location is perfect (Pub within walking distance), lakeside views abundant with wild fowl and fish, close to the New Forest National Park (cycling, horse-riding, pubs) and the beaches near Bournemouth and Christchurch. Surrounded by PYO fields (seasonal fruit and veg available) and fresh farm produce delivered to your yurt fridge for your arrival. All part of our dedicated service and desire to give you the best glamping experience possible. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sopley Lake Yurt Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.