We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the ambience fool you... All seemed welcome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peppercorn Grille

Peppercorn Grille
553 Pine Knot Ave., Big Bear Lake, CA 92315
+1 909-866-5405
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Peppercorn Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Stone Road
Description: Come in and see why the Peppercorn Grille has become a local favorite. We offer the largest and most versatile menu in Big Bear. Choose from Certified Angus Beef, Seafood, Chicken, Pasta, Specialty Salads, Brick Oven Baked Pizza and more. All soups, bread and fabulous desserts are prepared fresh daily. Enjoy dining in our cozy intimate dining room or on our heated patio, street-side in 'The Village.' We offer an extensive wine list and cocktails. Come and experience the finest in dining Big Bear has to offer.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't let the ambience fool you... All seemed welcome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The place had good reviews and I like good food and wine. The food was fantastic and a good variety also. We ate there for lunch. Nice wine selection as well. The atmosphere almost scared us away as we walked in. It felt like a fancy restaurant and in a mountain town after biking and hiking we didn't look all that fancy. The clientele all seemed to be casual though. The server must have been new. She was attentive but seemed nervous. It is a gem in this small resort town though!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    83
    44
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sbb
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“liquid refreshment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

They have the very best Pear Blossom Martini made with St. Germaine Elderflower liquor and their Sangiovese red wine is the best I've had!!!
The food was delicious and the service was very good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was a lovely restaurant. The staff were welcoming and attentive. The standard of customer service was very high. The decor was very pleasant and cosy. And ........our meals were delicious! We did not make a booking but had no problem getting in as we were there on a Tuesday night. The whole experience was something that you would expect to come with a hefty price tag. But not so. Quite reasonable. Definitely recommend this restaurant to others and would eat there again myself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best place in Big Bear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I travel extensively for work and when I find a gem, it is great to let other folks know. This place is great and does all the little things right. The food is very very good, the lobster ravioli and crab stuffed salmon were both excellent. During tourist season expect to wait because I was in town during the off season and the place was full. My food was on par with some of the best I have had in my life. When you walk into the restaurant the aroma from the kitchen is awesome, it smells like grandmothers been cooking pasta sauce all day...its great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faunskin, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A quality but pricey evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food and service were top quality. The bill for eight (2 were small children) was over $450. We would return with just adults on our next Big Bear outing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppercorn Grille also viewed

Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Peppercorn Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppercorn Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.