We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay without a car” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quest Castle Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Quest Castle Hill to your Saves list
Quest Castle Hill
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   8 Gladstone Rd, Castle Hill, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2154, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Don't stay without a car”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hotel is located in a warehouse area. Do not stay here unless you have a car because ordering cabs can take up to 45 minutes to arrive. No food is within walking distance so you are either wasting time waiting for cabs to get around the neighborhood or stuck eating 1 of 3 heavy carb prepackaged meal options for you to heat up.

As a female business traveler here are additional gripes about the hotel:
- no safety lock on the door
- no in-room safe
- no speaker phone
- no wireless internet
- non working heater in living space and no heater in the bedroom
- no counter space in bathroom to put anything down
- loud road on one side of hotel

Positive is that the room was clean and the water in the shower was hot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quest Castle Hill, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review,

In response to your review, i would like to take the opportunity to let you know that we do have 5 external restaurants that are on charge back with the hotel and will deliver. These restaurants cover a wide variety of choices. There is also two cafes open daily that are a five minute walk for breakfast or lunch. Our shuttle service can take you to a location within the Norwest business park or surrounding Castle Hill area from 7am -7pm, to avoid taxi delays in peak periods.

In relation to the rooms you are correct in that we do not provide safes in the room, but we can store any valubles in the hotel safe. We do have wireless internet available in the hotel and you just need to contact reception for the necessary paswords and device.

All our rooms have independant reverse cycle airconditioning that is maintened on a frequent basis, so i apologise for this not working during your stay.

All rooms do have a privacy lock installed for extra security.

I do thank you for your kind words in relation to the staff and the constructive feedback on the rooms, this will greatly assist us in improving our apartments.

Regards

Mathew Child
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
8
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

3 adults and 2 kids were visiting relatives neer Castle Hill. We had bad luck with the accommodation we had booked and needed something urgently. The people at Quest Castle Hill west out of their way to fit us in. We were looing for 3 bed rooms and finished up with a 1 bed room with a sofa and an ajoining Studio. They also took pitty on our plight and helped with their rates. Thanks Quest. We will not hesitate to stay with you again. One very small problem for the oldies. Our rooms were directly out side of a very well set up Gym. The kids loved it and spent a deal of time "working out". Not being over 16 they needed supervision which the oldies had to provide. All good. Thanks again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This property has small rooms that put one in mind of a Swedish prison cell, that is to say, they are perfunctory, newish, and utterly soulless. The rooms don't even have a spare blanket, but they do have fire detectors in every room that flash a little mini-lightning show precisely every 4 seconds all night, which would be entertaining if one didn't want some sleep.

This property charges $20 PER DAY for slow internet - and also requires a $150 "Internet Security Bond" What?

The gymnasium had a litany of issues that I left with the courteous young lady at the front desk, ranging from minor annoyances such as no clock in the gym, through to dangerously unmaintained and unusable equipment. Which was extraordinary given that there are only 4 pieces of equipment in the gym in total - one wouldn't think it would be much to maintain.

Finally, the careless air about the place was capped by the stunningly arrogant note provided in the lift by Verneice, the apparent manager, about fire alarms being falsely set off by cooking odors, and because the NSW Fire Service charges the property for each callout, that guests would be responsible for said charges. The leap that a poorly designed, poorly installed, and poorly maintained fire alarm system is at fault - you will be charged $825 if you're fool enough to attempt cooking in your "kitchen" (needless to say, kitchen and cooking is advertised).

If you have a need to stay in Castle Hill I recommend the Hills Lodge on the next block, for similar prices but much finer service.

Room Tip: Rooms in the competing Hills Lodge are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Quest Castle Hill, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your Review,

It was dissapointing to read your comments in relation to the rooms and the feeling that you felt from it. We are currently in the process of refurbishing the rooms and we have already completed part of the hotel. Although the size will not change we do offer more spacious 1 bedroom apartments for approximately $25 more.

The property does charge $20 for internet that is Wireless and unlimited time, the bond is to ensure that the wireless device is returned to reception upon departure. There is no bond for broadband connections and the rates fluctuate for broadband.

The charge for Fire alarm callout, is exactly what is charged by the fire brigade to attend a false alarm. This is why we have published the costs to ensure that guests are made aware. The only reason a fire alarm is activated is due to excessive smoke, if the ventalation system provided in the rooms is not activated when cooking then smoke will build up causing an activation. (Similar to most homes with smoke alarms)

We have in five years not had a call out to a room were ventalation systems are used. The hotel meets all fire requirements and building codes. Majority of our guests cook nightly and have never experienced any problems with the kitchens, designs or alarms.

Our gynasium is routinly serviced and maintained by an external company, we will however take up the suggestion of a clock as this is a valid item for a gym and should be present.

I thank you for your constructive feedback as it has been valuable for our training and development.

Kind Regards

Mathew Child
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Clean, comfortable and basic in an ikea style. Room was medium size and had everything we needed. Customer service was not great however they seemed to be fully booked by regular business travellers and did not seem to feel it neccesary to focus on customer service.
The gym was very basic - treadmill and one small multi station weights set.
Overall there was not a lot of atmosphere but it was fine for a quick stopover.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle NSW
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed there for two nights last weekend. It was clean but small -there was absolutely nowhere to put toiletries except a tiny glass shelf and the shower was over the bath which I hate.

Its great to have undercover free parking though and because of its location you probably wouldn't stay there without a car.
If I was on a business I would definitely recommend it

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed recently and were a little dissapointed with the quality and size of the rooms. My partner was ill and we asked for a quiet room closest to reception and our request was ignored which added to our stress on our trip away.

The price was very high for what we stayed in.

Would not visit again.

Room Tip: Do not book from website inspect rooms first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed here in the easter holidays while visiting family and while the room was great, the "rule" about "maximum three people per room" in a one bedroom apartment is very annoying - particularly when there are not any two bedroom apartments available. This is the sort of thing that outs families off chain hotels - when your children are small there is NO reason why you shouldn't be able to have two adults and two children in a one bedroom apartment. As it was, we just did it anyway and so broke their rules in the process. But hotels should not have such absurd rules that just make life harder (and a hell of a lot more expensive) for families. So while the room itself was great, the whole experience left a bitter taste.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quest Castle Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Castle Hill

Address: 8 Gladstone Rd, Castle Hill, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2154, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > The Hills Shire > Castle Hill
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Castle Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Castle Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing convenience and style, Quest Castle Hill Serviced Apartments boasts quality accommodation in North West Sydney, providing easy access to Norwest Business Park and all that the Sydney Hills district has to offer. Offering a range of studio, one, two and three bedroom self-contained serviced apartments plus onsite conference and meeting facilities, our accommodation is modern, stylish and designed with your comfort in mind. . The award-winning Quest Castle Hill Serviced Apartments is ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Quest Castle Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Castle Hill Sydney
Quest Castle Hill The Hills Shire, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quest Castle Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.