We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View is the only redeeming quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of B's Backyard Bar-B-Que - CLOSED

B's Backyard Bar-B-Que
350 Alden Rd, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
909 800 7650
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Big Bear Lake, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“View is the only redeeming quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Food was very mediocre and not flavorful at all-view was beautiful, but dogs all over the beach area, which appeared to have the nicest setting yet they didn't serve meals out there. Interiors somewhat tacky, prices high, and dirty tables with no other customers at the restaurant when we arrived, and sketchy looking patrons in the bar. Too bad b/c the location has potential to be so much more.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    21
    11
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queretaro, Mexico
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“An unpretentious restaurant with great BBQ and a view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The ribs and brisket were excellent. The meat was flavorful and fell off the bone. The Brisket Salad was different. It is just what you think, a salad with a lot of brisket on it. The restaurant has a great view of the lake and you can get there by land or water.

You cannot eat the menu but it was cute. They tried to make it such that every item began with the letter “B”. Sometimes it was a stretch but it is the thought that counts.

I think the price was a little high but maybe it was resort prices. A sandwich with fries and a beer after tip was nearly $20. That being said, they had an appetizer of homemade potato chips that was just excellent.

Objectively I would give this place a “C+” but I will make it a “B-“ for the sake of the name.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tasty food with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We had a late lunch here and found it to be very good. The Brisket, potato salad, baked beans were all tasty. The service was also fast and friendly. There are two restaurants, but if you want to sit on the beach side you can ask for the menu of the main restaurant and the servers will order your food from there. Beware that this is a dog beach, so if you don't like dogs sit at the main restaurant on their patio. We were there on a Sunday and they had live music on the beach. Depending on your taste in music, that may be another reason to sit at the main restaurant. Overall, we enjoyed the food and atmosphere and would recommend it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cash only policy has cost them their TripAdvisor rating, but not my business.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I found this place by searching... TripAdvisor ratings. At the time, I believe this place rated 2nd of all the restaurants in big bear. Now, it rates 40 out of 80. Wow. I've been coming here for the past few years. Nothing has changed as far as I can tell. The food is great, and the selection is large, and the view you cannot beat. I like to sit outside and look at the lake as I eat. I do think it was a stupid business decision to stop accepting credit cards, because it is the only reason I can think of why the average rating has slipped so dramatically on here on 2 years. They explained to me that they had 2 options: raise the prices or only accept cash. However, that won't stop me from coming here. I like the food, I love the views, and I've never had a problem with their service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California, United States
1 review
“Worst Homemade Chili I've Ever Had !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Being a biker I have had my fair share of Homemade Chili. This place claims #1 People's Choice chili on the Mountain. ROFLOL there chili is nothing more then Hormel canned with some brisket added to it. Here is the real sad part a bowl will hit your wallet up for a staggering $11 and is actually just a 16oz styrofoam coffee cup full. I got take out so I sure hope they give a better serving size Inside.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B's Backyard Bar-B-Que also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B's Backyard Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.