We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About the best b-b-q you'll ever find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks

Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks
607 Pine Knot Ave, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
(909) 866-2434
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 39 Restaurants in Big Bear Lake
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“About the best b-b-q you'll ever find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I don't mean just the meat or the sauce. My wife and I ordered the Smokehouse Backyard Combo with two meats and two sides, to share. We chose the ribs and the beef brisket for our two meats and the Smokehouse potato salad and coleslaw for the two sides. We also ordered a side of the Cheesy Garlic Bread. Our drinks, pink lemonade and water w/lemon came in a couple of those quart size canning jars....just like down home (well somebody's home).

My first bite was the Cheesy Garlic Bread......oh man! I immediately asked for a business card because just that was so deserving of my time for a review....incredible. Then I quickly moved on to the two meats. I had their regular smokehouse b-b-q sauce and also the spicey so I took turns dunking each fork full.

OK, both meats were just as great for b-b-q as the bread was for garlic bread....exceptional. Eventually, I got around to trying the potato salad and coleslaw and I felt the same way about both of those. By now I'm having a conversation with myself....relax, maybe it's not all that great....maybe I'm hungrier than I realize. About then my wife speaks up and says "I can't believe it....everything is just incredible....even the potato salad. We both agreed that both the brisket and the ribs were cooked exactly like we like them.

This is our first time to this area but when we return later this summer....Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks will be our first lunch or dinner! Do yourself a favor and stop in and see what Toni, the chef and owner has going....you will not regret it. Atmosphere is tourist casual so you can go as you are.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    35
    21
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best pulled brisquet ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

You must go to this place with a big appetite because you get a generous amount of food. I had the pulled brisquet sandwich and it's awesome. Also I asked the waitress if i could have a small portion of bbq ribs and they were excelent. It was a very great food experience. I recomend it for sure!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Jaspers is a must stop for us each time we are in town. I love the pulled pork sandwich. My husband is a big fan of the ribs. The sides are delicious and the service is always great. They are continually busy at lunch and dinner time so plan accordingly as this isn't a large establishment.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“The Worst Restaurant In Big Bear”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The service is abysmal. The staff was openly disrespectful. It is the most upsetting experience I've ever had at a restaurant. I wish I were allowed to rate the restaurant a zero. Stay away.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“ADEQUATE BBQ AT HIGH PRICES”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Several times either before or after seeing a movie at the Village Theaters across the street, we have eaten BBQ here. While the food is decent, the prices strike me as high for the value received (small portions). I haven't particularly noticed deficient service as some of the other reviewers have noted, but it all depends on when you go there. Obviously, the Christmas/New Year's Day holiday period is the high season for all of the restaurants downtown. It does, however, offer convenience if you're in the Village, as we were. But then again, there are many restaurants in the Village to choose from depending on the desired cuisine. Personally we prefer the BBQ at Diamond Lil's (reviewed elsewhere), but it's a bit of the beaten track and hard to find.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.