We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jaspers great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks

Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks
607 Pine Knot Ave, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
(909) 866-2434
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 48 Restaurants in Big Bear Lake
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
san diego
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“jaspers great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Been there 5 times in the last year, we go every time we go to Havasu. The ring of fire burger is THE BEST. ribs are great and the pulled brisket is awesome. As always the price of BBQ is pricy
but worth it. Breakfast is also good too. Everyone is friendly and it is a comfortable place to go for a meal. Coleslaw is the beat I've ever had

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank routesixtysix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Food was good. Pulled pork sandwich and new york steak sandwich. The potatoe salad. Is great. Big glasses of drink. No tap beer

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chollylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“As good as it's going to get in Big Bear”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

After three of the worst dining experiences in Big Bear I was really hoping Jaspers would not disappoint. The service anywhere in Big Bear had been awful so far. The guy at Jaspers was lovely. Unfortunately we arrived during a shift change so service was slow. When our server finally got to our table his warm personality made up for it.
The food was good and there was plenty of it. If unsure then they do combination platters. I did my usual of looking at other peoples plates and everything that came out of the kitchen looked delicious. Speaking of the kitchen, it is open so you can see whats happening. No nasty suprises just people serving up good smoked food.
Restaurants in Big bear are definitely hit and miss this one is a hit and highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sirkevin1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
174 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“I Wish Jasper's Wasn't As Good As It Is!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It haunts me, sitting down here in La County, that such truly fine fine BBQ is just 90 minutes up a winding mountain road. Trust me when I tell you that the effort would be worthwhile. This is good good good BBQ!

Brisket: moist and luscious. It even re-heated the next day to perfection. Sauce: Oh, yes! Someone in this kitchen knows sauce! Great Hot Links! Terrific twice-baked potato! I will say I wasn't crazy about the boysenberry cobbler; I prefer a more biscuity-type crust. And the baked beans were fine, but nothing to rave about.

Suffice it to say, if this restaurant were near my home, I would be there once a week and I live near a whole bunch of well-regarded BBQ joints. Jasper's is truly exceptional.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ccmccall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ (& i'm from the South)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Jaspers has great food, good service, and a nice choice of sauces varying in heat. The 'hot' bbq sauce wan't overwhelming: it works great on bbq chicken sandwich (huge portions). The sweet potato fries were a little overly crisp on this last visit, but usually perfect. The most wonderful thing about Jaspers is the old school, down home, big plate of cholesterol filled foods that you're wife usually won't allow can be had at a great price. (Tuscaloosa, Alabama native)

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamadrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Jaspers Smokehouse & Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing