We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bodrum Royal Heights

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bodrum Royal Heights to your Saves list
Bodrum Royal Heights
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Hisar Mevkii Dort tepe koyu Tuzla,Mugla, Bogazici 48201, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Royal Heights, beginning of October for a few days its a lovely resort with fantastic views although difficult to get around far without a car, the shop at the top was great, well stocked, the sunset restaurant was nice and also had free wifi. The beach could do with some cleaning and if you miss the shuttle bus then its a long way up. Did not use any of the facilities ie gym hammam ...The dolmus service going to Milas and Bodrum is really good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Littleborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Top floor two bedroom apartment with a 70sqm roof terrace. Views to die for, peace and tranquility but with much to do for those who wish to. Excellent sister resort at Turquoise with full use of their facilities. Apartment luxurious, all mod cons, staff friendly and helpful - we will be returning in 2013!

Room Tip: 3 A/C units in apartment so no issues with heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
4,664 helpful votes 4,664 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

…. And a killer view…

PREAMBLE: if you are not * a view person* and breathtaking direct sea view is not an imperative for your holiday or vacation, better book some other place. But... if you are * to die for view* type, the place is definitely for you. The view from the unit balcony is smth that takes your breath away, smth the memory of which will warm you up during winter and tedious autumn months, smth that you want to absorb like a sponge and keep it deep in your soul…… It energizes and relaxes you in the same time, it leaves you speechless, and it will be the first thing any guest photographs when he/ she enters the apartment.

To the review then……

1/ Royal Heights is not a hotel ( !!!!!!), but apartment complex, the attention to the details is proportional especially in the area of maintenance, cleanness(!!!), condition of facilities etc. Being a guest of RH you can use the facilities of all three neighboring complexes (Flamingo Country Club, Turquoise and Royal Heights). The facilities in RH contain of:
Infinity Outdoor pool, indoor pool, sauna, Turkish hammam, beach club, café/ restaurant, night club (so called), gym and monorail-elevator.

2/ Infinity pool. Average size, about 25 meters in a slight curve. Been cleaned only once a week or so it seems due to the bottom cleanness. If you dive into the pool you have a nice picture of all drowned humankind activity possible - plastic cups, plates, paper tissues and human hair clogs ( brrrr) – all that remain there if you dive tomorrow and day after tomorrow , probably too… The pool area is also very small, the space is barely enough for 9-10 sunchairs ( the complex has about 100 units). The bar at the pool is tended by a guy from upstairs restaurant who was wearing same never-washed T-shirt during my whole stay, and it was nothing like a uniform.
The swimming pool with a slide is smaller in size and popular with neighboring unit’s guests.
3/ Indoor pool, sauna, Turkish hammam, gym. Oh…….. the gym is in the category * everything is broken and nobody does care*, the hammam staff use the room as a dry closet for the used towels.
On the weights rack in the gym there is only one 4 kg orphan (home alone), all the other pieces went on vacation to see Stonehenge and promised to send a postcard ( we are still waiting). All machines are not operational. After a couple of my encounters with management people I have the impression they are fully aware about the situation and appalling condition of the gym, but have zero care and simply prefer to do nothing. As a remedy to the situation - the gym in Turquoise is well equipped and in a perfect trim, go there for your daily workout, the gym key is given via a 50 TL (refundable) deposit.

BEWARE: if you use their massage service, have in mind that they do not wash towels after clients, but dry them and re-use. Totally unhealthy practice IMO.
If you`d like to use hammam ( which is presumably free for the guests) you have to break through the cordon of spa staff that forces you to buy ANYTHING from them and immediately with DISCOUNTED (!!!) prices that supposed to lure you into their nets. Your honest intention to avoid their service leaves a sour expression on the the staff faces etc….and you have a clear understanding that you are NOT welcome there.

