We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting and Cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebell Bed and Breakfast

Bluebell Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackburn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bluebell Bed and Breakfast
19 Whitehorse Road, Blackburn, Whitehorse, Victoria 3130, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Blackburn B&B and Inns
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Inviting and Cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Can highly recommend this B&B - room was lovely & comfortable, owner's greeting was very welcoming and good continental breakfast. Normally when away from home, have trouble sleeping in an unfamiliar place; for the first time ever had 3 good night's sleep during the stay. Will book again next time I am in Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Had a nice stay for 4 nights right up to the last day when we were treated pretty poorly by the House Keeper, Julie. We were earlier told that breakfast was flexibile even up to 10.30am (by the owner) but after we had checked out at 10am on the last day and while we were having breakfast we were told off by the Julie for messing up her table set up and that she will have to set it up again because of us! Even the day before she was dictating terms and asking if she could get her linen before 10am so she could finish her work early. The other House Keeper is lovely though. Called the owner to let him know and he didn't seem the least bit interested.

I wouldn't recommend staying here especially not Room 6 which is next to the kitchen and gets very noisy when guests start to come in for breakfast.

Room Tip: Not room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

As we were visiting family nearby, the location suited us very well. It is close by the railway station and suburban shopping, and a one stop train ride to Box Hill shopping complex.
The rooms were meticulously clean and of a good standard, with ensuite, TV, fridge, and good bedside lighting. The breakfast room is elegant, and the property has a communal kitchen to use if required. The owners do not live on site, but are friendly and quick to respond to any requests. All in all we were very happy and would certainly use again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

We chose this B&B as it seemed close to Melbourne for our first 4 day sight-seeing trip to the city. Unfortunately, the property was just a little too far outside of the city centre being 40 minutes by train and a walk. The train service was excellent however, although the graffitti is very extensive on the route and it is not attractive pictures, just lots of scribble. The property is also on a very busy main road and so having the window open, especially if you are in the front bedroom makes it very noisy. There is no air conditioning nor as most Ozzie properties double glazing, but for winter months it does have central heating.

The B&B was clean but fairly impersonal and somewhat basic. The owner does not live on the property and breakfast is self-service. This means cereal is on the side with tea/coffee packets, butter and conserves. Bread, milk (UHT) and juice can be found in the fridge, to help yourself You can make tea/coffee anytime of day. On the positive side the kitchen is fully equiped with cooker and microwave, so you can make your own meal or even warm up a takeaway. Many of the occupants appear to be business people who stay more than 2 weeks so the kitchen and self-service is very helpful to them, as is the free use of a washing machine and tumble dryer; whilst if you are hoping that you host is around to chat with and perhaps provide a more personal view of Melbourne, you will be disappointed.

Don't expect Tea/Coffee facilities in your room and only basic soap is provided. Clean towels were provided every day (1 per person) however we were provided with handtowels when requested.

  • Liked — clean and good bed
  • Disliked — self service
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bluebell Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebell Bed and Breakfast

Address: 19 Whitehorse Road, Blackburn, Whitehorse, Victoria 3130, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Whitehorse > Blackburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Blackburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebell Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bluebell Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list