We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we came back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments to your Saves list
Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1142 Mount Alexander rd, Essendon, Moonee Valley, Victoria 3040, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“So good we came back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed at the Essendon Grand a couple of years ago on business and were so impressed we booked the meeting room to hold a conference for our clients as well as enjoy some of the highlights of Melbourne. The main thing that first attracted us to this venue was the proximity of the airport, freeway and the public transport to the city.
The accommodation is very spacious, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We stayed at the back of the property so can't comment on any traffic noise from Mt Alexander Road. The tram stop is very close and there are lots of eateries and boutique shops on the doorstep and the train station is a few tram stops away. There is a Coles supermarket across the car park if you wish to self cater.
Kevin and Eva really make you welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The food provided for the conference was freshly made and every delegate commented on how good it was. We could not fault the service and organisation and would recommend the Essendon Grand as a venue for a small conference or meeting place or as a base for exploring more than just Melbourne City.
The conference booking is arranged through the Punthill events management team and although we only dealt with them by phone and email everything ran like clockwork. Infact even better than other conferences where we have had face to face meetings.

Room Tip: Rooms a the back of the hotel don't face the main road so could be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear coopsnz,

Thank you for your review of Punthill Essendon Grand. We are thrilled to hear that you had a good stay and that your conference was a success. Our conferencing team and managers at reception definitely go out of their way to provide outstanding customer service and ensure that our clients have a great experience at Punthill. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
8
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great location, Great staff, Great stay. I was there on business with the family in tow. Staff very helpful and with tram stop and reasonable selection of eateries nearby it was very convenient ... especially with Coles alongside. Would stay there again as accomodated all needs and with good access to airports and arterial roads and trams was easy to roam far and wide.

Room Tip: Initial concern about road noise etc. as a front room was allocated but found that not to be a major...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear w k,

Thank you for your review of Punthill Essendon Grand. We are pleased to hear that the accommodation suited your needs and you were able to access everything easily. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

we stayed 6 nights at Punthill Essendon in a two bedroom apartment. The hotel is located opposite a busy roundabout at the corner of Mt Alexander and Keilor Roads, however our apartment (103) was at the back of the property and consequently we didn't hear that much road noise at all, so sleep quality was good.

The apartment was well appointed, of good quality and clean. The beds were very comfortable and there was ample closet space. The ensuite had a separate shower, while the main bathroom had a shower over the bath, as well as a washing machine and dryer. The only potentia issue was that the main bedroom didnt have an airconditioning outlet, which while it didnt matter for our stay (was only around 20 degrees C) it might be a problem in summer.

The reception staff were very friendly and accommodating, and there were a lot of restaurants and eating places around the hotel. Demazzi Stone Grill was located under the hotel and you could book back to your room. They had a great range of wonderful food - the scallops in the seafood basket were fantastic! We also ate at Creme, Max's Corner and the Patisserie in Keilor road is well worth a visit - yum.

There is a tram stop right outside the hotel and the no 59 tram will take you right into the city, you will just need to purchase a Myki card before you travel, and there is a bus service to Tullamarine airport. Both Moonee Valley and Flemington Racecourses are also just a short tram ride away

Overall the hotel is well worth considering - we definitely will be back.

Room Tip: as hotel located on a busy roundabout, ask for a room at the back of the property, which are nice an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear belairtravellers,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Essendon.
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and found the apartments, service and location met all your expectations. We agree that this area of north-western Melbourne is very cosmopolitan, and it is also very easy to get into the CBD if required.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed here with my hubby and 1 yr old son the night before flying to Sydney. Chose the punt hill grand as no closer airport accommodation seemed to have 1 bedroom rooms.
The room was good and location easy to get to via public transport and lots of restaurants around to eat dinner.
Unfortunately our room was a little noisy at night due to being on such a noisy road.
Would stay again

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear AbbsG,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Essendon.
We agree that this property is in an excellent location in Essendon, with loads of options for dining very close by, plus the Tullamarine airport is only a 10 minute drive away.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Nice Apartments. Tram, Restaurants, Pups all nearby. The Qualität of the equipment in the kitchen is lower standard and Needs to be renewed. Overall Good for a long term stay. If you arrive on a saturday later than eight you have to ask for the Key at the door. Reception closed

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Roland B,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Essendon.
We agree that the location of this apartment hotel is conveniently situated to the local amenities and shops, as well as being only a short distance from Tullamarine Airport.
Our reception is open daily from 7am to 8pm, however we do have 24 hours staff on call, and easy arrangements for after-hours arrivals.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed two nights, first on business with use of the conference room, the meeting was catered for, morning tea and lunch both were at the time arranged,we could not have asked for better service. Second night was private and again found the service excellent, room was very clean and had everything I required, have no hesitation in recommending Punt hill in Essendon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear AGGHerveyBay,
Thanks so much for your lovely comments regarding Punthill Essendon.
We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, and that we could cater for both your business and leisure requirements during your two night visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I came here for a business meeting and conference we were having here. The conference room was actually really good and we will be going back there again for more meetings. I wasn't expecting much from the hotel or the area, but it turned out to be pretty nice so we ended up staying on longer and enjoyed it.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Bminutoli,
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed both the accommodation and conferencing facilities at Punthill Essendon, and thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments

Address: 1142 Mount Alexander rd, Essendon, Moonee Valley, Victoria 3040, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Moonee Valley > Essendon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Essendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Punthill Essendon Grand Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.