4/ beach club. The first impression – i`m in Beirut after bombardment…….- chipped paint on the jetty, half-torn basket like umbrellas on the rusty sticks cemented into the plastic buckets, dirty ( oh, so dirty) foam pillows on the pier, dirty sunchairs, rusty protruding nails on the jetty edge (have a look at the picture) and VERY pushy and intrusive personnel of the beach bar. The guys must STOP seeing the complex guest as their personal milking cows that exist for their convenience and no more. They even tried to extort payment from me for using the sunchairs on the beach, but QUICKLY lost their eagerness after I said that I gonna report their behavior/ money demands to the management ( REMEMBER: the guests of the resort have a right to use ALL facilities for free – no exceptions). I was never bothered since this argument.
The daily garbage is removed from the garbage bins, but the jetty floor is never swept and washed, if you saw a used tissue under your sunbed today, please come tomorrow to see the same used tissue on the same spot and a lot more from the previous day activity. The spilt beverages, apple corks, ice-wraps, used cocktail straws are under the same rule - remain untouched on the floor for years.
And all of THAT could be easily forgotten and redeemed if the SEA water would be clear. It`s hard to say what was the origin of the problem – proximity of the fishing community, currents and tides issues, season of the year, closeness to the sewage system (???) etc etc….but from The Aegean sea in August I expected a LOT MORE. The actual picture was the tide of filth that beats upon the high shore of this world………….The filth was almost the same every time of day ( morning or afternoon, ESPECIALLY in the afternoon) , the contents and quality of the garbage that was rocking on the waters I will not describe……………….
Sea life in the direct proximity is limited to few species of fish, rare scats and crabs…….you can bring your snorkel equipment, but the enjoyment of using it is almost none.
5/ Transport. The complex has a monorail elevator with two lines: resort entrance-swimming pool and swimming pool – beach. The travel time is about 15 min/ one way. The elevator on the second line ( to the beach) was working only two days in August.
Also a free shuttle service from the beach to the Flamingo and Turquoise is available thought the day.
Dolmus ( public) bus is available to Bodrum and Milas from the bust stop at Migros/Sunset market. The fare is 6 TL to Bodrum, 5 TL to Milas per person. The timetable is available at the bus stop, the actual arrival of the bust is somewhat delayed every time, but waiting time is about 10 min. There is no public transport to the airport. Use taxi (negotiate the price before flag down) or better have stress-free prebooked return transfer.
6/ Location. If someone says that the area is hilly, that`s a lie, the truth is the HR is built on the MOUNTAIN slope with entrance in the highest point and serpentine of the units descending from the top to the bottom where the beach is. So… the truth is – you can go DOWN, but climbing back on your own is simply impossible ( or tedious and heart breaking torture under the scorching sun)– shuttle or monorail are your only solutions. From this point of view the resort is not recommended for the elderly, people with disabilities, families with small kids are also problematic.
The altitude difference between the highest and lowest point of the resort is more than 200m.
7/ Food supply. Migros convenience store is just 100 m down the road from the HR main gate. Over there you can find ANYTHING – from toothpicks to the charcoal, yoghurts, fresh greens, meat etc etc. It`s REALLY a life savoir………and a solution of all supply problems in the self-catering resort.
ATM is just down the road from the resort entrance on your way to Migros.
8/ Apartment itself. We rented bright and sunny Oyster 9, 2 nd floor, direct sea view, private roof terrace, nicest balcony, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. Very spacious and convenient for the relaxed vacation for the family of 2 adults+1-2 kids, if you have 3 kids or more I would recommend to rent a 3 br apt in order not to convert a living room into dormitory of a kind. The kitchen is sufficiently equipped with cutlery, plates, cooking utensils, glassware, pots and pans. Living/ dining area is also nicely decorated with artistic fixtures and floor plants (artificial). All pics on the official page are true and correspond the actual look of the apartment. A table with 4 chairs is also provided – separate set on the balcony and in the dining area as well.
LCD TV, DVD payer, iPOD dock, small collection of DVD movies and few books.
Bedrooms ( king size and two twin beds) are of a modest look - beds and small wardrobe only. A color scheme of the apartment consists of beige/tawny/ brown shades with occasional plash of green (pillows) and blue ( a triptych painting above the TV.
The cleaning equipment is provided. The cleaning that is included into your rental is only before and after your stay. Towels and linens are provided, change – no. Please do not forget to bring your beach towels, those in the apartment are for hand and bath use.
