We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful excursión” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Saona

Isla Saona
Isla Saona, Republica Dominicana, Parque Nacional del Este, Dominican Republic
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$95*
and up
Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bronx, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful excursión”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

If your ever in La Romana/Bayahibe take the excursión to isla de saona. The boats pick u up in bayahibe about 9am and take u to the island via catamaran or speed boat where u are served drink and music. About 3 miles off the island the boats dock for 45 min so u can enjoy the preste en clear waters ..don't worry I can't swim and was able to go out and walk around the water was that shallow. You get to see star fish and fishes then the boat take you to the island where they have awesome food prepared buffet style and performance and music. It was just breathe taking on saona island..The waves were a little rough but so worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    192
    75
    23
    15
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too many tourists...too comercial..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Beach and water beautiful but the tour was a lot to be desired...nothing great...food was bad and not enough variety...drinks were under average. Way too many people. Maybe our tour wasnt the best...paid $90 per person and it was 4 of us...we would have been better tended to at our resort!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scappoose, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The tour was great. The natural swimming pool with starfish was fun. While we were there they had a floating ring with soda and rum drinks they served us. The water is very shallow here. The island has about 300 people living on it. We got to see the turtle hatchery. On the island we got to try a coco loco which was coconut water and rum right out of the coconut. At a different beach on the island we had a piña colada out of a pineapple. It was the best drink ever. We also were able to snorkel at that beach. That wasn't the best place to snorkel but a lot of fun. Our guide Hanni was the best guide ever. She was always making sure we were having a good time. We were traveling with my parents and my dad uses a cane. The crew and Hanni were so helpful at helping him get on and off the boats and making sure he had a place to sit. The lunch was good, but not really as authentic as our other tour. The sunset catamaran trip back was very nice. I would recommend this tour.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We visited here in June 2014 and were a little disappointed. The boat is fun and filled with rum and laughter. The boat stops in a natural pool in the sea where you can hold 'star fish' for photographs. The sea is lovely but the star fish aren't real. Next it's on to Saona Island. The beach is lovely but be careful as the sea is very rocky underneath which we weren't expecting. A few people ended up with cuts and bruises. The food is ok, but that's about it. The fish that was promised never arrived but the chicken, pork, salads, pasta were fine. Afterwards it's either a speed boat or smaller catermaran back to the port. The day was enjoyable but not quite as good as we expected. Still worth a visit though

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Level Contributor
126 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful island and beach, thats about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We bought our excursions from a vendor at Dominicus beach, the price was very reasonable as we negotiated. We were still leery as we had not been in the country even 6 hrs and we had no knowledge of who we were using. We returned the morning after w/ our receipt and were warmly greeted. After a short wait the boat arrived (whew, so far so good). We boarded the "speed boat" and waited a few minutes for another family. We then started our journey to the catamaran in Bayahibe harbor. A short ride later we arrived and transferred to the catamaran. The wait was long as we were one of the first groups, I think an hr passed before we actually departed for Saona. Forgot to mention, there was a photographer. The ride over was full of music, drinks (alcohol and non) and general happiness. It was rather long, maybe 1.5 hrs but we had no watch. We arrived at Saona Island and after a treacherous transfer to another "speed boat" we set foot on the beach. We were told 2 hrs and that lunch was almost ready. Lunch was a buffet of rice, spaghetti and fruit, not a grand meal but something to be expected. No vendors hassled us but we also stayed in the water most of the time. There is also a set of bathrooms but no flushing toilet. The areas of entry are rocky so bring water shoes (sunscreen and portable camera for pics). The photographer showed me her disc of pics before we left. The price was quite high and we came w/ little money but I did negotiate that too, cant guarantee you will be able to. After 2 hrs we boarded another "speed boat" to the natural pond of starfish. Short ride over staying for about 15 mns. We found two starfish and took pics using our disposable underwater camera (walmart). Then we returned to Dominicus beach and walked right to our hotel. We had two teenagers with us, they were bored on the trip over. Shady spots on catamaran were limited just an FYI. Since we got such a good bargain I cant really complain but know different vendors and operators use different equipment and have different itineraries. We could not snorkel while at Saona, but it came in handy looking for starfish.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Saona also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 

Been to Isla Saona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Saona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.