We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAONA Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Isla Saona

Isla Saona
Isla Saona, Republica Dominicana, Parque Nacional del Este, Dominican Republic
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$95*
and up
Catamaran Cruise to Saona Island from Punta Cana
Type: Islands, Outdoors
Attraction details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“SAONA Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Best excursion ever! Place is paradise, catamaran ride is awesome. I don't drink so I could give a rats tail about rum n coke.. Food was delicious( especially the pork chops).. And yes it takes a while to get there.. But guess what You aren't the only person going! There's many people.. The excursion doesn't cater to you alone.. They do the best they can to accommodate everyone! I loved it! And I highly recommend it to everyone!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    128
    45
    17
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iroquois, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Saona from La Romana Dreams - forced frivolity”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We booked our tour from the Dreams La Romana resort tour booking office where we were staying. We were looking for a quick trip to and quick trip from Saona that maximized our time to explore the island. We clearly explained that as we do not drink rum and coke (diabetics) that the "party boat" scenario was not a good fit. The agent promised bottled water and wine, neither of which were available, on a speed boat. Indeed the boat going to the island was the much dreaded party boat catamaran. Prior to departure the organizer broke us into groups by language but in the end the anglophones were divided between the francophone boat and the Spanish boat. Although our guide tried valiantly to speak English (and his grammar was pretty good but the accent was too strong to comprehend the words) we found that the Spanish speakers received a lot more information and narrative content than we did. Our first stop, over two hours after departure, that included loud Spanish music and much "forced frivolity" from the crew and passengers found us at a beach location for lunch. The beach was dirty and the lunch was just okay. They served beer and water with bowls of ice. Using the filthy washrooms available as my guide we declined both water and ice and beer was not a possibility. During lunch we experienced a down pour of rain but there was no "plan B" for rain so we hunkered down under towels and made the best of it. The catamaran was then replaced by a faster boat, not a speed boat but faster if we all sat at one end.The next stop was a nice beach - probably not the most beautiful I have ever seen, as promoted by the tour agent, and accompanied by an unfortunate lagoon odor. The next stop was a "turtle museum" which was a hut in a DR village with some posters and lots of stuff for sale.We toured this site and I felt awkward walking through abject poverty with a tour guide. it was both unnecessary and not really very helpful. The final stop was indeed the only great piece of the tour. We stopped at the natural pool and actually saw star fish. It seemed a little silly that the boat set up a bar in the middle of this piece of paradise. The tour was scheduled to depart at 8:30 am and we arrived home at 7:30 pm. It was along day and even the most enthusiastic participants were eager to get off the boat. We paid $100 each which is not unreasonable if we had gotten what was promised in a language we could understand. My advice to Trip Advisor readers is to get firm assurance that the trip will deliver what is promised in a language of your choice.If you are a non smoker you might also want to see if there is such a thing as a non smoking boat. The second hand smoke was pretty objectionable even on the open sea. This was a disaster and we are experienced travelers.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Goulet
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amaysing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

One of the best beaches and trips I've had !! Went by catamaran and came back by speedboat it was a great time! There was dancing on the catamaran and we swam with the starfishes .Booked through sunwing

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juiz de Fora, MG
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This island is very beautiful. The way by Catamarã is funny and beautiful. The colors of the Caribbean Sea are amazing. The food is simple, but good. We went to Palmilla Island and the Natural Pool to see the seastars. Palmilla Island is more beautiful and wilder than Saona.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“"Just like Paradise"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Saona Island is such a beautiful place. Turquoise water, white sandy beaches and the warmth of the Dominican people made this trip one to be remembered. After riding on a bus for about two hours we arrived at this little "port". From there a speed boat took us first to this natural salt water "pool" (piscina natural the guy called it) where starfish were abundant. Spent there about 45 minutes taking pictures, picking up the starfish, sipping a couple of cocktails, then we continued to Saona. Once on the island lunch was served on a buffet fashion. Drinks and dancing complemented an already great journey. A catamaran was used to bring us back to"the main land". More dancing and cocktails took place on board. It was a total party atmosphere with beautiful views of the ocean and the shoreline. I highly recommend this trip.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla Saona also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Bayahibe, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Isla Saona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Isla Saona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.