We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“for a pub it had all you need and rooms are modern & clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Cook Hotel

Captain Cook Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Captain Cook Hotel to your Saves list
Captain Cook Hotel
1114 Botany Road, Botany, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2019, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
maitland nsw
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“for a pub it had all you need and rooms are modern & clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Although I was ripped off by the taxi that took me there from the airport ($16.80) must have been the long way the hotel itself is just like a country pub. The only thing that shocked me that I have'nt seen for a very long time was the "topless waitress". Had a giggle at all the men trying to focus on her eyes. The food was good and staff very helpfull. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
7
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Carlota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

good rooms with all you need for a cunfortable stay good pub for a drink as well with good food at the bistro my wife and I era happy to go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

The Captain Cook Hotel was a revelation. Close to the airport, modern comfortable rooms, reasonable price, a great Thai style cafe for evening meals and a full breakfast across the road for $7.50

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

This was the only place that had a vacancy for New Years Eve near Sydney at short notice (booked in Dec.). The one review I did find on the internet gave it terrible terrible reviews so I had my trepidations. But I was desperate so I booked it. And what a very pleasant surprise to find it was not at all horrible as the review gave. Perhaps the person had stayed before they renovated. But our room #10 was very modernly furnished with coffee maker, TV, alarm clock, A/C. The pub offered no food b/c the cook had apparently just quit. There are a few other places down the street that offer food though. The are located right by the bus so it was just maybe a half hour to ride into the city. Also located very close by the airport. My only regret, not getting to sample a drink at the bar.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Cook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Hotel

Address: 1114 Botany Road, Botany, Botany Bay, New South Wales 2019, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Botany Bay > Botany
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Botany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Captain Cook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Cook Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.