We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic food with an Atmosphere of its own” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Urban Grooves

Urban Grooves
99 Grimshaw Street, Greensborough, Banyule, Victoria 3088, Australia
9434 5444
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 34 Restaurants in Greensborough
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Basic food with an Atmosphere of its own”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Been to Urban Grooves a few times. This time we sat outside and had a gourmet Pizza and coffee. Liked sitting there watching the traffic go by.
I like popping into this place for a quick bite before a movie.
Only suggestion is an outside area for non smokers. I felt like I needed oxygen when we left but apart from that another good experience

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I recently celebrated my birthday here with a group of friends after not dining here for several years.
I shared the lamb pizza and a bowl of wedges with my husband.
Both were very generous serves and the food was delicious.
The cake selection is always great. I had a slice of white chocolate & raspberry cheesecake that was lovely.
The restaurant can get a bit noisy at peak times, but I found no problems on this occasion.
This restaurant is also ideal for catching up with a friend over coffee.
Decor is modern yet warm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Class cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very impressive and well located cafe. Coffe is very good, main course of salmon was superb and the creme brulee dessert was unbeatable. Friendly and attentive and somewhat fashionable staff. Well priced but can get crowded and some seating areas inside near the front window can get a little cramped. Outdoor seating options afford excellent people watching opportunities. Ample parking in a big carpark nearby out the back. Very classy, highly recommended and I will be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tugun, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great coffee, atmoshere & food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Used to live very near this restaurant (in fact worked for one of its previous owners under a different name) ... it's a great location, only wish there was a bigger footpath with big trees on it, but they do have their own under-cover canopy they can set up.

The coffee is great
The food is pretty good to great (depending on the dish)
The prices are reasonable
The staff are friendly

Lots of people meet there for a variety of reasons, personal & business ... and when I was studying at Latrobe Uni, I would sometimes take one of the side tables where it was a bit quieter to study on. You can see that seating in the main image on their website.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good value, decent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Pretty good local place for coffee and meals
The sharing plates are good and desert is amazing

Really nothing to fault
Just and over all good place

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Grooves also viewed

 

Been to Urban Grooves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Urban Grooves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.