We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine to your Saves list
Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine
Carretera de Soria N-122 km 332,5, 47340 Sardon de Duero, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sardon de Duero
Origgio, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

For the second time I had the privilege to spend some days at Abadia Retuerta and for the second time I was amazed by the outstanding level of service received, not to mention the incredible facilities of the Hotel.
It is a unique experience that starts when you enter the main gate and will only ends (unfortunately) when you check out, that is difficult to explain with few words, you really have to experience it. I am staying in Hotels and eating in Restaurants for many days over the year but I never experienced something that is even close to what you can get in Abadia.
I really look forward to come back again for other magical moments
Thanks Mirko

Room Tip: Any from "small" to suites are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abadia Retuerta L, Gerente at Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Mr. Mirko,

Thank you so much for your latest recent visit to Abadia Retuerta LeDomaine and for taking the time to fill out our guest questionnaire as well as mentioning us at Tripadvisor .

It is very important for us hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services and accommodations.

Once again, thank you for having chosen us again as your preferred hotel and for helping us to meet your expectations and delight your senses.


We all are Looking forward to have you back again and to provide magical Butler service in a near future.

Sincere regards,

Ángel Molero
Rooms Division Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
71
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel has to be amongst the worlds best on a dollar for dollar basis, and the rooms are done up to the nines in a very special old monastery. About as good as it gets.
Not cheap... about 800 USD for a night with food etc, but it still is value given the standard in all areas. Many other pricier hotels should take a look here.
And the staff from reception all the way through are faultless. It is in the middle of nowhere but for a night or two of romance it is pretty special.
Only thing it needs is a swish pool to relax by, but that is being built for next year I believe.
Nice couple of nights out of Madrid, or as a stopover to San Sebastian.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abadia Retuerta L, Gerente at Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your latest recent visit at Abadia Retuerta LeDomaine and for taking the time to fill out our guest questionnaire as well as mentioning us at Tripadvisor. It is very important for us hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services and accommodations.

Our rates raise from 390 USD up to 1.000 USD always depending on room types and as well as you are mentioning on the food, Depending on the restaurants; Refectory or Vinoteca choices.


At LeDomaine it is a pleasure to strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our ability and do our utmost to make our clients' stay as comfortable as possible. We appreciate your comments concerning the Reception Staff, they will feel very thankful!

Concerning the swish pool, we wish to inform you that The former stable of the ancient abbey is being transformed into a nurturing sanctuary of holistic healing and wellness launching in Spring 2015 with an outdoor pool facing the Vineyards and an Indoor one.

Once again, thank you for having chosen us again as your preferred hotel and for helping us to meet your expectations and delight your senses.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back for a third stay in a near future

Sincere regards,

Ángel Molero
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

It was not our first stay in Abadia but, like at the first one, one year ago, we liked everything. The vigneards and the trails, the suite (and the view...), the main restaurant (just for breakfasts), the casual resto/bar, a very cosy space with good food and good wine (this time we discovered the Pago Negralada) and the quality of service from the whole staff. It's a very good choice to spend a couple of days at Ribera del Duero.

Room Tip: 1st floor has better views over the vigneards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abadia Retuerta L, Gerente at Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your latest recent visit at Abadia Retuerta LeDomaine and for taking the time to fill out our guest questionnaire as well as mentioning us at Tripadvisor. It is very important for us hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services and accommodations.

At LeDomaine it is a pleasure to strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our ability and do our utmost to make our clients' stay as comfortable as possible.

Once again, thank you for having chosen us again as your preferred hotel and for helping us to meet your expectations and delight your senses.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back for a third stay in a near future

Sincere regards,

Ángel Molero
Rooms Division Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The reception we received was perfect. 2 of the staff were outside waiting for us. They probably saw us arrive at the main entrance with CCTV, but it shows attention to detail. The staff were very
welcoming and the whole check-in process was a pleasure. The grounds are beautiful, as is the room, bathroom and furnishings. Unfortunately the A/C doesn't cool the room enough due to the system they use and you need a second key as the first one stays in the wall. The pool and spa won't be ready until next year which will change things a great deal. As its a top hotel it's not cheap, so I wasn't too happy to pay (30€) for the vineyard tour. As the owner of both is the same company it should be included, just add it to the room rate to improve the experience. The restaurant has a too chef and it's good, but it is avant-garde so maybe not to everyone's taste but the setting is great and the staff very professional. We will go back when the pool & spa are open.

Room Tip: We haven't seen all the rooms but judging by ours I would say that they must all be great. It bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abadia Retuerta L, Gerente at Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Lonestarbc,

Greetings from Abadia Retuerta LeDomaine!!

Thank you very much for your recent visit and also for taking the time to fill in our guest comment card and the following comment at TripAdvisor.
We are glad that the Butler team did succeed and pleased you on your welcome at LeDomaine.

Please also note that we had check with our Head Maintenance Manager in order to to maximize our A/C , Eco - friendly system, Thank you for sharing this comments as they are vital and of great importance for all the team at Abadia Retuerta LeDomaine in order to improve and strive our accommodations and facilities.

