We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Saona

Isla Saona
Isla Saona, Republica Dominicana, Parque Nacional del Este, Dominican Republic
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Islands
Attraction Details
Scappoose, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The tour was great. The natural swimming pool with starfish was fun. While we were there they had a floating ring with soda and rum drinks they served us. The water is very shallow here. The island has about 300 people living on it. We got to see the turtle hatchery. On the island we got to try a coco loco which was coconut water and rum right out of the coconut. At a different beach on the island we had a piña colada out of a pineapple. It was the best drink ever. We also were able to snorkel at that beach. That wasn't the best place to snorkel but a lot of fun. Our guide Hanni was the best guide ever. She was always making sure we were having a good time. We were traveling with my parents and my dad uses a cane. The crew and Hanni were so helpful at helping him get on and off the boats and making sure he had a place to sit. The lunch was good, but not really as authentic as our other tour. The sunset catamaran trip back was very nice. I would recommend this tour.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    109
    42
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We visited here in June 2014 and were a little disappointed. The boat is fun and filled with rum and laughter. The boat stops in a natural pool in the sea where you can hold 'star fish' for photographs. The sea is lovely but the star fish aren't real. Next it's on to Saona Island. The beach is lovely but be careful as the sea is very rocky underneath which we weren't expecting. A few people ended up with cuts and bruises. The food is ok, but that's about it. The fish that was promised never arrived but the chicken, pork, salads, pasta were fine. Afterwards it's either a speed boat or smaller catermaran back to the port. The day was enjoyable but not quite as good as we expected. Still worth a visit though

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful island and beach, thats about it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We bought our excursions from a vendor at Dominicus beach, the price was very reasonable as we negotiated. We were still leery as we had not been in the country even 6 hrs and we had no knowledge of who we were using. We returned the morning after w/ our receipt and were warmly greeted. After a short wait the boat arrived (whew, so far so good). We boarded the "speed boat" and waited a few minutes for another family. We then started our journey to the catamaran in Bayahibe harbor. A short ride later we arrived and transferred to the catamaran. The wait was long as we were one of the first groups, I think an hr passed before we actually departed for Saona. Forgot to mention, there was a photographer. The ride over was full of music, drinks (alcohol and non) and general happiness. It was rather long, maybe 1.5 hrs but we had no watch. We arrived at Saona Island and after a treacherous transfer to another "speed boat" we set foot on the beach. We were told 2 hrs and that lunch was almost ready. Lunch was a buffet of rice, spaghetti and fruit, not a grand meal but something to be expected. No vendors hassled us but we also stayed in the water most of the time. There is also a set of bathrooms but no flushing toilet. The areas of entry are rocky so bring water shoes (sunscreen and portable camera for pics). The photographer showed me her disc of pics before we left. The price was quite high and we came w/ little money but I did negotiate that too, cant guarantee you will be able to. After 2 hrs we boarded another "speed boat" to the natural pond of starfish. Short ride over staying for about 15 mns. We found two starfish and took pics using our disposable underwater camera (walmart). Then we returned to Dominicus beach and walked right to our hotel. We had two teenagers with us, they were bored on the trip over. Shady spots on catamaran were limited just an FYI. Since we got such a good bargain I cant really complain but know different vendors and operators use different equipment and have different itineraries. We could not snorkel while at Saona, but it came in handy looking for starfish.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap...don't fall for it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We booked this day long excursion from a booking agent T our hotel in Punta Cana. He failed to mention that it was a 2+ hour drive to get on the boat....including an hour of riding around to other resorts picking up people. Stopped at a junky souvenir stand on the way only to get nagged constantly to buy something. Catamaran trip was nice but way too long circling the island and trying to get tourists drunk on cheap rum. At the end one of the mates came around putting doo rags on everyone's head then a few minutes later asking for $10 for hat. The food on the island was mediocre at best. The only reason I gave this trip 2 stars was because the beach is gorgeous, but don't waste your time or money on this trip...the ret of the beaches at punta Cana are just as pretty. The constant nagging to buy something else really gets old in this country.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“SAONA Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Best excursion ever! Place is paradise, catamaran ride is awesome. I don't drink so I could give a rats tail about rum n coke.. Food was delicious( especially the pork chops).. And yes it takes a while to get there.. But guess what You aren't the only person going! There's many people.. The excursion doesn't cater to you alone.. They do the best they can to accommodate everyone! I loved it! And I highly recommend it to everyone!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Saona also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Isla Saona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Saona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;