We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Dolce Vita Tasting Room

Le Dolce Vita Tasting Room
40645 Village Dr. #1, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
909-866-1538
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Description: Le Dolce Vita Tasting Room features an every changing selection of California's boutique wineries for tasting flights and by the glass enjoyment. We also have a selection of craft beers, hard ciders and sake. Food options include cheese and charcuterie selections, and tapenade. We have a Lounge available for your intimate private gatherings. For current happenings, like us on facebook (ldvtastingroom).
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I liked this place, they were working on their patio which will make it even better. We will give it another try when we are in Big Bear.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Wine Bar Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The owners really make this place. They go out of their way to make sure you are having a wonderful experience. They are very personable and pour some very fun, unique, tasty wine flights...they also serve Saki and craft beers. We always make it a point to stop by when we are in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Best Afternoon in Big Bear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were in Big Bear for the weekend and after walking through all the shops on the first day my husband was getting a little worried about more shopping the following day. We found this tasting room late in the day and decided to return the following afternoon. It was wonderful! We have gone wine tasting many times and this was actually the first time we like all of the wines we tried. To top it off, we ordered a cheese tray that was incredible! It had many wonderful cheeses, prosciutto, mortadella, tasty chutney, nuts and even dark chocolate. You need to try this place.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun thing to do when in the Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We have been going to Big Bear for years and the past two have enjoyed the wine tasting room. It has a fun atmosphere- the people behind the bar are enjoyable, this last time though the music was a bit overwhelming- hard to hear each other talk- but that may be because I am gettiing up there in years!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
914 helpful votes 914 helpful votes
“Clarifying previous reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Not to be a snob, but I am. Let me be clear about a few things here:

THIS IS NOT A RESTAURANT! It’s a wine tasting room. Quiltingranny said: " The food selection was huge." I don't know if LDV went from a massive food menu in August to a couple of platters -- especially never having a proper kitchen, but as of October 3, 2013, there is not a huge selection. Cheese, sliced Salumi and dipping concoctions (pesto/tapenade) is the extent of the food here. A decent value for the platter I saw, which was the most expensive: common and artisan cheeses, artisan salumi and other bits. The platter was large and full with a nice variety of tidbits.

This is NOT a wine BAR. It’s a wine tasting room. They also offer tastings of cider (real cider, not that apple stuff you give the kids) and beer.

I've been to few tasting rooms that had a "great selection." This and many other comments from previous reviews for LDV can be misleading. I'm in Las Vegas, A great wine selection means an entirely different thing to me.

LDV features mostly small producers from California. While there are good snacks, don't expect a wine list with a bunch of producers you've heard of. Hooray for featuring the local producers and educating the people about other grape varieties! If you are new to wine and just want to sip on a few things and hear about who made it and why, then this may be a fine place to go. They even have a pretty good German Riesling. However, there are VERY FEW classic wines and few wines that are not local producers.

The web site is in need of some work: I tried to contact 3 of 4 of the owners, via the email addresses listed on the web page, before I visited. They all bounced back and one of them was misspelled.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Dolce Vita Tasting Room also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Le Dolce Vita Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Dolce Vita Tasting Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.