I wish to inform you of the work progress of The Spa:

The opening will be in April 2015, 10.000 Sq ft of an outstanding Spa, with an indoor and outdoor pool facing the vineyards.Separeted treatment rooms and prime facilities.

We are evaluating your comment concerning the winery visit and immediate actions will be taking, Thank you for your proposal of adding it to the room rate, it is a great idea and we will consider it even do it is hard to assure availability as there is great demand on winery visits for Hotel guests and also for visitors.

We look forward to welcome you back in a near future, please contact me directly in order to arrange a personalized winery visit at our side. It will be a pleasure.

Kind Regards,
Angel Molero.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I have traveled extensively in Europe on business over the last 30 years and have stayed in most of the great hotels of the continent. Le Domaine ranks among the best, if not the best, in terms of total experience. This is the place, if you are looking for a quiet recluse a couple hours from Madrid or a base to explore Rioja or Ribera Del Duero wine country. A beautiful setting in a renovated XIII century convent. The rooms were lovely and had thoughtful amenities such as a Nespresso machine. The service is really wonderful. The staff is competent, cheerful and anxious to be helpful with no trace of pretense. They will give you as much or as little attention as you want and seem to know what you want before you ask for it. Hard to imagine getting better overall service. There is a really fabulous wine cellar (ask for the tour) and a very knowledgeable sommellier who has a comprehensive knowledge of wines and seems to know all of the Spanish winemakers personally. The food is good but is not it's main asset. The Abadia winery across the road is very good and the folks there very generous with their time and happy to talk about their wines and Ribera Del Duero wines in general.

This really is the pinnacle of what a resort hotel should be.

Room Tip: get an "08" suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abadia Retuerta L, Gerente at Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Arnold,



Thank you so much for your recent visit to Abadia LeDomaine and for taking the time to fill out our guest questionnaire. It is very important for us hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services and accommodations gaining even more importance due to your traveling background.

At LeDomaine it is a pleasure to strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our ability and do our utmost to make our clients' stay as comfortable as possible. We are glad that you did appreciate the staff efforts and the rooms .

Once again, thank you for having chosen us as your preferred hotel and for helping us to meet your expectations and delight your senses.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcoming you to our corner of Paradise in Ribera del Duero.

All your comments had been transmitted to the team.

Sincere regards,

Ángel Molero
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

From its beautiful design and luxurious amenities to the warm and attentive service, Le Domaine offers everything you could want from this type of property and setting. Complaining about any aspect would be a lie of a magnitude that would justly earn you some serious penance from the converted abbey's previous residents. It is a place for reflection, relaxation and pampering by the hotel's kind and uber-efficient staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abadia Retuerta L, Gerente at Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Sofia,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was a great pleasure for all of us to have you at LeDomaine.

Please be inform that your comments have been brought to the attention of all the team and were received with great satisfaction.

Thank you again, Kind regards.
Ángel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This small (in number of rooms) hotel in a restored monastery, in the midst of Ribera del Duero wine country (and adjacent to one of the region's top wineries, Abadía Retuerta), provides real luxury but with a well-crafted austerity that seems fitting to the structure's former identity. Rooms are quiet and comfortable, with terrific bathtubs among other amenities; the service is almost spookily friendly and efficient; and the food, both the serious tasting menus and the wine-bar fare, illustrates perfectly why so many smart eaters are still traveling to Spain for dinner (Andoni Aduriz of Mugaritz is in charge of dining). Can't think of anything I didn't like.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abadia Retuerta L, Gerente at Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Mr. Andrews,

It was a pleasure to have you at Abadia Retuerta LeDomaine during an extraordinary and historic weekend that did explore the past 20 years of provocative culinary changes and attempt to envision the cuisine of tomorrow with Mr. Adria and Mr.Aduriz as well as renowned chefs and leading international media.

At LeDomaine it is a pleasure to strive to accommodate our guests to the best of our ability and do our utmost to make our clients' stay as comfortable as possible.

Once again, thank you for having chosen us and for taking the time to mention us at TripAdvisor. It is very important for us hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our services and accommodations.

Kind regards.
Ángel Molero
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine

Address: Carretera de Soria N-122 km 332,5, 47340 Sardon de Duero, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Sardon de Duero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sardon de Duero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Abadia Retuerta LeDomaineThe Estate Abadía Retuerta LeDomaine is set like a jewel among the string of exclusive wine estates found along the Duero river. If the heart of the estate is the winery, its soul is the ancient 12th-century abbey, a beloved and carefully restored Spanish cultural heritage site. The hotel, Now the only new member of Relais & Châteaux in 2013 in Spain, that has now emerged from within the cloistered Romanesque-Baroque monastery walls is a refined 5-star setting where guests will enjoy privacy of the priviledged, the lap of luxury and the heart of the history. Everywhere the contrasts and pleasures of old and new provide our guests with the best of both.Full 24 hours Butler Service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine Spain/Sardon De Duero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.