We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERRATED AND OVERPRICED” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Bear Lake Brewing Company

Big Bear Lake Brewing Company
40827 Stone Road, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
909-878-0283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 39 Restaurants in Big Bear Lake
Cuisines: American, Grill
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Big Bear Lake, California
Top Contributor
396 reviews 396 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“OVERRATED AND OVERPRICED”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

We are locals and have heard a lot about this place from other locals. Everyone has said the prices were too high but the food was decent. (We had tried this place once before on a weekend but the wait was over 45 minutes so we came back.) The upstairs seating area was closed so they tried to seat us on the first floor however, there was only raised stool seating on the First floor and we could not use this type of seating due to medical reasons. The staff were very accommodating and they arranged for us to sit in a booth in the upstairs section. While the service was very good overall, they were out of more than half of the special craft brewed beers they claimed to have. (All of the lighter beers with a less hoppy taste were unavailable.) They also did not carry my brand of vodka (Stolichnaya). When I attempted to order their Chinese Chop Salad without bean sprouts, the waitress said they use a "mix" and that they were already mixed into the salad. My wife had a salad and the Avocado Bomb and said it was very good. I had a side salad and the Meat Lover's individual pizza. The menu claimed the pizza had prosciutto on it however, it came with diced ham instead. (Ham does not prosciutto make.) In short, it cost of $63 for an individual pizza, two small salads, the Avocado appetizer, one iced tea, and a beer flight. (The beer flight was supposed to contain 6 beers but they only had 4 so we paid $12 for fewer beers than were promised.) In short, the service was very good but the food is overpriced for what you get, especially when most of what they offer is either not available or not as described. My wife may be back but I won't waste my time or money.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    10
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wentzville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Late Night Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Stumbled upon this gem walking through the Village. Beer was really good and staff was amazing. The food we had was standard sports bar fare but delicious.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wow! Best in Big Bear!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Some friends and I thought we'd check out the new Brewery in Big Bear and it was incredible! From the moment we walked in everyone was so friendly. We were in a booth upstairs and Khelsea helped us. We had some flights of beer and a pomegranate martini that Mike made that was to die for! The Avacado bomb is a must try and the beer cheese fries with bacon are great to share. For dinner we had Salmon, BBQ burger, and the new york steak. All fresh, perfect and BIG PORTIONS! You can see down into the glass encased brewery and saw some people down there, we asked what was going on and Khelsea told us a free tour and we were welcome to join. We popped in just as the manager Andrea was starting. It was so much fun and we learned about beer and cracked Some jokes! We were so impressed we told the manager and she said they were running the business with a different philosophy encouraging everyone to have fun and be passionate...well it shows! From start to finish A+!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keithville
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Kitchen was slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

The food was good, but the kitchen was horribly slow. We sat there forever before even getting drinks, and it took 1 1/2 hours to get our food. We sat in the bar area, and the bartender was very helpful.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent food- the "avocado bombs" are a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

My friends and I were in Big Bear for the first time and asked a local on the street where to go and get some good food. He pointed us in the direction of the Lake Brewing Company and we were very happy with his suggestion. The "Avocado Bombs" are to die for!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bear Lake Brewing Company also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Big Bear Lake Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Bear Lake Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.