We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabethan Lodge

Elizabethan Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Elizabethan Lodge to your Saves list
Elizabethan Lodge
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   604-610 Middleborough Road, Blackburn, Whitehorse, Victoria 3130, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Blackburn B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had a 4 week stay here.
Negotiated a rate i was happy with after inspecting 1 room.

The room is really outdated, quite small and small bathroom.
Facilities are ok, tennis court, pool, spa.
Breakfast wasnt included in the rate. but plenty of close by places to eat.
Its only 10 mins drive to the city via the eastern freeway so thats a plus.

It was hard to get parking at times when a wedding was on.

If i was to stay again it would be for a few days at the most, and not paying rack rate.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
6
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We booked in for the night to attend wedding on premises.
Room was nice and clean, agree some of furniture was a bit dated but that in no way effected our stay.
Bed was really comfortable and we both had a great nights sleep.
Very convenient if attending a function on the premises.
Family members had a two bedroom unit and that was very spacious with everything they needed including. Dining table that sat six and a full kitchen all be it a bit old fashioned.
The only thing we felt could have made the stay a bit better would have been the ability for all the family staying after the wedding to meet in the morning for breakfast. We could have had breakfast delivered to each room but we wanted to eat all together and this was not available even though there was a dining room and bar onsite.
If we were attending another function we would have no problems staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a little way out of the Melbourne CBD, the rooms are clean, Beds are comfortable.
Some room look a little tired but they seem to be doing rooms up as i have stayed there twice this year and planning to return for a third visit this year.
The staff are always friendly and can not do enough for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Travelled to Melbourne for a friends wedding, an accommodation package at the Elizabethan Lodge was offered for persons attending the wedding, I thought this will be great, sadly mistaken.

As stated above, WHERE DO I START. First I believe I'm generous in rating it as POOR. They stated the room I had was $235 per night room, and I only had to pay $135, well all I can say is my $135 pn was way too much.

It started with reception, I was called to say reception is not open after 4.30pm, very unprofessional. So if you arrive later than 4.30 pm, who knows what you have to do.

Next is the room, the supposedly $235 pn room.

All night I had to put up with this terrible musty smell in the room, like it hadn't been cleaned in years, or they have a very bad moisture problem that needs immediate repairs, get it fixed.

The bathroom was a scene out of some bad scientific lab, where the bath was being tested as a giant petri dish, there was mould everwhere.

If your afraid of spiders, don't come here, as there were 3 spiders hovering above me all night. People a bit of insect spray wouldn't go astray.

And what really made me cringe was the very large stain on the doona blanket, who knows what the hell that was!!!!

If your bored and you want to watch TV, take a book as Noah wants his TV back. It only had 4 channels, it had to have come of the Ark.

And to top it off, the weather is still warm enough to swim in their pool, don't go there either, because you can't, it's empty????

Room Tip: Look around
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Due to the mixed reviews on tripadvisor I was rather unsure about this venue. I have to say it was okay though. We booked the one bedroom unti and it was very clean and spacious and had all we needed. Reception staff were a bit laid back and tended to smoke at the bottom of our stairs which I was not too happy about. The morning paper was part of "the deal" but although we stayed there three nights wasn't delivered once. The staff were quite happy to hand one over when I went to collect it.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a one bedroom unit as they are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We stayed in a bridal suite as we prefer king size bed. They had 2 weddings that weekend, but we were away both nights, so it was very quite when we came back. No breakfast buffet, room service, so not as good as expected. Staff were lovely and helpful. Rooms had been done up and clean, spa in bathroom too.
We thought the freeway and road may have been noisy, but not at all and slept well.
Price was good and value for money!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

i stay here at least twice a month while passing thru the staff are always helpful, rooms are always clean and the buffet breakfast is always hot and fresh.......100%

Room Tip: i always ask for several room keys to test out the bed for softness
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blackburn
1.0 mi away
Beau Monde International - a boutique Hotel
8.6 mi away
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#83 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
10.2 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Quest Mont Albert
Quest Mont Albert
#1 of 1 in Mont Albert
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
8.9 mi away
420 Punt Boutique Guesthouse
1.4 mi away
Shoppingtown Hotel
Shoppingtown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Doncaster
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabethan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabethan Lodge

Address: 604-610 Middleborough Road, Blackburn, Whitehorse, Victoria 3130, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Whitehorse > Blackburn
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Blackburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elizabethan Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Elizabethan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabethan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.