We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room - friendly hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fen House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fen House to your Saves list
Fen House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Fen Road | BURY ST EDMUNDS, Pakenham, Bury St. Edmunds IP31 2LP, England (Formerly Fen House B&B)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Pakenham B&B and Inns
Kennesaw, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable room - friendly hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at Fen House for four nights in May. There was a friendly welcome from Lynn and Glen. Our room was large, had great storage space, a comfortable bed and the bath was large with a walk in shower and heated towel bars. Our breakfast was cooked to order and we so enjoyed looking at the birds in the lovely garden. Our hosts made us feel at home and were very helpful. We liked the country location for its quiet and relaxing feel. We would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the first floor room at the front of the house with a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
18
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ESSEX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My daughter and I have recently spent one night in this accommodation whilst visiting Bury St Edmunds. Couldn't have been more delighted. There was a nice friendly welcome awaiting us.
We were shown around the well decorated and spotlessly clean property before being taken to our room. This was well equipped, a large double bed, en-suite shower, tv, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. The breakfast provided was excellent, full english, eggs benedict or just something on toast, Plentiful cereal, fresh fruit and yogurt all excellently presented, followed by continuous tea or coffee. The grounds are fully landscaped and a walk around them should not be missed. I would not hesitate to return, in fact I tried to book another weekend but it was fully booked! I shall try again soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fenhouse, Owner at Fen House, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was great to meet you and we hope we will see you
again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Friendly welcome. Big fresh clean modern room with en suite. Everything you would hope for and more. I can't think of any faults, the shower is adequate power wise. The breakfast room overlooks the garden. I only had scrabbled egg on toast and it was spot on. I wouldn't hesitate to come back here and would recommend to one and all......

Room Tip: Any, would imagine they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have just had 3 nights at this B&B and this is the best by far. The breakfast was really good excellent quality of food and plenty to have, Lynn & Glyn were the perfect hosts nothing was too much trouble made us feel at home. The bedroom was spotless and clean and comfortable with tv and en-suit and plenty of hanging space, If we are down that way again we will definitely be booking in there again fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I only stayed one night in this B & B but would have been delighted to have stayed more. I had Bedroom 1, a large spotlessly clean bedroom with a comfortable king size bed and an en-suite shower room with a nice large shower. The room and en-suite were very nicely decorated and furnished with as much draw space and hanging space as you could ever wish for. Every amenity thatyou want is in the room. The hosts are really welcoming and the breakfast was really tasty, excellent quality food and there was lots of it. I considered the nightly tariff to be really excellent value and would certainly stay there again.

Go on, - book it, - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My family and I had booked elsewhere for 2 nights, but after one we were searching for somewhere else to stay. This lovely B&B saved the weekend for us!

We had the family suite on the top floor, two double bedrooms and a family bathroom. The rooms were clean and modern, with lovely comfy beds, TV, DVD player and lots of tea, coffee and hot chocolate.

The bath looked very inviting, but alas no time, but the shower was powerful and hot, lots of towels and bathrobes provided for us.

The owner even gave us a lift to a family function as she explained taxis were expensive as they weren't local.

Breakfast next morning was ideal. Some had cooked, but I had continental, which came in a heated basked with lots of pastries and croisants. There was a good selection of fruit, cerials and yogurts to choose from.

I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone, and wish we had found it before our disasterous first night elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here with my wife for just 1 night as we were visiting family for a 40th party. It felt like we were hardly here though as we didn't arrive until around 6pm, went out an hour later, came back and slept, had breakfast and left. The room was a decent size, but the bathroom was pretty tight although there was a double shower with a great power shower. There was plenty of cupboard space and the whole room was very clean and well presented. In case the owners or anyone else is wondering why i gave 3 stars for value and sleep quality I'll explain. At home we have a memory foam mattress which I love and they have a similar mattress here but for some reason I didn't sleep that well and woke up with my back slightly restless. We paid £80 for the room which is fine and I'm not saying it's not worth it, it's solely because we hardly had any time to make use/enjoy the room (which I know is our fault).


Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fen House

Address: Fen Road | BURY ST EDMUNDS, Pakenham, Bury St. Edmunds IP31 2LP, England (Formerly Fen House B&B)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bury St. Edmunds > Pakenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Pakenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fen House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 star rated self catering holiday home with 3 double bedrooms, 2 with King Beds and 1 with double bed, large lounge/diner, fully equipped kitchen including washer/dryer,dishwasher,double oven/hob, fridge/freezer, microwave.The large lounge has French doors opening onto private patio and access to landscaped gardens.Free WIFI.Children are welcome and ample parking on private driveway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fen House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.