The apartment is NON-smoking only (applause). Pets are not allowed (sadly).
PROBLEMS:
# the apartment is NOT as well equipped as mentioned on the official page. There is NO microwave and dishwasher, if you count on the presence and convenience of these devices, your hopes are in vain. The electric items that present are : stove, tea kettle, toaster, fridge, hob, washing machine, iron, TV, iPOD dock, DVD payer.
# I have to say that i found the effort and work of the cleaning team UNSATISACTORY. The stove surface was disgustingly greasy and with chunks of baked grime around the heating rounds (have a look at the picture). The roof terrace floor was as dirty as it was never cleaned since the construction date. The cigarette butt in the roof terrace corner was left for me as a welcome gift from the previous tenants, it seems.
# Water and electricity breakage. During my stay I can report 4 water and 3 electricity breakouts. Have a bucket of water for the toilet emergency or such (always).
# Air conditioning. The usage of the AC is metered (all the other electric appliances are not). The allowed credit is 15 GBP a week. Out of my experience 2 GBP a day is barely enough to the work of 2 AC (together, in two bedrooms) for 10 hours during the night, and there is no question to use AC during the day. So… be thrifty or prepare yourself to buy a supplementary card.
The AC unit is the living room is exceptionally greedy and eats more money than two bedroom ACs working together, be careful with this hungry guy.
The info about * electricity rules* I received only 4 day before my arrival, having booked 4 months in advance this notion took me unprepared. About the credit allowed ( 15 GBP a week) I learned only after I entered the apartment. It was never mentioned during the booking process and negotiations with the brokers.
# Insects. The problem to report was a constant march of centipede looking animals in all rooms and toilets of the apartment. I have no idea about the scientific name of the creatures ( have a look at the picture), to me they look menacing enough and, frankly speaking , i`m not fond of the idea to share my living space with insectoids. Luckily the guys traversed only the floor, not the pillows and beds…. Thank you, dear Turkish centipedes. I suggest the apartment to be fumigated after the end of the season etc. With mosquitoes we have no problems and only a few encounters. The resort premises are fumigated once a week to prevent the spread of mosquito population.
# Sleeping quality. I have to say i`m not a light sleeper and rarely have problems with new beds and beddings. But after a vacation in Oyster 9 I have to report that I slept soundly only few occasional nights, and it`s in the conditions of 24/7 fresh air, healthy food, and eco environment???? Why?
The answer is the simple: that there is literally NOTHING between you and the springs inside the mattress. The mattress COVER does not exist, only a thin bed sheet, and your actually FEEL every seam on the mattress and every spring that pokes your ribcage and your back during the night. If you plan a short rent it`s probably OK, if - a week or longer, have this sleeping issue in mind.
# Wifi. There is no coverage in the units, only in the RH pool restaurant area. Probably it was made on purpose to attract guest to the eating/ drinking places. But really… in the 21st century to provide internet in the apartment anywhere in the world is not a REAL problem.
The wifi in the Turquoise restaurant/ swimming pool is an open network (no password), and the quality of the signal is better there.

9/ In the end I have to THANK everyone who was patient enough to read my opus up to the very end. If you have any further questions, please contact me.

Regards


Schonefeld

Room Tip: Avoid units sided by monorail. Ground floor apartments do not have a view at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We had a 3 bedroom villa (whelk 6) at this resort. It is a very nice 2 storey villa with it's own small pool. The resort has several other pools and waterslides and facilities available and we also used the facilities at sister resorts nearby. You will need a car to get around as the whole situation s off the beaten track and rugged. There is a good supermarket nearby

Downsides - I expected the villa and it's grounds to be better maintained considering only opened in 2010. The quality of the resort could be upgraded. It s still nice but could be very nice!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bodrum Royal Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodrum Royal Heights

Address: Hisar Mevkii Dort tepe koyu Tuzla,Mugla, Bogazici 48201, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bogazici
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Bogazici
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodrum Royal Heights 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Bodrum Royal Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodrum Royal Heights Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodrum Royal Heights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.