We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B's Boathouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B's Backyard Bar-B-Que - CLOSED

B's Backyard Bar-B-Que
350 Alden Rd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
909 800 7650
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“B's Boathouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great casual "dive" bar. Best place to watch the sunset. Indoor bar with good service. Outdoor Tiki bar. Huge patio with lake access. Dogs everywhere! So fun to watch the dogs play. Very casual. We did not eat, had a few beers. Alaskan amber on tap. We left after sunset because the music was loud and crowd seemed to change.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    21
    11
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Food was Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A great neighborhood BBQ place. We ate inside and did not bring dogs, so a little different than most reviewers here. The building is a little old maybe, but it's right on the lake! We sat in a nice booth with a beautiful view of sunset over the lake. Who cares if the carpets are a little worn? The servers were mostly teenageers and they were totally friendly. If it was a little slow, I don't think we noticed much. We were just having cocktails and enjoying the view. I had the pulled pork and my husband had ribs and we both loved our food. We tried all 4 side dishes between the two of us and I thought they all tasted great! The portions were huge. I tried to resist dessert but my sadistic husband ordered the homemade peach cobbler. It came with ice cream. And sprinkled with pecans and coconut. I was powerless to resist and it crazy good. Like food nirvana good. Go here, enjoy the view, have some great food, and just relax.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Dog-Friendly Dining & Family Fun!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stopped by B's BBQ because we had heard it was dog-friendly with a great view of the lake. Those are both very true! We had great service at the restaurant, were able to choose our own table, and dine with our pooch! B's also has a kid's menu, which made my two young boys (ages 3 & 6) very happy! But not as happy as the sand volleyball pit nearby!

Our food was average-- I had pulled pork and hubby ordered brisket. Again, we were there more for the fun. Kids both had spaghetti with no complaints.

B's had ok food, but lots of fun, so we will definitely go back! In fact, every time we drive by our little one tells us how much he wants to go there!

PS> There's also a separate building with a bar/club that looked like it may be fun for "adults" only!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great barbecue family restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We came back here again because we enjoyed it so much last year when we came here! The service was wonderful! The ribs and brisket to die for! Great beans, mac & cheese and absolutely loved the coleslaw! The view is just Beautiful! I highly recommend this place as does my family! Thanks for another great experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The ribs were so bad!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Their "baby back ribs" were horrible, tough and questionable that they were even baby backs.. too large, tough and fatty

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B's Backyard Bar-B-Que also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B's Backyard Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.