We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs more attention to details” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge to your Saves list
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Salisbury Rd (Corner Windsor Rd), Castle Hill, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2154, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Hill
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Good but needs more attention to details”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is in a relaxing location, had plenty of parking and friendly reception staff. We were grateful for the very effective aircon on a particularly hot afternoon. The room window was mostly obscured by a bush growing in front which needed some trimming. The duvet on our bed was way too thick and warm for a summer night though and we ended up sleeping half covered. The wifi was pricey but we were given 30 minutes for free when we mentioned this to reception.

Room Tip: Based on our experience, first floor rooms are likely to be much lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMGM9680, General Manager at Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Steven - thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and glad you enjoyed your stay. We apologise for some of our short comings. I agree some of our rooms do have obscured views due trees and shrubs, but realistically their is only about 5 rooms and have chosen to keep the foliage thicker for privacy reasons as these rooms are close to pathways around the hotel. In regards to internet prices although they were reduced a couple of months ago they are under review again. Kind regards Malcolm Mathie - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    141
    30
    4
    5
See reviews for
71
118
36
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The room and in room facilities were good overall, not sure its a four and a half star standard (e.g. house keeping is forceful in their approach to finish cleaning daily by 11am, they miss finer details such as restocking coffee and sugar and randomly take the in room key card that has been deliberately left by the guest - this is not a security measure) but value for money definitely. The front desk staff are friendly and very helpful.

The drawback is internet access, while adequate in terms of coverage and speed it is nothing short of highway robbery. The package whereby a guest is charged AUD50 for 7 days for a max 2GB download limit is criminal. There is no better way to describe it. The Lodge os not located in the country where cables run hundreds of kilometres to provide access. Instead the lodge is in suburbia where the cost of monthly internet access is AUD 60 for up to 200GB download per month. Granted the lodge is not on a residential package but i am sure they are not paying AUD200 per month for a maximum of 8GB per room. The limit is completely incongruous to the price and is nothing but a blatant rip off. The final nail in the coffin is the "fair use" statement that comes up when a guest reaches the 2GB limit. Fair use? The guest has paid for it has he not? To bring up fair use is an added insult to the already large injury a guest has sustained by paying AUD50 for the privilege of access. The way the whole process is executed removes the shine off anything else the Lodge or its staff do well. Three star hotels and above in Europe, Asia and the US offer free internet access - time to either adjust the pricing or catch up to the rest of the market. This is a major negative for the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMGM9680, General Manager at Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest - thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at The Hills Lodge - we value both positive and negative comments to help us improve our product. My sincerest apology for the problems with a couple of aspects of your stay. I agree the housekeeping finish time of 11am is too early and in fact was meant to be scheduled at 12, this has been changed with staggered start times for the quieter months, which is the only time this would occur. In regards to the internet issues unfortunately supply is not as simple as one would think it should be in suburbia and unfortunately due to proximity from the exchange we fall into what is termed a "pair-gain" area where we cannot gain acceptable bandwidth from DSL - copper, nor fibre services. Therefore we sourced a business grade wireless solution via a microwave dish, which is cost prohibitive. However we have been able to review and negotiate some changes to download limitations in the pricing whereby the 2 hour and 24 hour download limits have been doubled. In regards to the weekly charge, which was your main concern we have made the following improvements - the 7 day pricing has now been reduced from $59 to $49 and the total download limit has been increased from 2GB to 7GB and hope you find this much more favourable. Thank you for helping instigate a better valued service for future guests. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mudgee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Staying in Sydney can be problematic when visiting. What you need is accommodation that is easy to get to, provides a relaxing retreat from the Metro mayhem and one where everyone is treated as special. The Grand Mecure The Hills Lodge fits the bill!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMGM9680, General Manager at Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Jenny - thanks for the great review and very you enjoyed re stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Malcolm Mathie - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights here last week. We were so pleased with our room and with a booking of 4 adults and 2 small children we all had enough space! The staff were incredibly helpful and even after my 2 year old son managed to damage something in the room we were so impressed in the friendly and caring way the staff took care of the matter! I'll stay here every time I'm in Sydney now, not only for the lovely room but out of principle to say thanks!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMGM9680, General Manager at Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest - thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards Malcolm Mathie - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel and we did overall enjoy our short stay. Our main gripe was the extra charges - $19 for a days wifi!! In this day and age I just cant see why a hotel cant provide complimentary wifi. All the other 5* hotels in the cdb have got their act together and so should this place.

Went to use the gym before a swim, and was told their was a charge as its part of the spa. It wasnt much but i didnt pay out of principle. A good hotel should always have a swimming pool and gym included in the price. Hotels in Sydney arent cheap as it is.

We stayed for 1 night and they were pretty packed out with a wedding and a birthday bash. Staff were helpful considering they seemed pretty rushed off their feet - the restaurant staff in particular-not much in the way of service with a smile, very hard to catch their attention, and i had to get up and ask for sauce with what was a very dry schnitzel. Both outside and underground car parks were full and we had to park temporarily in the turning bay. When I went to move the car just before going to bed, the underground car park was still full. Not a problem but it would have been nice to have been able to make use of it.

Room was spacious and lovely. Very comfy bed and brilliant shower. Lovely view a the car park and other shopping units. But then hey, not much to look at around the area anyway.

Went to go for a swim and they had run out of bathrobes. Lovely pool for a night swim and a quick steam before bed!

Overall a pleasant hotel with friendly reception staff (woman at check out was lovely and handled a very bush period very well with a joke and a smile). Nice room, shame the 5* bathroom had a cheap $2 bin, the little things always add up. My gripe with the Wifi and gym charge may show up my british austerity mindset at the moment but it knocked it down a star rating for me.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMGM9680, General Manager at Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Chris - Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and apologise we have fallen below your expectations. Yes the internet is one of those topics under much debate at the moment, we have reduced our prices and now offer complimentary internet for Silver Accor LeClub members and higher. Just to clarify the gym charge is because it is at a gym next door to the hotel and not part of the hotel, which we pay for, but in no way part of the day spa, the pool and steam room are part of the hotel and of course complimentary. I will ensure we increase our bath robe supplies and review the bathrooms bins. I am glad overall you found the stay pleasant and hope to have resolved some of these concerns for the future. Kind regards Malcolm Mathie - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge

Address: 1 Salisbury Rd (Corner Windsor Rd), Castle Hill, The Hills Shire, New South Wales 2154, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > The Hills Shire > Castle Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge is a classic Tudor style building set in beautifully landscaped gardens, just 30 minutes drive from the centre of Sydney. Conveniently located opposite Norwest Business Park, the lodge features 97 rooms, restaurant, bar, heated swimming pool, day spa and 4 function rooms for up to 200 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge The Hills Shire/Castle Hill, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure The Hills Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.